Chaos Attraction

Neighborhood Crash

2006-03-15, 1:10 p.m.

Last night, I was walking home from volunteering when I saw the scene of an accident, literally about a block away from my place.

Someone was lying in the dead middle of the road, not moving. I couldn't tell who it was. A bunch of people were standing around that person, looking like they had no idea what to do. Another guy was on his cell phone. A Jeep was pulled over on the side of the road, and a slightly crumpled looking bike was discarded over on the side. You could pretty much guess what had occurred.

As I was standing on the curb, pretty much rubbernecking and debating if I should call the police, the first cop car pulled up. Then two fire trucks. Then another cop car. Then finally, the ambulance.

I stood around for awhile watching this, waiting for the person to be put into the ambulance. It took them a long time.

As it turned out, the person who got hurt was someone I know.

I woke up around 4 a.m. to pee and couldn't get back to sleep. A bit after that, I could hear Ian getting phone calls. Then I thought he left the house.

I eventually staggered out of my room (having given up on sleep) around 5 a.m. and found him standing around in the hall with a blanket.

Turns out that it was his new ex-girlfriend that was the one who got hit on her bike.

She's in the hospital right now with a broken leg- the two lower bones- and was supposed to be having surgery to put it back together today.

"She was already having hell week," he said. Finals starting, having to train someone at work, waiting around to hear from her favorite potential vet school...and now all of that goes out the window.

Ugh. At least it wasn't worse, I guess, but that is just sucktastic. Poor girl.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com