Chaos Attraction

Feeling Strange

2008-03-24, 9:34 a.m.

In a month from today, I officially become OOOOOOOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLDDDDD. Which is to say, the vast majority of people I hang out with on a regular basis are at least several years younger than I am, and they will all be horrified that I have hit That Age Where I Am Supposed To Be An Adult, yet I still look 18 and act 12.

Whee. I'm horrified too.

I will also have to work on my birthday. ARGH. Mom wants to come up and see me on that day and I haven't even figured out if I want to have to attempt to make up missed hours (spring being super damn busy for that) or not.

It was kind of amusing when I was at my aunt's house this weekend because my cousin Kristen was bitching because her birthday is always around Picnic Day. For the record, her 21st is on a Sunday this year, and that's NOT Picnic Day weekend, so I don't know why she's whining so much. I promptly trumped her with "I have to work, MINE IS WORSE."

I sort of want a party the weekend after my b-day, but I'm a crap party planner and flake out on being 100% In Charge of such things, so probably not. I really can only do party planning if it amounts to "Someone else tell me what to bring." Or in Buffy parlance, "give me an axe and show me where to point it."


I am still sulking. I think my shrink just plain did not know what to do with me after the sheer amount of whining about why don't I want to do anything last week.


Today begins the Week Where Practically Nothing Goes On After 5 p.m. Strange. Instead of having a few hours (at best) at the end of the night for myself, I'll have like SIX HOURS of free time. Weird!

I shall plan on doing the following:

(a) 2.5 hours of editing a day because I have 17.5 hours to go on NaNoEdMo.

(b) Actually watching live television as it airs for the first time in a coon's age. I may actually watch something like Dancing With The Stars, if only because I like Penn, Kristi, and Marlee. (And Penn'll probably be out soon, might as well catch him now.)

(c) Maybe actually watching Netflix during the week, during the hours where nothing is good on television.

(d) Knitting! Er, during the television watching.

(e) I bought uh...more books of the self-helpy variety (see above mentions of sulking and whining). I should like, read those.


The weekend was...hm, hard to say. On the one hand, I got to do some shopping in old town Folsom, which is awesome (see above books bought), and I also got some earrings. I trolled around the Roseville mall. And I got to go out to Fat's Asia Bistro or whatever it's called for Easter buffet, which was awesome.

On the other hand, Easter pretty much is like all the other holidays now, i.e. sit on the couch watching television, and the big excitement is going out to walk their five dogs. (Yes, five. I fear the day when the dogs outnumber them.)

And the weird thing was, Certain Hinting started going on around 3:30-4 p.m. that we should leave. Considering that my entire life, they've always wanted us over at least till the end of Easter dinner...this was weird. Even if they didn't plan on doing something big for it.

So by 5 p.m. we were out the door going, "Huh, what do we do now?" and were feeling sort of strange. We ended up going to Fenton's Creamery, and deciding we should do THAT every year instead. Mmm, ice cream. I think we should do more holidays the way we did Thanksgiving, foregoing the relative stuff entirely.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com