Chaos Attraction

Choreographed Murder

2022-02-08, 4:53 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Thank You, Pee - 2022-02-13
Wee The Peeple - 2022-02-12
Late Christmas? - 2022-02-11
I Shouldn't Have Volunteered - 2022-02-10
I Hate Everyone Today. - 2022-02-09

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Today it was announced that Penguin Girl got a promotion, as she did get the higher managerial job in another unit. I saw this happening on my boss's computer during a Zoom when she was messaging, so I wasn't surprised there. What I am shocked about was that the predecessor left in December and as of November the predecessor told me that she'd given them tons of advance notice about her retirement and shitall had happened with HR. So getting someone hired within a couple of months... DAMN, WHAT HAPPENED? I asked my boss (who will now have to take over Penguin Girl's job) how it happened so fast and she said "the stars aligned!"

Also, by the end of the day we found out that they have finally hired another public service person. Who's from the outside (thank gawd, fresh blood and not just moving from one end of the office to another leaving yet another job open), actually wants to help people for a living, and made it through the HR mess. So, this week we've had two people quit, one person get another job within the office, and two others got hired. Call it a draw! Meanwhile, Hope is feeling sad that she's getting disinvited from meetings and said she feels like she's being erased. I said to think of it as an "escape." She is apparently going back to her old job, but with a slight promotion and they will let her have some free time during the day. Quarterly Project got rolling today, and I trained one of the temps in some easy stuff. So, not bad.

Therapy: she says I take things harder than I need to, I choose to look at things "with such drama that it hurts you," and "don't stop caring, just change how butthurt you get." Also, "why deliberately hurt yourself--that's insane." And my favorite quote, "In other words, get out of your vagina...Did I say that out loud?" I told her about reading Almost Romance and she said "sometimes people have to grow, or grow together," and she thinks it could work in the future (though relationshipwise, who knows.).

My mom's response to all of this: "See, Jennifer, he's just confused. Don't give up." Make of that what you will, I don't know.

In other news, the state of California will be freeing everyone's faces next week! Bad idea and what's the point when EVEN WORSE OMICRON is here and the rates will just go back up again? No word yet as to what my county is going to do--I really hope they keep mask restrictions on even if all the counties next to us are going to immediately dump them, grrrrrr. I'm concerned that the theater is having a board meeting about it tomorrow night.


Rehearsal:

Online, Tomas is coming up with misspelled character names on coffee cups to decorate the set with. MORE EASTER EGGS!!!!! I said. Steve was all "from the bunny?" Damn right!

Tonight: "Tell Her I Love Her" (or whatever it's called, honestly that song is boring), though Steve declared "It's such a sad song! Sad but funny." This was followed by "We're Not Sorry," in which my little girl gang gets up to MURDER.

Sierra was told to "skip leg day" and shove herself in her chair off the stage at the end of the previous scene.

"I specifically heard 'engorged' and I felt uncomfortable." -Sofia

Steve said we can bust out our phones, download a lighter app (I immediately did this) and wave our phones during the song. "We can have our phones onstage?!" I said. He said yes, but only in this one and Spamalot. He assumed all the dresses we're wearing had pockets. HAHAHAHAH NOPE OF COURSE NOT, as confirmed by Jean. He wanted her to put pockets in. She did not want to. What did we do last time, blah blah blah...I doubt we'll get the phones in, though I suggested purses or portable pockets or something.

The word "strumpet" was defined. Sofia called that "my side hustle."

Steve used to know a girl named Jezebel and he originally thought stuff about her parents. Then it turned out to be an apt name. "People live up to their names, like Lefty One-Eye."

Sofia: "My cat ate the brace."

On us making "ew" noises upon finding out that Penny slept with Cladwell: "That'll make Clocky real upset." -Steve

Steve on Hope's change in behavior: "Especially Becky Two Shoes, she's gonna kill you."

Then we did "We're Not Sorry," which seriously has choreographed murder in it.

Sherilyn: "Barrel, your turn to die."
Tomas runs in, arms up in triumph.
Amy: "Be scared."
Tomas: "Trust me, I am."
Sherilyn: "You guys are the ones to get to kill him."
Amy: "Ookay?"
Me: "Is this your first theater murder?"
Becky is given the honors of slitting Barrel's throat.
Me to Sarah (playing Hot Blades Harry): "I'm surprised you're not the murderer. You seem violent."
Sarah: "I'm all talk, no action."

Sherilyn: "I don't want to steal Soupy Sue's solo--" Sofia: "I do!"

"Tomas, we have to kill you again." -Sarah

"Fipp and Millennial, come up here to be murdered." -Sherilyn

Sarah offers to make a knife sound effect, kinda like "whooooah"

They will have to block out Mrs. Millennial's death later since she is supposed to be wearing a miniskirt and enormously high heels. "Cross your ankles when you die." -Sherilyn.
Sarah has to stab her and carry her off. "I bench pressed a Katrina."

Steve: "Sofia's got a huge body count in this show."

Steve says that since the bad guys are going to hell, they go to a lower level. Amy: "Is anyone going to heaven?" Sierra: "I don't think I am, I kill everyone."

"No rebellion going on here, no, no, no." -Dannette.

We are told to tiptoe and cover our eyes so nobody sees us. The bad guys are told to look right at us and not see us. Me: "This is downright Shakespearean."

"I thought I was evil and I got smart." -Sierra

Steve: "She's wearing a red beret like Patty Hearst. You probably don't know who that is." Sierra: "I actually think I do, I've listened to enough true crime podcasts."

Steve to Evan after Cladwell's murder: "Could you completely change your character?

Non-funny-line bits:

Steve can't look for stilettos online or else it'll change his search results.

Morgan and Sierra are hyped to dance, having not done so all show so far.

Sofia came out in her pregnancy dress and did a dramatic fall onstage with belly.

James has a customized half-skirt (like the front of it's cut out and it goes around the sides/back), which we all thought was really cool. "It used to be an ugly dress and then it was selected for mutilation."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com