Chaos Attraction

Beauty and the Beast Jr.

2022-03-26, 7:23 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Per-on! Par-rot! - 2022-03-31
Woman of Mystery - 2022-03-30
An Allergic Reaction - 2022-03-29
It's Hell Week Again - 2022-03-28
The Baby Went Flying - 2022-03-27

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

This afternoon I went to see Beauty and the Beast Jr. at DMTC, directed by Morgan, featuring a few kids I know from Shrek (Matthew who played Little Shrek? Good lord, kid can do a French accent and even leering eyebrow as Lumiere) and Sage from Evita as The Wardrobe. I wanted to see it as a preview to B&B Adult Version in a few months, and it looks pretty good. I was amused at a few things, like the kid playing LeFou doing great pratfalls. The teenager playing Beast is 6'5, daaaaang. The few older teens in it were him, his sister, Mrs. Potts and Belle, I note that Belle is bigger than Gaston and her dad, hah hah. It all looked very good. I hope someday to play a napkin, they had great dresses.

The kids are all wearing masks on stage, regardless of age/vax status, I note.

Morgan had a director's note in the program. She'd mentioned to me before that she knew Hugo for a few years/they had other relationships before getting together in pandemic. Well, in the program she spelled out that they met in 2016 in B&B when she was Babette the feather duster and he was Cogsworth. "A few years, a couple of failed relationships, and lots of shows later, who knew Cogsworth and Babette would end up together in the end." She said because of that B&B will always be a passion project to her. Awwww.

(Why can't I have that happen to me?!?!?!)

Talked to Ashley. Her conference that she wanted to go to got canceled for several reasons, she had to donate the money so she doesn't have "too much" in her bank account to get SSDI, the SSDI will hopefully happen in 3-6 months and then she can get a service dog. Karaoke moves outside in April. Said I'd go back in May.

The rest of the day was spent watching Bridgerton, which I feel quite obsessed with now and it's already over. To explain the plot of this season (Regency romance novel/soap opera show), Anthony has decided it's time to get married, but he's afraid of having a loving relationship like his parents had because his mom was devastated when his dad died, so he decided to just marry the "diamond" ("best" girl this season, dubbed by the Queen), who this year is a sweet Indian lady named Edwina Sharma. Except Edwina has an old maid older sister Kate who isn't interested in marriage herself, but is going to make sure her sister is darned well taken care of and loved--and when she overhears Anthony's bloodless, loveless proposal ideas when he's BS'ing with bros, is totally disgusted and wants to shoo him off her sister. This does not work, also they get the hots for each other but Anthony continues to insist on marrying the sister.

There's a moment in episode seven, after the wedding has blowed up but good and Edwina has finally figured out it's a fine line between love and hate. Kate and Anthony are sitting near each other, she has to shoo off the dog, then they get close to each other and you can just see/feel the hormones wafting in the air, and Edwina is all "OMG HOW DID I NOT NOTICE THIS BEFORE WAS I TOTALLY BLIND?!?"

You know what? I'm not totally off about Scott liking me. Sometimes there are moments like that. I'm not totally insane to think he likes me like that even if he said no. The blowing me a kiss during The Producers? Multiple times? The long hugs? That stuff? Come onnnnnnn, dude. It's there. I'm watching the video from rehearsal the other night with the hugging and we're hugging for like five long seconds in that (yes, I timed it, I watched it to check if I was totally insane)

Problem is, how do you get (him) from here to there? Because I don't want to get a concussion like Kate did and be in some kind of passive Regency coma for a week to get a guy to realize his love, and it sure took Anthony a fucking long time even after that anyway. How do you get a guy to realize he wants to go there all the way and be happy already? Alas, the universe won't answer me on that one. It just sends hearts.


Last night's show:

Quotes from backstage:

"It's my pants! I obviously forgot to wear some." -Sofia

"Well, Augustus, we made it." -Sofia to her baby belly holding up for a month

Karam said her name means destiny, and "if I ever have a child, it will be Destiny's Child."

Sofia to Karam: "I've know you 2 months and what stories have I not told you?"

Sierra was bragging that she gets to miss a baby shower by being in this show, I told her about my cousin's baby shower in a house where the living room was filled with mounted animal heads. Sierra: "Welcome to the world, here's a bunch of dead animals." She also said that this lady was also having a "diaper party" for the men, in which they go golfing and have to bring diapers. A specific sort, apparently. They have also had TWO gender reveal parties. This seems...much, but at least nothing was set on fire and nobody died, apparently.

"I just hit my knee, I'm over it." -Karam. (On a related note, I tripped today and landed on mine, still hurts. This is why I won't volunteer to go down on my knees onstage, even if it looks weird. Also I suspect I may end up in dresses in this show.)

Clocky had the following to say after vocal warmups: (a) Instead of signing the wall, let's sign a toilet and mount it on the wall. I asked if pens would work on the toilets and he was all "we'll figure out something." (b) When asked if we had any questions, "How are babies born?" (c) wanted us to come up with funny team names for trivia later, in a confusing manner. I brainstormed a bunch of combinations of Disney rides combined with pee jokes.

Morgan forgot another verse in the moment again, I felt so bad for her. Some of us tried to sing it under our breath in hopes she'd catch it. She didn't seem as upset as she was last time, though.

Scott came to the show today, signing up as an usher. I admit I hung around in the theater to see if he peeked in--sometimes the ushers are brought back there right after vocal warmups--but nope. Did peek behind the curtain to see where he was sitting though. It was definitely weird for ME to be the one onstage and not him, since I've certainly been to shows where he was in them and I wasn't so I could just watch. I did hear him laughing (and he says I have a distinctive laugh, har), so that was great. The audience was actually lively and laughed tonight, which rocked. Most of the time we don't seem to have that going on, somehow.

Did briefly talk to him afterwards-- he hugged me, said it was "fun" and then he got quiet and wandered off to do usher-ing things (awkward). Did invite him to the cast party afterwards since theater people hanging about were welcomed, but he wasn't there too long. Mostly we just talked to Steve and Jan about the whole 10 minute play festival scheduling stuff. He said Linda did write back to him privately about the whole thing and it sounds like he's negotiating to only have us do tech week once that week for the first week of their tech week (she asked for it) and then the last two days of the second one. Hmmmm. Not sure what to make of that.

Jan did ask me what was going on with Winters later, specifically what was going on with "Miracle Worker" and I said heck if I know. Tomas was supposed to be in it, but he's decided to move to his girlfriend in San Jose and this is his last show here. I said yeah, that's two people I know of who've moved or are going to in that cast and heck if I know if it's ever going to go on, but suspect not having a theater and/or masks may be an issue with that show too.

Clocky put on a Urinetown-related trivia contest--very tricky--and my team (Steve--good at trivia, Karam, Jan, Isaiah, me) came in third out of five. Bunny chocolates were handed out and little bunny trophies and Starbucks cards went out to the winners. It was a pretty tricksy quiz, involving theater trivia, Jimmy Carter's bunny sighting, anagrams, song identification, statistics. Clearly Clocky should be doing pub trivia, if that was an option here. I didn't have time to write down the funny lines, but there were a lot of 'em.

There was also another vote...Sierra bought some temporary tramp stamp tattoos and had us vote on who would get which-- a cowboy boot, a knife, and "Baby Girl," which Tomas of course won. Steve was all "You're doing WHAT?" and Sierra was all, it's hidden under the costumes! Steve promptly filmed this and slapped it on Facebook.

Steve still loves the set. Katrina said, "It looks disgusting and great at the same time." Steve said he wants to send a video of the show to the writer of it. That would be nice.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com