Chaos Attraction

A Kick In The Head

2022-03-20, 7:11 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Watching Bridgerton - 2022-03-25
Out Of Cope Today - 2022-03-24
The Art Of The Possible - 2022-03-23
Evita Is A Hottie - 2022-03-22
BigBoss Search Fail - 2022-03-21

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

I am really tired. It has been a full day.

7-9:ish: watched Women's Storytelling Festival since I was up too early anyway. 10:30-11:45: met with Kelly, Shanna and Dana about the next online show, which will be featuring Dana's work. She told us about (a) some horrible acting teacher who told her she was too old and should give up and her experience was worthless, and then tried to pick up on her afterwards (I was all, "You need to put that story into the show.") and (b) she was an extra on The 4400 and the writer told her to smile more and she was all "This is my face, if you don't like it, hire someone else," and one of the main actresses (I suspect it was LaDonna?) said, "Are you from the southside?" and the writer backed off.

Show: Mom came today and in the grand tradition of "if you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all," said nothing after the show other than to hug me and that they were going out to dinner. Roger at least said it was an interesting afternoon. I'm thinking, "well, at least you sucked it up" and "Hey, I told you you didn't have to go."

It was a bit of a disaster day (at least not filming) because I ended up kicking Molly in the head in the dark when we were supposed to lie down on stage, and I was noisily "ow" about it. (Molly's reaction later was...I think she barely noticed, even. Like, "oh, yeah.") Morgan blanked out on a few lines during "A Privilege to Pee" and was pretty upset-ish after that. I was so glad Hugo was back there to hug her. Like, we all do shit and things happen, but it sucks anyway.

Jan and Steve are going to their first concert (ever?! apparently) tomorrow, for Andre Rieu, "who makes classical music fun." Apparently he is very popular and hard to get tickets for. They were also talking about the Big Day Of Giving this year, which I guess is going to be an in-house Cinco de Mayo party with tons of chili (not a selling point for me), salsa dancing (as a permasingle, ditto), so I dunno there.

Quotes from the dressing room:
"I hit myself in the face with a trash can." -Morgan
"I'm sure everyone in my personal bubble would appreciate it if I had a mint." -Sierra
"I'm trying to get myself fired." -Jan
"I'm going to be a good hostage." -Sierra

After that was the cast party Jean (costumes) was throwing. I did manage to successfully find her house in the country via the paper directions--yes, it's the level of country where you have no internet, and random peacocks(!) in the yard. And cute dogs. A good time was had by all, food was eaten (I ate outside but I do admit nobody was masked indoors at this...fingers crossed). I did not write down funny bits of conversations, alas, but people tried playing the "say one word in a sentence" game and were terrible/dirty at it. E did many silly physical galumphing things that were amusing. The guys claim that they were setting up a pentagram and having Clocky dress up as a priest in there.

Probably the most interesting bit for me was hanging out with Morgan at the end when I found out she's a pagan/does tarot. She did a reading for me that was...my usual depressing, never going to find love, I fear. (I didn't spell out any names, but said I've been alone forever, my prospects are not good, I shot my shot with someone and the psychic's prediction). Very mixed bag cards and the last three were 2 of Cups, followed by the hermit (fuck) and 5 of cups (even worse), WHICH FIGURES. SERIOUSLY WHY CAN I NEVER FIND TRUE LOVE EVER EVER EVER?

But other than that, we were happy to find another of our ilk and talk about that, and also talked about this company and auditioning elsewhere (she didn't get into Woodland when she tried either, said that whoever got Rose in Bye Bye Birdie I guess was not the nicest person when at DMTC so she isn't there any more....), and our total confusion with E's...whatever is going on with gender there. She said she and Sierra hung out with E last night and some guy was being a creeper at them and E was Not Getting It as to why they'd be afraid, and trying to explain Did Not Go Well. She also seems to think it's confusing when E is not out of the closet about it and doesn't tell everyone, but is apparently expecting that everyone knows by now? Da fuck? I just wanna be all "just say, name is this, pronouns are this, I'm not out to the parents" and be done with it. I hated to have to end it to leave for rehearsal!

But on the way out, we had a brief conversation when we walked in on Jean and Kimmie wondering if Jan was...mentally all there these days. To which Morgan and I were all "yeah, we're concerned about this," since she's kinda...absent-minded on the stage fairly frequently. I gather she wasn't doing anything in some dance numbers either (I can't always tell). This led to fun conversations about Parkinsons'/strokes/seizures/what have you that certainly made me feel depressed. In my experience, once the brain starts to go, well.... they can't do anything, so....eeeep.


Evita rehearsal: only about an hour for the ladies, as the leads did the first hour and the men were doing the last hour. Didn't do much with what we rehearsed (repetitive shit again). I guess we finish the songs and start blocking circa April 4 or so.

Quotes (mostly Steve unless said otherwise):
"Let's cut this number" (Don't Cry For Me), "no one would notice." Isaiah: "My mom would riot."
"This is pretty redundant until it gets dissonant."
"Wait a minute, I can't run the soundboard, I'm in it! I just realized that!" (Arthur was about to point it out.)
"Shall we do that part with Lindsay screaming at everybody?" (He did not.)
"This is where Jan is putting the tap dance in."
Steve recounted that somehow we have many versions of the script/score and he called up Concord (the music people) and asked why some stuff was cut from a Tony award-winning show now, and got basically no answer other than "the composers wanted to."

"What are you using my pencil for? You have an iPad!" -Isaiah to Boris (subbing in today).

"Theater is a dangerous sport." -Morgan

Steve is offering free tickets to people in Evita to go see Urinetown (hint hint, Scott?). One girl (not sure on her name) saw it today and complimented me on the show and I said, "Thank you, you liked it more than my mom did!" What a sweetie.

I did talk to Scott for five minutes during break--he came up and hugged me for a pretty long time when I said how Mom reacted. (Didn't say if he's going, of course.) Then he asked if I'd started Tailwind rehearsals and I said that had and that was working out for me. He said they're starting tomorrow, but Rodney (a) apparently schedules not too far in advance (which I guess he did on the play they did together before my time) and (b) I guess is still only doing Mondays and Wednesdays and Scott said he can't do that and asked for weekends. Obviously he and Cameron could do that on their own, but if Rodney wants to be there, erm.. So that's concerning him, obviously.

Anyway, now I'm tired and going to collapse now.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com