Chaos Attraction

An Allergic Reaction

2022-03-29, 7:29 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
The Lost City - 2022-04-03
Hunchback of Notre Dame - 2022-04-02
Final Roar - 2022-04-01
Per-on! Par-rot! - 2022-03-31
Woman of Mystery - 2022-03-30

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Work: in office day. Spent all fucking day processing tedious forms. Never got below 100 emails of this. Drowning drowning drowning. Had to do one rush today and got THREE MORE rush requests. Really really tired of this. Then someone was all 'but what about the special stuff?" and I was all I CANNOT DO THOSE TOO RIGHT NOW. THAT IS NOT DIRE ON FIRE, I CANNOT DO THOSE TOO. I speed read and I can't do three people's workload alone. I canNOT.

Talked to Hope today, who has talked to Dianna, who seems to think she'll be out only a short while? Told this to my boss and she was all "that's more than I've heard from her."

On the good news side, hiring is open again, so let's hope the new temp goes for it.

During lunch I saw some new art exhibits, which was fun.

After work I tried going by the senior center to see if they were (a) still open and (b) was knitting group going. They were still open at 5:15 and there were people in there, but they appeared to be doing computer stuff and nobody was knitting and nobody I recognized was there. I guess it's not coming back after all. :( Instead I went home, stuffed face and collapsed until I had to leave again.


Evita rehearsal: "A New Argentina." In which we stand there, stand there, stand there, and are supposed to try and look excited about Peron. Boring boring boring. I stood around with Arielle and Rhiannon, which was fun and snarky. Rhiannon, like me, has been reading up on Evita and we discussed stuff like that.

Scott texted me saying he was going to be late, but he wasn't too late. I was bored and checking my phone feed and got an article saying there was some police action out by Vacaville and about five minutes later he walked in during vocal warmups. I waved and held up the phone and he nodded, so I guess that was The Thing. I guess it was worse for people going the other direction than for him, though.

Quotes:

Steve, outta nowhere: "My nickname is Will Smith, so WATCH IT!"

I saw that Isaiah has a gold glitter notebook with pictures of Eva and Peron on it. I was not expecting this of him, somehow, or at least he doesn't seem to be the glitter sort/rare straight man in theater and all. I complimented him on it, which was cute. "I hope to get to wear epaulets at some point," he said.

Che gets beat up right in front of us.
Me: "We get to watch the brawling! That's something to get excited about!"
Jan: "They are beating him up on the solos."
Brunette Sierra: "Do we get to see him get beat up?"
Jan: "No."
Rhiannon: "Everyday life."

Eva and Peron are sitting next to each other, pretending to be in bed. Evie (Lindsay/Evita's kid) and the rest of us were milling about backstage and Evie was all, "You guys gotta look at this." She then said something about telling her dad. Brunette Sierra was all, "Is she saying what I think she said?" This is kinda like "I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus" to me now.

Steve, Brunette Sierra and I were wondering where the toilet seat was and where Clocky mounted it. Answer: nowhere, we found it on the props table. I took pictures and showed it to Scott ("fun") and Evie, who was of course weirded out at the idea of a toilet show.

The song gets kinda scammy when Peron is all "It's a shame that we actually have to like, get people to vote for us and stuff like that" and most of the other men are all "We have ways of making you vote for us." Rhiannon and I were commenting on the shiftiness and the beating up of people. Me: "But the workers and the people, man! And she's hot!"

Jean talked about costumes, mostly making the kids wear "changing leotards" before they arrive here. Pretty much what the adult ladies do too. Supposed to wear characters shoes--well, already got those.

At one point Steve was telling us all to shut up and Evie air-punched him. She's feisty! Go, girl!

Jonathan announced that we sounded perfect, but he could really only hear one side of the room, so.... I guess we suck over here then, I said :P

Jan was going to make rehearsal longer for the men and let the rest of us out (yay), but right before filming the number (around 9ish?) Scott said he was having an allergic reaction and he had to go. I assumed that meant something like "driving home" or "driving to the ER." After filming the scene, which was probably another 5-10 minutes, Jan said the rest of us could go. I went out to my car and--his car was still there. So I checked on him and he was in there, said he'd called his parents to come get him and pick up his car.

I hung around/got into his car to keep an eye on him and see if he'd need to go to the ER before his parents showed up (which was about 50ish minutes, who knows why that took so long, the cop thing had long since died down). He was looking pretty peak-y when I got in, reclined the seat down and was kind of gesturing at his throat, so I was a little worried--also haven't been to the ER here so would have had to have looked that up. He said he took two Benadryl but no longer had an epi-pen since he hadn't had a reaction to anything like that in at least 5 years and the thing had long since expired, he should probably get another one. He had told me about the previous time he had to go to the ER after eating in a Mexican restaurant here, so that was the one time he really had a bad reaction and I gather this was #2 in severity and who expects a reaction to kick in 1.5 hours later and after eating something you're usually fine with.

But he seemed to recover as time went on/the Benadryl kicked in, asked how striking the set went yesterday, managed to make conversation about other distracting things. I mentioned Vampire Penguin as a place he could possibly eat at because as far as I know anything dairy there is optional and the base food is just fancy shaved ice, and he did go turn on the phone and check the menu. He said he wasn't as aware of the restaurants in this town these days after graduating and (of course) dating his ex when she lived here. "That was a long time ago," he sighed, and I made no comment to that.

His parents finally showed up, I got out of the car (they waved), and one of them presumably drove his car home. He hugged me goodbye and said he was going to sleep it off and be fine tomorrow.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com