Chaos Attraction

Two Stupid Walls And A Desk

2022-02-27, 6:14 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Garbage Queen - 2022-03-05
Stitches West - 2022-03-04
Show Besties - 2022-07-03
Over Dirt - 2022-03-02
Sign and Shoe Drama - 2022-03-01

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Today we had cue-to-cue, which in most shows is 4 hours of assigning who moves which set pieces, and practicing moving them in order. However, per Kimmie, " it's 2 stupid walls and a desk" and this show, along with Cats, Man of La Mancha and Drowsy Chaperone, are the easiest ones out there. So we were done in about an hour and 35 minutes. Because I am onstage most of the time, the leads finally have to do work...moving all the sets. I move about two things offstage in act 2 and that's it. Otherwise, we were asking her about various set things Steve said she'd do that she had no idea about, but said she'd work on it.

Kimmie quotes:
"I have mic'ed people in the weirdest areas. On the crotch for Cats."
"One time the mic was on when the gentleman was in the bathroom. Thank God that was during tech."
To Tomas and Hugo: "Do I have to separate you guys again? Morgan, control them!"
On the "spray dead Bobby with canned fog" thing: "Come out and look bored, I can do that."
"This is a hecka easy show."
On the handcuffs: "From my personal collection...not really."
"You have light props, this is awesome."

Other quotes:

Tomas after the no-cells-on-stage speech: "But I gotta check Instagram, it's important!"

Sofia: "I'm a set designer. No, I'm a graffiti artist."

Fun facts: Morgan saw the roses for Beauty and the Beast for the first time and was entranced. I was amused that she was literally wearing a shirt with that rose on it today.

Karam has been provided with fake cigarettes that presumably somehow smoke or light or something when you put them in your mouth...sadly I didn't write down fast enough the jokes that came up after THAT.

In other news:

Alexis from the last show was going to do the sound, but what with the new mask-free policy, has dropped out due to her grandparents. They don't know who's going to do it yet.

Kimmie set up mask stations on each side of the stage for people to wear in between scenes, but said she wasn't going to be the mask nazi about it for quick changes, and we don't mask shame if you want to keep them on (thank gawd).

Before this started Steve told me he wants to take the eggs off the set, or just keep one and hide it somewhere else. Up to you to remove, buddy, I'm done glue gunning and I'm not entirely sure if they'd come off at this point, so he can figure that out.. (He also said "the set is done," and I was all "totally fine with it, I am also done.") He was...really bizarrely quiet at the end of cue-to-cue though, he didn't say a whole lot and we got dismissed because Kyle wasn't there to do any impromptu rehearsal.

So I went home hella early and I worked on next week's "The Great Yarn Challenge" and stuffed face and read that giant book of love I picked up yesterday. It's really good, actually, albeit "coffee table size" is a pain to read.


Rehearsal:

I am not thrilled that Steve changed his mind to make EVERYONE (not just three people) balance toilet paper on their heads. Ugh, this is not going to go well. Kimmie said she'd make headbands.

I note that I actively saw two people spitting (a lot) onstage. Aieeee.... I do not like this but there is nothing I can do about it.

Tomorrow the kids' show is taking photos, so rehearsal starts later....or not...I'm not sure why they say to show up earlier when we can't start until 7 and may not be miking.

Isaiah has been recruited to do the sound.

Kyle has on a shirt with the periodic table that says "Periodically, I'm sarcastic."

The show ran 1 hour 55 minutes tonight. I'm used to them all being 3 hours apiece, so that's nice.

Quotes:

James on forgetting lines: "When in doubt, where's my dough?"

Steve: "Will the Woodland contingent please shut up?" '

Evan: "I love Isaiah!" Steve: "And he loves you too."

Kimmie: "Steve would like to remind you that you can sit in the house tonight."
Clocky: "Why would I? I'm in a show."

Isaiah to me: "Well, that'll teach you to do back to back shows." Certainly true.

Steve makes people move in closer. Morgan: "I don't wanna be close to these people." Me: "Yeah, we all have cooties."

Steve: "I wrote p-f-f-f-t." Evan: "Oh, THAT's how you spell it!"

Sierra: "Awkward hour with everyone."

Steve: "James, walk your fingers down her arm." Everyone else: "Ewwww." Steve: "You gotta be closer to her boobs. Only in theater can you give that note." Steve: "Could you make that way creepier? I want her skin to crawl."

Sherilyn: "Let's not knock Hugo out in the middle of the show." (Sierra's off getting her chair)

Jan: "We have no victim." Someone else: "We're still tying up the hostage."

Sarah, making an excuse to leave: "Oh, there's a wall."

After Hope unties herself. Sarah: "Who tied those ropes?" Sofia: "I could have tied them better."

Steve: "Your water broke over there." Sofia: "I thought I just peed."

Apparently Hugo did another grab and "it looked like you were dating again."

Steve: "Is there a Mr. Millennium?" Katrina: "Actually, it's Dr. Millennium."

Steve: "I wrote McQueen, that's all I wrote."

Steve on a line that's supposed to be "hoarding." "It sounds like you said whoring, which also works."

Steve: "I want milk on the stage." Kyle: "It's udderly ridiculous."

Someone said "pun war."

Steve: "Mary Poppins is STILL going on."

Steve on Titanic: "Who designed that thing?"


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com