Chaos Attraction

Boring

2022-03-16, 7:00 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
BigBoss Search Fail - 2022-03-21
A Kick In The Head - 2022-03-20
Pterodactyl Scream - 2022-03-19
Urine Good Company - 2022-03-18
Go Luck Yourself - 2022-03-17

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

My alarm didn't go off until 7:30 and I needed it to go off at 7:10 because it's an in-office day. WHY? I even slept 8 hours for once, go figure. Luckily I had my shit packed already and could get out the door in 10 minutes.

I didn't get my new docking station today (boss not in), but the new docking station in yet another office I had to borrow actually worked great, and Penguin Girl got my monitor and shit fixed within 5 minutes, so I actually had a decent computer day today and got things printed/mailed/whatever and trained my coworker without incident. (I think my usual computer problems hopped onto other people today.) Did emails, which sucked. Whatever.

Tailwind rehearsal: first one with Bridget and Janene. They were...pretty subdued about it? Bridget wants to do Strickler (the strict principal) in a Texas accent, so all right. Janene was pretty muted. I felt like I was being too much, but at the same time I kinda wanted them to ramp it up a bit? Like I am used to? Make it more of a "take potshots at each other" relationship like I'm used to. But I have no interest in directing and it ain't my job to dictate anyone else, so :P For the record, Nancy didn't really "direct" any of this other than to tell me to lower my voice a bit and wear tie-dye in the show, so *shrug* Well, we'll see how it goes. Nancy's off to Bend next week so the rest of us will rehearse alone. Nancy did serve up some pizza and Janene brought oranges, so that was fun.

Evita rehearsal: Scott texted Jan/Steve and me that he wasn't coming tonight, as he apparently gave himself some kind of mild concussion (note: he didn't go to the doctor about it as far as I know but it kinda sounds like that). Steve and Jan were reading the text aloud and he texted me at the same time, saying he hit his head pretty hard on a beam while installing installation at the house and he was starting to pass out while driving so he went back home. He said he wanted me to know "just because" and also as backup in case Steve didn't get the text. ("Just because," eh?) Said he was a little lightheaded and not sure if he was dizzy. Said he shook it off at the time but wasn't feeling so good later. Later he texted Steve (not me) that he took a Motrin and wasn't worse, at least.

I recorded the tenor bits for him and uploaded them to Dropbox, hopefully that works for him.

Other than that, we did the following: *

Sang in Latin words that nobody knows how to say.

Sang Spanish words most people do not know, ditto, though Hugo gave it a shot.

Literally just sang "PER-ON! PER-ON!" or "EVI-TA!" repeatedly OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND BLOODY OVER.

Being in ensemble in this is REPETITIVE AND BOOOOOOOOOOOOORRRRRRRRRRRIIIIIIIIIING WHY DOES ANYONE WANT TO BE IN THIS IF THEY ARE NOT A LEAD? We don't even really get decent lyrics at any point in the last few days. THE FUCK, COMPOSER DUDES?! Why the hell did Scott want to do this one?!?!? (I'm doing this for reasons other than him as well,, but this whole thing rather sucking tonight and he's not even there, ugh. I recorded bits for him, but fuck if I know how to explain anything that went on tonight.)

I'm not in rehearsal much tomorrow, he has to rehearse in it more than I do. I am scheduled for about 45 minutes mid-rehearsal and then leave :P I did offer to go and record his bits if he's bad off tomorrow, no response on that one. The altos were divided into altos 1 and 2. The altos 1 were not happy about it and two of them were whimpering behind me, "can't we get another person?" "Tuchus Altos." -Steve Steve was encouraging people "to make a loud mistake so I can correct it." Arthur noting the sheet music: "He took pity on the basses."

Steve:
"I have no idea if it sounded good, but it sounded right."
"The rest of the show is easy after this."
"Let's have the Jew read Latin."
"I talk to my dog in Latin." Kyle: "That's why you have a hellhound."
"I sprained my wrist while sleeping." Morgan: "He does that a lot."
"Pick a time signature, Andrew!" Arthur: "I don't have to, I'm Sir Andrew Lloyd Webber."
"The advantage of a mask: I sneeze weird."

Arthur made a "Bad subject matter? I tried" joke.

Steve: "Everyone else take a break." Me: "Good, I gotta pee." Morgan: "It's a privilege to pee." Me: "Here's your money, I'm not snagging a freebie!"

There is a children's chorus in this show. "We need more children. Anyone pregnant?" -Steve Kyle: "That's the other show." Steve: "Where's Sofia when you need her?" Kyle: "Asparagus is on his way."

Steve said that the most embarrassing thing he ever did was forgetting what he was speech-singing in Evita when he played Peron.

On singing "Per-on!" Kyle: "You have 17 of these." Steve: "And then the shark shows up." Kyle: "39 of those." Steve: "You just learned 1/17th of the song. Arthur: "You can sing out of both sides of your mouth."

Kyle to Jared: "You're in no key whatsoever."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com