Chaos Attraction

Another Day, Another Friend Dumping

2011-03-09, 10:45 p.m.

Another day, another friend dumping.

For the record, I was having a lovely day today. I went to an entertaining work class, I had a busy/interesting day, I got a nice compliment at work, I went out for Greek food with Merry...all was great until...

Mom has officially friend-dumped Mauricio as of a few days ago. On his birthday, no less (CLASSY, MOM). Told him she was "moving on" and the like. He got the hint and hasn't contacted her since.

It's the end of an era, man. I feel sad. By all means, I am fine with her getting over having a crush on him, and not spending buttloads of money on him because he is always broke (then again, if it wasn't him, it'd be anything or anyone else), but...

I can't help but think, for whatever reasons, that guy stuck by you a lot better than your damn family EVER did. He wasn't there all the time, but he was there a lot more than my aunts and uncles could ever lift a finger for. He made her happy, he was nice to me, he was the only person who'd brave me and mom together in a fight and stick up for whoever was acting the sanest. I wasn't 100% alone in dealing with her drama, and he kept her entertained and occupied. We had a good time hanging out together, and now she dumped it all.

I by no means agree with all of his behavior, necessarily, but to totally dump him without at least saying "I have some problems with this, let's fix it" just seems harsh. Even my shrink said that.

This is not a family that adopts stray people easily. We don't have anyone stick by us that isn't Mom and me. This guy did. And I'm reminded once again that anyone who isn't my mother can leave (or get the boot) at any time, so what does it matter? It just seems shitty to me.

Why, yes, I am feeling sensitive about friend dumps, thank you. Mom was all, "well, you could still talk to him," and I was all, riiiiiight, that's not how the world works. You brought me in, you get custody of me after the divorce. Plus there's the super awkwardness that comes from avoiding the topic of the friend dumper. Yeah.

Why did she dump him, you ask? Well, she got fed up with some of his behavior, and uh... she's found a replacement.

But more on that later. Hoo boy, more on that later.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com