Chaos Attraction

Surprisingly Good Weekend

2008-03-18, 11:15 a.m.

Hm, had a surprisingly good weekend for going back to the Olde Hometowne for three days.

* Mauricio stuff is...like the whole marriage thing never happened. That's all I have to say about that.

* Got shoes as a pre-birthday gift. Okey-dokey.

* Went to go see Carrie Fisher's one-woman show, "Wishful Drinking," at Berkeley Rep. Loved it. Highly recommend going to it. As per my usual at going to Berkeley Rep (last time I went there was to see Neil Gaiman do a Q&A), I thought, "Man, I want one of these. This looks like fun." She was great. She did a section on Hollywood inbreeding (if Liz Taylor's grandson and Eddie Fisher's granddaughter start flirting...are they related?), she put on the ol' Leia wig and had a life-sized Leia sex doll on the stage, she had a good time. I also learned that according to George Lucas, there is no underwear in space.... Yeah. Anyhoo, she's awesome.

I had a 3-day weekend there because I had the dreaded FOUR-CAVITY-FILLING dental appointment, which I could only get on a Monday. Since the dentist in the Olde Hometowne is the only one I have ever met who isn't evil, I took the day off work to go there. (And uh, get my hair done.)

Here's the weird thing: I was in there for fifteen minutes.

You're all, "Huh?" I was too. But I gather it was more of a "we have to numb you up to check to see if the other three are there, since we can't X-ray you." (I have a gag reflex the size of the Chrysler building, which leads to all kinds of "fun" at appointments and dental issues up the wazoo.) And in the end, I had the lone cavity that got fixed in like 30 seconds, and that was it! Voila! *boggle* Most pleasant visit ever, really. I also actually got complimented for the condition of my mouth, something that has never happened before. Between that and my hairdresser saying my bangs didn't look as shitty as they normally do (I just started hacking them off myself rather than letting Mumsy nitpick at them. Yeah, irony), it was a pleasing day.

Between both appointments going a lot shorter than intended, I uh, spent the last half of the workday watching Wonderfalls on the couch. NICE. Definitely a mood-booster.

I did not get any editing done this weekend, but luckily I somehow got ahead enough during the week to make it not be a problem. On the other hand, my momentum just went buh-bye, and now I am thinking, "Hey, free time is great! I finished two sweaters this weekend! And read books!" (Not to mention that after I had three free hours left of the day yesterday, I uh, watched Wonderfalls instead of editing.) So, I need to crack the whip on myself. *sigh*


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com