Chaos Attraction

Sign and Shoe Drama

2022-03-01, 6:18 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Bye Bye Birdie Audition - 2022-03-06
Garbage Queen - 2022-03-05
Stitches West - 2022-03-04
Show Besties - 2022-07-03
Over Dirt - 2022-03-02

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Work:

Did various training-ish meetings with the new girls, which was fun.
After work: Went to go pick up the new InCryptid book, FINALLY, and then dragged ass to Target for black socks for the show. And then random stuff like mouthwash, melatonin gummies, Easter candy, lunch bags, and somehow this all comes to $60.

Rehearsal: again, still unable to take notes at this point, but things I recall:

(a) Katrina gave everyone yellow paper cups with "A privilege to tea" and a few tea bags in it, and poop stickers. (Kimmie was all "no drinking tea here.")

(b) Sofia came in wearing a Hanukkah sweatshirt saying "I Latke Move It Move It." I love this.

(c) Morgan came in wearing "Duchess of Sassytown" socks.

(d) Sierra came in wearing a shortish skirt that she said her future stepmother-in-law deemed too old-fashioned to wear to a bar. We all boggled at this bit. Apparently her fiance's relatives are rich Republicans in Palm Springs that they would prefer to avoid. Sofia was all "haven't talked to mine in five years," so good on her there.

(e) There was a bit of "we hate our jobs" talk, and Sofia said she dyed her hair blue in pandemic, got permission to, and then people started freaking out about it.

(f) Sofia said she has no friends and I was all "we're your friends!" and "Oh, Morgan does hair and makeup" (for the wedding).

Overheard: Sofia: "Steve wants me to twerk on Hope." Me: "Oh, so NOW he wants twerking?" (I really hate not being able to write down the post-show snarks. So good, so can't recall them all.)

As for the actual show, we came in at 1 hour 57 minutes, which is awesome. I actually did better at the dance numbers I normally suck at, for a change, thank gawd.

There has been Sign Drama, specifically as to where to put the dang protest signs so they don't interfere with anybody beforehand but are reachable, Kimmie thinking the sign I put out is the one Jan's using (sigh), etc, Finally it's agreed that Kimmie will just hand the dang things out.

There has also been Shoe Drama, as there is very little time between the end of "Don't Be The Bunny" (in lab coats and character shoes, with tiny buckles) and having to be in the next scene in poor outfits and specifically poor shoes. Jan asked me how I was doing it (answer: keeping the character shoes very not tightly buckled like they need to be, to the point where I may end up chucking one into the audience accidentally when it flies off my foot), but having to put socks off and on and shoes slows you down and they started the scene without waiting around for the rest of us to be there, ahem. (Which is on them.) Steve and Jean basically had an argument over "Why can't they just wear the poor shoes?" vs "Well, they got them BEFORE" and then, "Yeah, that was nine years ago, they had more people to help them and I had more hair back then." The verdict is no second shoe change tomorrow and see how that goes.

I'm amazed at the shit that does get nitpicked here vs. isn't. God forbid your socks not be perfect in color and regulation, but I didn't wear sunglasses or even sing at the end of "Cop Song" (god knows you can't hear me and I can't hear me to do the back end round, nobody seems to have noticed except Sherilyn) and no comments there. As a background person, I don't exist unless I laugh. Hmmmmm. Seriously, I could like, flip the bird on stage and nobody'd notice. I actually am hah hah, getting very near to flipping a bird at McQueen when he announces the fee hikes.

Funny moments:

(a) Apparently when displaying the suitcase full of cash, Evan held it upside down and Katrina had to grab it away and flip it. Steve laughed for five minutes straight and said to keep doing that."

(b) I noticed that Cladwell now has a stuffed bunny that comes out at the beginning of the scene before "Why Did I Listen To That Man." Which apparently wasn't on the desk at the time (I saw Evan poking around looking for it) so Clocky winged it, and at the end Kimmie literally chucked it onto the stage.

(c) Yes, Kimmie is spraying fog and looking bored at her watch.

(d) Sofia ends up dropping the baby from under her dress at the end and having to pick it up (usually the wrong way) and displaying it. It's hilarious and causes jokes about calls to CPS. (Also, if you think about it, Cladwell makes a horrible crack about doing in a baby's skull in the act one finale, so I guess that relates....?)


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com