Chaos Attraction

The Glamour of Theater

2022-03-11, 6:49 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Boring - 2022-03-16
This Is All We Do? - 2022-03-15
Rum Bunny Rum - 2022-03-14
Last Minute Evita - 2022-03-13
Way To Hostage! - 2022-03-12

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

My boss sent me her response to yesterday's LYING LIAR WHO LIES. It was "Please tell X to contact us about ordering a replacement Important Document. I would also note that X should contact Other Office for assistance because Giant Org does not offer Totally Made Up Title." Which I guess is better than nothing, but I'm still disappointed that she didn't outright say "This person did not earn Totally Made Up Title." She did admit she found it "fishy" and I said "so fishy I'm at Fisherman's Wharf."

Oh, and for those wondering "oh, was there a mistake and he should have it," I looked at his statistics and that is a big ol' NOPE. LIES.

Work drained me dry today because all I did was emails. Then I was forced to do this once-a-season chore (i.e. I'm the only one left in the office to do it and it shuts down at 4) and somehow fucked up the automated emails. This forced me to email a bunch of people off an email account I have access to rather than using the automated one that goes out from an email account I do not. What this translates into is that I had to send a bunch of upsetting emails and now they know to contact ME to ask "but whyyyyyyyy?" and frankly, I can't explain why the computer system flagged you when you thought you were okay. Ugh. I'm SO ROASTED after that and I gotta dance tonight.

Oh well, my boss is going to have a worse weekend: apparently she's been tapped to take over being the office notary and has to take the exam tomorrow. I said I considered doing it but then realized "six hours of class to learn how to sign a piece of paper, I'd shoot myself in the head in hour two," and she said it was tedious. I'll bet.

In office was a bit fun today, someone handed out cookies, so there's that.

As of 6:13 when I'm writing this and about to leave, I haven't heard anything about the 10 minute play festival and I'm not entirely sure if I have joined the cast of Evita? Didn't hear more about that.

I emailed my lunch buddy Rachel today in lieu of lunch and asked how Madagascar was going. She said the director wasn't totally prepared and half of the rehearsals was just him telling stories, and also apparently he's never seen the Madagascar movie, so how did he get this directing gig?.... This sounds shifty.


Show #4, I didn't take that many notes. Everyone was all "It's so weird to not see each other every day now!" and "Do we remember how to do the show now?" (We did. I did pretty good on the dance numbers, anyway.) Didn't really talk to Steve much but Jan said I'm in the show and she has all the girls she needs now, just needs two more guys (good luck with that). I said okay, but I'm still not on the FB page...though I'm listed as just ensemble (nothing else) on the cast list now. So there's that, at least.

Morgan got the "mistress" one-scene role in Evita and people were both congratulating/consoling her, which is a combo. She said whoever got Evita has done things elsewhere and seems a little old for the part, but otherwise was polite about it.

I haven't been getting up off my ass to watch the sound checks like usual, but I don't think they have started to get weird yet from what I heard either. That said, I did hear Tomas being all "Mummy told me!" from Camelot.

I told E "You know how you said you shouldn't do Evita if they asked you to?" then pointed to myself and said that after two days at home I didn't know what to do any more. S/he(?) was amused and said yeah, that'll get you over the post show depression.

Quotes from the dressing room:

"As long as the bear matches." -Shorthaired Sarah

After Sarah and I tried singing the "rich" part from the Act1 finale: "For people who didn't learn it specifically, I think we're doing pretty good." -Sarah. I note we knew the beginning but not so much the end, har har.

Sierra's wedding update: "I got my dress budget, my mom got my dad drunk first." Apparently Mom told him dresses normally go for 3k, so that was used to talk him into a 2k budget.

Dannette: "I'm four foot six, a poofy dress is not going to work on this."

Sierra: "I have permission to slice and dice."

Dannette said that when the dentist gives her toothbrushes, she keeps them (and deodorant and other toiletries) in a stash for the high schoolers. "I teach high school, sometimes they need it."

Tonight, Katrina had Morgan paint cleavage onto her. "I don't got cleavage, so I'll paint them on." Sofia: "I will lend you mine."

Morgan said that during The Pajama Game, Hugo had to shoot an apple off her head and it landed in the audience and she had to run out there, apologize, and grab it back.

"Theater is super glamorous," said Sierra after patting herself down for sweat, "I get slobber all over myself."

Other than that, show went well. I didn't go out afterwards and went home to sleep since I really didn't sleep last night at all (woke up at 2 again). At least I slept around six hours.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com