Chaos Attraction

Way To Hostage!

2022-03-12, 6:52 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Go Luck Yourself - 2022-03-17
Boring - 2022-03-16
This Is All We Do? - 2022-03-15
Rum Bunny Rum - 2022-03-14
Last Minute Evita - 2022-03-13

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Scott's birthday today. I texted him a Baby Yoda birthday gif, he liked that.

I did not get emails from anyone about the ten minute play festival. I asked him if he did and he said he got into Hamlet with Cameron (OF COURSE, the one where they make out three times) and heard this morning. Not that I expected to get into anything Rodney was directing, but I think I had reasonable hopes for getting into Tailwind (plus if only 7 people auditioned for things...YOU'D THINK I'D HAVE BETTER ODDS), and to not hear...I asked if Cameron got into Tailwind, he said he didn't know. Told him about Evita but no response there.

I did, however, get a "you haven't been here for awhile, here's 10% off" coupon from his store :P I guess that's automated. If I want to use it, I have to get over there in about ten days. Hmmm. Maybe next weekend.

Later I did get called by Nancy and I did get in. Bridget is the principal (who I would have cast!) and Janene will be Joanna. I have no idea how she'll do it, but it'll be interesting. I told Scott this and he said "Nice! You did that really well!"

As for my day, I went off to lunch at Farmer's Market with Rae--avocado toast, her picking up accessories at the awesome clothing store and hitting Starbucks. Then I took her home and then went off with Dawn and Loretta to Vampire Penguin (haven't had that since pre-pandemic) to a place that had outdoor seating. I talked Dawn into taking me by the Joann's in Sacramento so I could pick up some colored cross stitch fabric and other cross stitch things, which went really well and we had a good time. Huzzah!


Show #5:

I get the feeling that I am not supposed to be knowing about E's gender...whatever. It's weird. I did meet E's SO tonight and...um, well, I did kinda wonder if E and James had any kind of romantic vibe going on, and ah, E's SO and James are VERY similar in size/looks/dynamics, as it turns out. (E likes them wee and adorable, I think.) Though the SO is also very cute. I wan to root for polyamory here, I think....

I asked Morgan how she and Hugo got together. She said they were friends for years but were dating other people, and eventually got together for lunch during pandemic and just started kissing...I was surprised it was that recent (I note I met them in Shrek and thought they'd probably been together for a few years as an Established Theater Couple), and also hearing these "we were friends for years in theater and got together" stories give me hope.

Also inspiring: Sierra said that she was ensemble in every show until this one. Sofia said the same happened to her, until people realized she was funny and even if she blew an audition, she'd get cast as "the funny fat best friend."

At one point I saw Sofia chuck her mask dramatically backstage as she'd forgotten to take it off.

Told Jan I got into Winters, she asked if Scott did too, said I'd let her know when I know on the rehearsal schedule. She said there were tons of conflicts for people in this show and some would be gone for a week.

Saw Jean after the show and told her I was doing Evita, she said she's getting called back tomorrow for one of the mom roles in BBB. She sympathized at hating having a break in between shows.

For some reason, some random red feather has been floating around the stage for weeks. This is pretty inexplicable since no red feathered anything is being used in this show (we did have some blue feathers floating around The Producers since some folks wore boas) or in Beauty and the Beast. Jan and I figured it's probably a ghost. Jan reported today that "the red feather followed me to Woodstock's. Now it's at Woodstock's and will never come here again."

Kimmie summoned everyone at 7:40 for an emergency announcement: one of the (few) orchestra members was going to miss the first act due to a "pet emergency." I was all "thank god it isn't Covid" and other people were all "how's the pet?" No idea, Kimmie said, but she imagined that if the pet wasn't doing well, that person wouldn't be trying to get there for act 2.

There was a guy in the front row not wearing a mask and smirking about it. During intermission, we debated telling someone about it and Jan was all OH HELL YEAH TELL SOMEONE, so Kimmie was told, and the guy disappeared for most of the second act. We assumed he went home in a huff ,but he showed up at the end...not wearing the mask again. Some people.

Quotes:

"Is anyone expecting anyone tonight?"
Karam: "Sofia's expecting someone tonight!"
Sofia, reacting late... "Oh, a baby."

"I don't know what's going on in the men's dressing room, but they are singing, "You have a vagina."
"Sounds about right for the men's dressing room."

"You sure did like that skydiving trip." -Sierra
"Yeah, I haven't shut up about it." -Sofia

"No one looks cute when they are trying to snort!" -Sierra

"I guess I need to take my mask off to drink water." -Sierra
"Who's the idiot now?" -Sofia
"It's OK, it'll be a few minutes before someone does something." -Sierra

Me: "Go get 'em, Morgan. Getting to beat up people onstage and win must be fun."
Sarah: "Getting beat up on stage is also fun."
Katrina: "Getting stabbed on stage is fun."

Something I want to mention before I forget it: onstage after Hope unties herself, we're all having a conversation. Mostly Sarah going "Who tied her up?!" and me pointing at Little Becky and Little Becky being sheepish and going, "I could have tied them better" as Hope hands her the ropes. Dannette is all "Way to hostage."

Then there's the scene where Penny tells everyone to move away so she can talk to Hope, and Sarah will be all "Oh, look, there's a wall" and Dannette...I forget, darn it, it was funny

Monica (from Camelot, in tonight) said she uses "A Privilege to Pee" as an audition song, I said that next time I'm in a long line for a bathroom I should sing it, Morgan said she was encouraged to at Woodstock's when there was a line and started singing about taking people's money.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com