Chaos Attraction

Lies, Damned Lies, and Statistics

2003-02-27, 9:45 p.m.

Scott called tonight. Oy fucking vey.

Let's see...

(a) "Oh yeah, I'm gonna pay Hill back, but I spent the $20 I had in my wallet on something else, so it's gonna get mailed." Ooookay. "Because I really do pay people back."

Later in the conversation, he mentions his family hitting him up and him telling them no because "you can't get blood from a stone."

Uh-huh.

(b) Supposedly he went over to Dave's house when Dave wasn't home and had a chat with his parents for an hour. Supposedly his dad told Scott that he planned on not letting Dave move in with them for very long once they moved into their new house, and hadn't told Dave this but was going to. Oh, and something about how Dave's been told this "by the look in his eyes." I'm all "Uh, yeah, that's not a very specific way to tell anyone ANYTHING."

To put it bluntly, this did not seem likely. Dave has mentioned before that his dad told him that they'd need him to move with them for at least a few months 'cause they could use the rent money. And his parents, well, aren't all THAT chatty about their kid behind his back. His mom can be at times, but his dad? Hardly.

(c) Scott said that he thinks Dave has been hanging around with J&N lately and giving them money. I said "to my knowledge, he's only seen them at game, and the only people he hung out with last week were Teri and Ashley." He didn't have proof of this, mind you, he er, figured it out by calling Dave at some point when he was hanging out with J&N, Teri and Ashley, and he thought Dave was blowing money. I know for a fact that the only people he's had TIME to hang out with in the last week were Teri and Ashley, which I can verify because I called him while he was out with them and heard both their voices at the time.

(d) He generally implied that he thought Dave was blowing his money left and right. Said he shouldn't be paying anybody back right now (the one point I really agree with, I must admit), and was apologizing to me for introducing him to me in the first place. Said Dave could move in with them and all he'd have to pay was for food if he wanted to, etc.

I held my reactions in. Oh, and did I mention I wasn't supposed to tell Dave about this until Scott got more proof?

It was just too shifty.

Naturally, Dave about hit the roof. After confirming with his dad that no, he didn't say that, he called Scott, who then proceeded to claim that he must have misunderstood.

Scott called me later, but I didn't answer. I was not in the mood.


Speaking of shifty behavior...

I admit that I am an idiot when it comes to taxes. Numbers are my worst subject, and I can't understand squat about them. Nor do I understand taxes worth squat. I don't even try to understand them, to be honest. And so far I haven't really had to. I'm fortunate that my mom works for an accountant so I get mine done for free. I've had to pay taxes since I was 18 (rather strange since I wasn't doing major work for pay at that age... play that foreshadowing music, white boy...), but my parents covered the money then. In the last few years when I've been working, I hand over the paperwork, they tell me I have to pay a fuckload of money in taxes every year, but out of the goodness of their hearts they'll pay a few hundred out of it. I cry and go broke and then fight with Dad months later over who gets my $300 refund. Yes, that happened this year- he said that since he'd paid for part of my taxes he should get at least half of it. I won that argument- or at least he couldn't force me to divide the check.

This came up in a conversation with Dave at lunch, and he was very shocked that I paid that much. Apparently most people who make what I do don't. (I have since asked a few friends about this, and they agreed.) I said this was because my parents have put some accounts in my name and make me pay some of the taxes on them. However, my parents have always been VERY vague about these accounts and really won't tell me squat about them other than "they're for school." Dave, being better at math than I, was shocked that given how much I make I wasn't getting huge refunds and instead was paying a lot. He suspects these accounts must be huge, and nagged me to call Mom and ask.

As usual, I didn't get much useful out of her. "They were for school, they paid for your school." How much is in them? "I don't know." How come I pay taxes on accounts I have nothing to do with? "Well, you benefited from them." She would say nothing more. Other than maybe I can look at the paperwork when I come home next. I somehow doubt that will happen.

*sigh*

Dave now thinks that they are pulling tax fraud because of this. Not that I would know. But since Mom works for accountants, I highly doubt whatever she's doing is illegal. I wouldn't even know where to fucking START investigating this matter, mind you, because I am stupid.

Anyway, he told me I should just not pay taxes on that money this year and tell the IRS that I don't know anything about it if they ask. I think that's an incredibly bad idea, and I do NOT want the IRS after me. Somehow I suspect that saying I'm a clueless git will NOT get me off the hook or out of jail. At which point, we got into a lovely fight about how I'm too passive because I'm not willing to do something about this- to investigate where the hell this money is hidden, or to demand that they either give me all that money or at least take it out of my name, or to just plain find the account and TAKE all the money out of it for myself. Hill agrees with him, and I think she'll outright force me to DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT if Dave doesn't (he's about ready to force me to too).

Why don't I want to deal with "my money"?

I honestly don't know how I'd even find this so-called money of "mine." Mom has 3-4 different banks, and I haven't the faintest which it would be at. I don't think I even know all of her banks at this point beyond 1 or 2. I know damn well that they'd never give me the money in a billion years- it's another one of those "Well, technically it's yours and we gave it to you, but really it's OURS" things like the computer. I'm not sure how well demanding it be taken away would work, but it's the most likely option. As for stealing the money for myself, well... honestly, it's not my money. I have had virtually nothing to do with it. I shudder to think of the consequences of stealing it- and yes, to me that is stealing, even if it's so-called "mine." I think that is incredibly wrong.

Of course, their argument for the last one is "What they're doing to you is wrong!" Right, and I should go fuck them over back? Oh yeah, sounds like a brilliant idea.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com