Chaos Attraction

The Rattlesnake's Tail

2019-03-04, 9:42 p.m.

Today’s work drama:

We had very few students apply to work here--the bare minimum applied for the slots open--and half of them turned down the job when offered it. God, every day there are less and less bodies here and my fate looks worse and worse because of that.

Also, my boss got in a car accident coming back from Tahoe. We don’t know the details beyond “everyone is generally okay but the car flipped over and is trashed and someone has a black eye” and “I’m on medication and won’t be back until Wednesday” (we’ll see on that one, I guess), but...that’s Another Thing.

I am feeling like That Coworker, the one that used to bully me, is starting to want to go after me again. I am just kind of getting that feeling like I hear a rattlesnake’s tail going on in her e-mails--or the e-mails her boss is passing on to me. She is starting to get critique-y on what I am doing even though we aren’t even working on the same stuff at the moment. I normally wouldn’t care if it was anyone else saying the stuff she’s said, but unfortunately if it comes out of her I have to wonder. I’m debating going to her boss and saying that I need to be moved off of what we still have in common, but I can’t exactly say WHY because it’s not like she’s said anything I would or could report on--I’m just having That Feeling Again. Sigh. I hate to be pushed out of my specialty, but that’s clearly the only way I can stay safe from her is if we have no work overlap any more. Also, if she doesn’t like how I do it, she can do it herself in the way she likes. She’s gonna SUPER enjoy certain things, lemme tell ya.

Today’s quote from GQ: “Guys are mean to each other but they don’t really mean it. Girls are nice to each other, but they don’t really mean it.” Good point.

I went to knitting group tonight--a week after I was all “heading out to an audition, you won’t see me for the next month!”--but apparently everyone forgot that and nobody asked why I was still here. Whew, I suppose.

Then I went to meet up with Melinda, Melanie, and Jed for our semi-frequent “work on the crafts and writing and Etsy and whatever” group (note: is actually called “We Have A Plan,” but I figure I need to spell it out more than that.), which was having an emergency meeting after I e-mailed Melinda about the Gumbo fiasco.

Anyway...in general they were all “well, that didn’t work out so well due to circumstances not entirely under your control there,” and “they probably prioritized current students and last year you were one” (I dunno on this) and “well, clearly they wanted something prepared ahead of time rather than improv, but you were doing the best you could given the circumstances,” and “you should probably prioritize storytelling rather than anything else next time since you’re bummed that you didn’t sign up for a class you wanted because it went at the same time as Gumbo.” And obviously that wasn’t exactly my favorite show theme (and well, I wasn’t doing something that was sappy happy family and that probably had something to do with it too, I think.) Maybe I’ll do it next year, maybe not. If I do I will clearly have to physically drive to the damn school for 5 minutes to look at the flier, at least. Sigh. But at any rate, I am less rage monster on that topic and that helps. Plus I have a storytelling-ish thing going on Friday, so there’s that. More on that later.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com