Chaos Attraction

Moth To The Flame

2003-02-11, 6:26 p.m.

Day Two, February 11: What you love.

-This one's about your favorite things, or pick one thing and wax rhapsodic on it. What turns you on? What gets you out of your bed in the morning? What brings you out of your funk? We want to know.

What gets me out of bed every morning? What gets me excited? What brings me out of my funk?

What are you on right now?

Yes, the Internet is my love. My addiction. My drug of choice. I'm pretty much on it all the time if I'm home, unless I'm watching TV or something. I mean, think about it:

* The Internet is one giant free 24-hour library, constantly adding new things. You can find most anything! If I'm online, I've always got something to read! Plus it looks like I'm still working! I can surf for hours and hours and still be entertained. Saves me book money, too, since l read too damn fast.

* It's a way to interact with people without having to use the dreaded phone, or handwriting (and not mailing) letters. Quick response! Legible response! Cheap response! Plus I now have an excuse not to call this-or-that organization because I can find out what I need to know online.

* In real life, I hate discussions and arguments. There�s screaming, it stresses me out. But on message boards, it�s fun. People can actually look at what they�re saying when they post, I can look at what I�m saying, people can post links, and it tends to be more rational than what I�m used to. I actually end up enjoying a debate most of the time.

* Chat, glorious chat! Ah, the ability to find a roomful of people to hang out with without having to leave your house, get dressed, or spend money, and that you can still hang out with while doing something else online. Plus, it�s always a party! Friends all over the world!

* Being able to pollute the Internet with my various web pages has been interesting�mostly quite fun, despite the few stupid idiots who write me to tell me that I�m ugly (hello, is this amihotornot.com? Last time I looked, it wasn�t). I find that I do more regular writing when I post it somewhere to be seen rather than scribbling away in a paper journal. Since I�m not doing it professionally any more, it�s good to keep in practice somehow.

I go online when I�m in a bad mood and need to decompress or be cheered up. I go online when I need to rant for a bit. I go online when I�m bored. I go on when I need to say what happened lately. I go on to find out all kinds of things. Boy, is DSL ever worth the $50+ I spend on it.

The funniest thing is that when I�m home alone on a weekend, I used to just lie in bed and read until oh, noon. Now, however, I find myself getting up and going online. Moth to the flame.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com