Chaos Attraction

Continued....

2022-02-21, 5:56 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
The Quotable Steve - 2022-02-26
Home Alone - 2022-02-25
Too Stupid To Google - 2022-02-24
We Have Cootie Spray - 2022-02-23
Not Passing Bechdel - 2022-02-22

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Rehearsal: ran all of act 1, with attempts at moving the stage sets off and on. It's good to finally have an idea of how much time we have for all the damn quick changes in act 1, which I do not look forward to upon talking to Jan. LOTS of references from her about "scrub the dirt off our faces," to which I am all "can't we just use dirty masks like we talked about for this and make it easier?"

I note that "Cop Song" is a mess towards the end because we're supposed to be singing in the round and be off from the other people and frankly, you can't hear what you're supposed to be doing differently and it's a big ol' mess. Sofia said she just dropped out during that part and I said "me too," I can't even hear myself when I'm right next to the loud cop dudes in the song" singing the original bit. We tried to work on it at the end of rehearsal, but heck if I know. There's two sections of overlapping singing in Act 1, but the other one isn't as bad to deal with because everyone is standing in clumps with the people singing the same thing, so you can hear that everyone else around you is doing the same bit. Unfortunately, who sings what in "Cop Song" is not arranged that way due to the choreography, and uck. But basically I'm a backup dancer/singer and who cares or will notice anyway, I suspect.

The Mask Conversation was had tonight: because publicity photos are coming up Wednesday (sigh), they want to know who wants to go mask-free onstage (onstage ONLY, must put it back on afterwards) and who wants to keep theirs on. If you want to go mask-free, it only starts tech week and you have to get tested once a week. If you keep it on, no testing requirement. I said I was keeping mine on and I guess a few others did too, but I was in the front and didn't peek behind me to see what everyone else thought. They asked if anyone would be bothered if some people perform without masks and I said I'm not thrilled, but there is literally nothing I can do about it because NO MASK MANDATE FREE FACES FOR ALL!!!!, legally speaking, so there you go.

Steve did say they are still requiring masks for the audience and vax requirements, which they can do because private business. So there's that, at least. He also said that some theater not in this county would kick out anyone who wanted to wear a mask--wtf?

In other news, upon walking in, we found out that Evan and James said THE NAME OF THE SCOTTISH PLAY aloud in the theater somehow and were forced to do the following: (a) run around the building 3 times, (b) come back in and turn around 3 times, (c) "spit into your mask," (d) apologize to everyone.

The whole curse thing brought up the whole "ghosts of the theater" thing again, and various recountings of weird ghost shit erupted, such as a lost remote turning up in an empty room 1.5 years after disappearing, and lost lights reappearing. One of the ghosts was cited as finding some lost keys. "I do not stay here by myself," Steve said, and Jan said if you ask the ghosts to come out, they won't when you want them to.

Sofia has now finished the graffiti, hiding the penis bit with "Knock Cladwell Off His Throne," and adding a few more quotes like "If you sprinkle when you tinkle, be a sweetie and wipe the seatie" ("Clocky's suggestion," she said, I LOL'd because my grandma had that in the bathroom) and "I have to pee," and a toilet, which Steve once again claimed was Something Else from a distance, this time, a duck. Sofia was all, "Dannette, I'm going to have to change my bio to say "my first AND LAST show at DMTC...." She also pointed to a red splash on the wall and said, "Did you see my fairly grisly murder and cover-up?"

Steve really likes my trash set. Me: "Every time I walk by a trash can, I want to loot it now."

Quotes: Evan: "That poor tiny man," presumably referring to James still running around the theater. The curse was blamed on Paul bringing it from England :P

Evan, upon missing a cue: "I don't listen to other people." Evan's shirt (amusing only if you're gay, I guess...): "Of course I cum fast, I've got fish to catch."

Steve to Hugo: "Hugo, can you go to the bathroom for me, please?" Hugo flashed a thumbs up. "Then how come I still feel like I have to go?"

I'm confused as to why Paul and Hugo are being told to shave (and then I thought later, "nobody ever tells Tomas to shave, he's been hairy in everything"). So is Paul: "They can't afford razors?" Steve: "No water."

Steve: "I actually write things down, look at that."

Jean to Clocky: "You have a problem putting your slippers on?" Clocky: "You think?" (He's having to put them on over shoes.)

After I got home, Mom wanted to talk and I ended up having a long conversation with her. Mom, thank gawd, is not a bigot, but generally has more tolerance for dealing with those people than I do. But she was saying that she's pretty much hit her limit in wanting to deal with a certain Trumpy friend of hers of late, to the point where she's all "I don't even want to GO to the next reunion,' and I note she's on the reunion committee! She also mentioned that her best guy friend also...well, isn't in favor of gay people, because Bible. To which I was all, "I am really sorry to hear that," because that guy always seems nice and that's pretty awful that he feels that way, and it turned into this whole thing about how Republicans these days hate anyone who's different from them and can't take it and how that's being mean. We also talked about trans people (she knows one) and said that after that person explained their situation she really got it, and I explained how nonbinary works (more or less) and asexual and things like that.

Then I ended up explaining what it's like to be a public weirdo that a lot of people hate just for being myself, and how that'd be even worse if I was obviously gay, a person of color, etc. and how I just don't fit in and things I think seem perfectly fine aren't to other people, and how it sucks to be hated for existing and then what are you supposed to do about it? Thank goodness she's sympathetic and not a bigot, is what I have to say there.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com