Chaos Attraction

Show Besties

2022-07-03, 6:22 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Not Much - 2022-03-08
The Bad Place Again - 2022-03-07
Bye Bye Birdie Audition - 2022-03-06
Garbage Queen - 2022-03-05
Stitches West - 2022-03-04

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

The mask mandate ends at work in 2 weeks. Yaaaaaaaaaaay! Oh wait, not. Though I was amused at someone posting an "It's done" gif of Elijah Woods in LOTR" and then quitting the covid19 channel at work. I think they were trying to mic drop that one and I posted an Obama mic drop emoji. Someone else posted: "Narrator: It wasn't done." Alas, there is no Ron Howard emoji.

Someone posted the YouTube video for the filming last night? The headline (I note it's Fox News)? MASK FREE PERFORMING! groan I don't think I can watch.

I did hear from Linda (apparently her emails went into spam) and it sounds like I may be a slam dunk to get into "Tailwind, IRL Edition." Show to be April 23, details to be determined later, audition is Monday because nobody else signed up for Wednesday. The director is Nancy from TnT and it sounds like they both like me in the video Kelly sent, so fingers crossed. Nancy left me a message saying she's in Hawaii but will call later. Kelly said she's actually considering flying out to CA to see it, but I won't count chickens on that one.

I texted Scott about all of this and he is wishing and washing on all three auditions (Evita at DMTC, Bye Bye Birdie at Woodland and the Winters one). He did note that Evita rules out the other two. I said well, watch the shows and see which one you like better/want to prioritize, I guess. Who knows with him, I give up. I didn't get into therapy the other day, but I did tell my therapist I wasn't sure if I wanted to bring up asking if he's going to audition for anything since he wishes and washes and decides at the last minute and it's annoying. Sure 'nuff. I have to accept that getting him into the same show as me is not likely again.

Okay, later on during rehearsal I did text him after hearing Jan say that Evita the movie is quite different from Evita the musical because the former has no ensemble and the latter is ALL ensemble ALL THE TIME and they don't even have time to get to dressing rooms to change. (Sounds even more exhausting than this one. Even if I wasn't doing 2 shows back to back, no thank you.) I warned Scott of this (I had been saying earlier that watching "the movie" is not the same as what they are putting onstage for things, but he didn't like the BBB video I found online and says he'll just watch the movie).

He said the style of singing is also very different, he hasn't finished doing any of the watching of anything, BUT Linda did send him the scripts for Winters. I said hm, she didn't mention that to me on the phone and asked him to forward on. I also checked the Winters webpage and they've posted all of the online shows again (woot) and audition notice and show notices.

As for the final night of dress rehearsal, it went very well, Steve is very happy with it all. I'm told the Fox News segment was good, albeit ripped on the name (apparently the name is still an anti-selling point) or something. I feel like I have the dance numbers down finally, thank gawd, except "Cop Song" in the dark is...a bit dangerous, ahem. Steve took all the production photos.

Moments:

Sofia did not drop the baby tonight, darn it!

Steve told Evan not to mouth "fuck you" to James and we were all, whaaaaaaaaaa? and what happened? (their characters are on the same side and McQueen isn't a "fuck you" guy) and Evan was all "I was just making mouth movements!"

I put on more dirt at intermission and then it took five wipes to clean it off. Since nobody else got super more dirty after that, I may not bother to do that much again.

The drink will be "Rum Bunny Run," with rum and pink lemonade and a Peep. I seriously want to make this at home.

They got the T-shirts in, put people's names on them, and still didn't let us take them! Ahem?!

When I got there, the kids were still in the theater, one of whom found a phone and asked if it was mine. I was all "is there a dog on it? It's probably Jan's," and it was. "I've found it before," I said.

Quotes from the dressing room:

Sofia: "I don't wan to be a person." Me: "Me neither."

Sierra: "I keep saying killing people is wrong, not kidnapping." Me: "Well, both of those are wrong."

Sierra: "I get killed somehow." Me: "In a manner not quite so gentle."

Sierra: "I need a nap." Me: "Unfortunately, now is not the time."

Sofia: "Someone needs to put a shock collar on me." Karam: "Okay!"

Sofia: "I think I should keep the belly on" (during Cop Song, because cops have a beer gut). Also, "I'm doing Irish accent today. I feel bad about doing British in front of Paul."

Sierra: "I have plenty of time to tie myself up. And stuff my bra."

We had several good discussions on degrees: Sofia didn't finish college and feels like she has to take what she can get on jobs. Katrina was all "I have a master's in education," but isn't using it. Sierra has an MBA but hates her job and says the experience is all they care about. College is no job guarantee, folks!

Karam was also kind of bummed out today, as her family was marital and age shaming her. She said her whole life they didn't want her to date boys and NOW they are harassing her that she's single. A lot of us were all "We know this pain too, feel free to rant." "I have spent my entire life fighting against this." Amen, sister.

Sofia and Karam declared themselves "show besties" (at one point Sofia brought Karam to the bathroom with her) and after Karam said she hadn't watched something or other, Sofia said "Hey, so much for a show bestie" and Karam was all "You can't take that back!"

Other quotes and moments:

Sofia during vocal warmups, out of nowhere: "You suck, Kyle!"

Someone fired off the "gun goes off" sound effect during said warmups, helpfully synced to the singing.

Jean after someone suggested an outfit get made for the bear: "I'm not making doll clothes again."

Jan said that being a director is "relaxing" compared to being onstage.

I'm very happy with the show right now :) They said that the "Hunchback" cast from Woodland is sending people over--they can only go our opening night and we can only go their closing.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com