Chaos Attraction

The Baby Went Flying

2022-03-27, 7:26 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Final Roar - 2022-04-01
Per-on! Par-rot! - 2022-03-31
Woman of Mystery - 2022-03-30
An Allergic Reaction - 2022-03-29
It's Hell Week Again - 2022-03-28

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

I got an email from Kelly this morning-she and Shanna want to go nonprofit with Shiny Unicorns after all and asked how I feel about that. I said I'm not against the idea but can't handle Business Stuff worth a damn At All, so someone else needs to actually DO those things if it goes there. She said others (probably Shanna) could do that, and a meeting was scheduled for 6 p.m. tonight after the show/strike, to which I was only 10 minutes late for.

Last Urinetown show! I took home the remaining stuff from the Clocky bunny basket, and the bunny basket.

Dressing room snark:

"Gonna miss all the chaos. A little bit." -Shorthaired Sarah. I noted that she was wearing a shirt that said "Some people just need a little pat on the back," and featured one guy shoving another off a building. I pointed this out and apparently this was not a deliberate shirt choice commenting on the show!

"This is the saddest day of my life," Karam said. Amy pointed out that it's okay to be dramatic around this cast.

Morgan was drilling her lyrics before the show this time, and made it through. "Is it going to screw him up if I get the words right?" she mused at one point. (Paul, I guess?)

Sierra and Katrina compared their tramp stamps from last night.

Jean came in to ask where Hugo was and Morgan was all ,"Don't worry, I'll yell at him for you."

Steve came in to say the following: "May your pee flow free. And an extra $20 to everyone who actually pees onstage." Sofia said, "Do I get extra for placenta?" and then beat herself up for being bad. Later she was all "I have no banter about me."

Sierra on singing "daddy, daddy:" "That's one of my favorite parts because I get to be so obnoxious."

It took ten-ish extra minutes to seat the crowds today, which annoyed Kimmie. "They're really mad. So everyone, be real funny!"

Karam's fly was open in the opening number. "If anybody noticed, they probably thought you were peeing in the bushes." -Amy

I was watching what E was doing in the show of late (SUPER creepy!), and at one point McQueen is totally being creepy and harassy to Little Sally in the Act 1 finale. I started hugging her when he does that.

I've mentioned that Sofia at this point drops the baby out of her dress and then picks it up? Well, tonight she grabbed it upside down, then when trying to flip it over, the baby went flying and we were dying. Sarah said to me, "That's what my mom did to me too."

Amy's 98-year-old grandma in a wheelchair was in the front row. Steve was siting next to her and caught her filming the show, but only Amy's scenes, so he presumed she was a relative of Amy's. "I did an ahem noise, which didn't do any good. I decided it wasn't worth it."

We finished the strike by 6 p.m., which is doing pretty well. I mostly cleaned the dressing room and took out a lot of trash. I wasn't involved in dismantling my beautiful trash set, sigh, which is probably all for the best because that would have made me sad. I did snag a few bunnies and Easter eggs off of it before the end of the show, though. It looked like people were trying to scrape the glue off...good luck with that. I assume the whole thing isn't reusable. They kept one of them (trash stripped but otherwise not repainting it) because they're using the white side for a flat poster in Beauty and the Beast, but the other one was pretty well pulled off and dismantled.

Yes, we did sign a toilet seat at the end of the night--a clean one, thank goodness. I did not hang around to see where it's installed, I guess that shall be a surprise for tomorrow. I signed it with a bunny drawing since I have no character name.


After that, I went to a Shiny Unicorns online meeting. We are inviting three others of our online crew--Jackie, Marge and Dana--to join a potential nonprofit board...well, whatever we end up doing there, I guess. Shanna wants to take it all bigger and writes grants all the time, Dana has actually written theater grants, Jackie is on various theater boards, so they at least Know Stuff. (Jackie said she's been in "nearly 300" online productions now! Dang!). Kelly wants to have workshops and mentoring groups and larger festivals and a whole lot of stuff.

I find this kind of funny since I have always been all "ugh, I don't want to join a theater board and have arguments and stuff," and um, now look what just happened. :P

And in other news, Troy Katsur and CODA won Oscars, Encanto won an Oscar, and I am pleased. Still all "DAMN, WILL SMITH SMACKED A DUDE AT THE OSCARS AND F-BOMBED," though! Like, I'm guessing perhaps Chris Rock didn't know Jada has alopecia and made a GI Jane joke (I didn't know she had it actually, haven't been paying attention to her of late), I don't think that was right if he knew, but smacking a dude and cussing him out AND THEN WINNING AN OSCAR is...welp, that's certainly a life choice for an interesting night there, Will.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com