Chaos Attraction

This Is All We Do?

2022-03-15, 6:58 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
A Kick In The Head - 2022-03-20
Pterodactyl Scream - 2022-03-19
Urine Good Company - 2022-03-18
Go Luck Yourself - 2022-03-17
Boring - 2022-03-16

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Work: my boss says I can get a new docking station tomorrow, thank gawd. Other than that, did tedious shit, the usual, whatever. It rained this morning but I did not have to deal with it by going out, yay.
Therapy: I didn't have much to say other than theater decision stuff. She said it was good I was making decisions "with my eyes open" vs. not, so I don't get disappointed, and "it's not ridiculously hopeful, to just be hopeful." She also said "you're not being my way or the highway." I brought up https://www.doctornerdlove.com/i-think-im-in-love-with-my-best-friend-what-do-i-do/ this letter and noticed the following: "In fact, it can actually prompt an immediate “no, thanks” – not because they aren’t interested or wouldn’t be willing to date you, but because it feels like such a massive question that it feels safer to stick to the status-quo." Geez, why did I even bother.

After work: went out with Rae to Taco Bell and Nugget, then went home to rehearse my Tailwind lines. I annoyingly ruined a mask by eating drippy sauce food.

Random moment: I got a friend request from someone else obviously using a fake account who was friends with other DMTC people. I was all "I realize the irony of me using a fake account asking someone else with a fake account, but who is this?" and he said "Jared from DMTC" and I was all "oh, ok then, that was my guess!"


Rehearsal: NOT LOVING EVITA SO MUCH TODAY. Songs we did: Rainbow Tour (reasonable), "The Money Came Rollin' In" and "A New Argentina." I don't so much have objections to the first one, but the second one you just sing "rollin rollin rollin"* OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND BLOODY OVER to the point where Jonathan (musical director) was all "Stop me if you've heard this before." As for "A New Argentina" (Jonathan's favorite), I can't say I get that one. The chorus is the most musically interesting bit BUT GOOD FUCKING GOD IT'S SO HIGH PITCHED. Like seriously I THOUGHT MORGAN WAS GONNA BREAK GLASS TONIGHT. Like, hi, I'm an alto and I don't think that's where my vocal range should be going? Like, I'm not sure if I was getting it right or not over the very loud racket. I wanted to say "who the hell wrote this?" OH RIGHT, DON'T SAY THAT ALOUD IN MUSICAL THEATER WHEN YOU KNOW WHO WROTE IT.

The girls behind me were all, "This is all we do?!" SECONDED.
Urinetown Sierra was all "Once you lose your spot in this song, it's all over." Sage was all, "It isn't even WORDS after awhile." Also it is sung in 7/8 time for...some reason?

Jonathan: "This is my favorite song." Urinetown Sierra: "So don't mess it up?" Sage: "Are we ruining it for you?" Morgan: "Just me losing my mind as I'm reading."

So mostly I'm kicking myself going "Ya know, Bye Bye Birdie wouldn't have been like this" and "right-o, I'm doing this for my home theater and a guy?!?!" Who didn't even talk to me tonight, incidentally, I don't know when the hell he took off.

I note that there is ONE funny bit in the show: Eva gets called a whore and complains about it* an admiral is all "Hey, they still call me an admiral and I haven't been near the sea in years." (Steve gets that part.) * as opposed to "Peron's Latest Whore" the other night, which also, obviously...

Lindsay (Evita) can't read music. This is surprising.

We were told that Hugo and Arthur will be beating up Che at some point. "Jan's violent side comes out." -Arthur

Sage told me they are making a snake scarf, because their grandma has a snake. "She's pretty nice." Me: "The grandma or the snake?" I had to ask. Grandma is pretty nice too...

The two Sierras (blonde one from Tony n' Tina and brunette from Urinetown) are of course sitting together as pals now, as it should be.

It got out at 9:30 and I am fine with that. Conversation afterwards was quite interesting, though.

(a) Much to the disappoint of the split Urinetown/Evita cast, we still have to rehearse Sunday night (i.e. Jean's party night), but not until 8 "and it'll probably be over by then anyway," said Jan. We have Monday night off after that, not sure if that's gonna be a regular thing or not. Jonathan is going somewhere so we'll have our old musical directors as guest hosts.

(b) Sage is playing the wardrobe in Beauty and the Beast Kids' Edition right now. Sierra (er....gonna go with Brunette Sierra now when both of them are around, the Urinetown one) was saying that she played the wardrobe in middle school and it traumatized her for life between having to wear a ballgown and the wardrobe over it and huge high heels and being forced to go up and down stairs. She wants to audition for B&B Adult Edition and said she'd happily play a dancing fork compared to THAT. Morgan said they aren't doing that stuff in her show. I think Sierra wants to compare notes on the trauma :P

(c) Talked with Jan:

She doesn't think the flash mob is going to happen this weekend due to piano issues and a lack thereof at Farmers Market. Since apparently it'll be raining(!?!), oh well.
Big Day Of Giving is some kind of IRL hot peppers/salsa dance/chili eating party. All too spicy for me, thanks.
Jan said she's not ready to take her mask off and I'm all ME NEITHER and then we talked about how Woodland is throwing all the mask rules out the window and I told her how the audition went and how I was feeling uneasy and ran back on over here. Then she said that they bought 30 tickets to Hunchback on their last Saturday and I can go along if I like, but they go to Applebee's first. I said I had talked about going to this with Scott but he can't eat there, she said she'd talk to him about it. I gave her a list of places I know he can eat at (Woodstocks, Habit Burger, Asian cuisine). I dunno there.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com