Chaos Attraction

Shrek Callbacks

2021-93031, 7:59 p.m.

I am fried after work today, but at least it's for normal reasons and not abnormal ones.

(a) Had to email a bunch of Important Documents today, not internationally.
(b) Most of the international Important Documents got mailed today, but then I was forced to go down a rabbit hole of "why don't the shipping labels match the names?" and crap like that. At least all of this more or less got solved by the end of the day, so that's something.
(c) I also had to order more Important Documents, but the computer program broke in the morning. Much to my shock, it actually got fixed, so I then placed the order.
(d) And THEN a guy who's already had his Important Document lost internationally once, who I emailed two days ago to say, "It's gonna get lost again if we do this for free, if you want special shipping PLEASE ORDER IT WITHIN 24 HOURS, WE ARE DOING THIS ON WEDNESDAY," emailed me in a panic saying he hadn't done it, an hour after I placed the order. Of course I had to cancel the whole thing and start all over again, just for him. There is no reward for me being this nice at my job, for the record. I just didn't want to deal with him again in another month when it's lost again because international mail makes me want to cry every single day.
(e) My boss wants us all to have access to Tedious Financial Thing (wah, I don't want it) and we were forced to jump through several hoops today to get access to it, including, FOR NO GOOD REASON WHATSOEVER BECAUSE I DON'T WORK IN THE MEDICAL FIELD AT ALL, sit through an online class on HIPAA and then have to upload a certificate to prove that I passed it. This is where speed reading came in handy--also, frankly, their HIPAA class was a lot more low tech (didn't read aloud to me slowly and mandatorily for 25 minutes to an hour like these things usually do) and thus easy to speed read and click through in seven minutes. I fear for my mortal coworkers having to actually pay attention to the thing, though.

Also, for the record: DON'T SHARE ANYONE'S MEDICAL INFO. DO NOT PEEP AT A CELEBRITY IF THEY COME INTO THE HOSPITAL AND THEN TELL YOUR FRIEND. DO NOT PEEP AT YOUR COWORKER'S PREGNANCY TEST RESULTS AND THEN SHARE WITH ANYONE. Again, LITERALLY NOTHING THAT WOULD EVER HAPPEN AT MY JOB.

I had had plans to exercise on the patio after work, but the last hour drained me dry and I was starving hungry and then at 5 Dawn called to ask if she could come over and I was all "I am totally fried right now, can we please just like, do it this weekend?" Yay. She's getting her first shot next week and Loretta will be in the clear next week as well.

Oh, and if you remember Hamster Girl? She spontaneously quit today and we have no idea why. A week or two ago someone randomly mentioned, "oh, she's on leave" and yet, it was never announced to the entire office, which is weird. And now, this. It sounded like they were sad about her leaving in the email (she was nice), but wtf happened?!?!


Callbacks: they start at 7 p.m. and they are planning on going until "sometime between 10 and 11." Starting with the main character singing auditions and they're not even going to do the readings until 9:30. It's a good thing I'm already home and don't care. It's a shame I don't have popcorn, but this should be more lively than watching more YouTube.

Locations of others: Vegas, Idaho, San Diego, LA.

I have decided to watch and take my bets as to who gets what roles: Young Fionas: Christine was best, then Alliana, then Ariella, then Addison (ouch my ears). Teen Fionas: Not super blown away by any of them. Aubree sang a bit better but was cutting in and out, not sure if that was her or just Internet. Jadine had personality but not as good of a singer. Shohini: best of the singers and has personality. Shreks: Josh is so cute and handsome (obviously with someone though) that he doesn't seem Shrek-ish. Large voice, comedy overacting. Better. Definitely doing personality out the wazoo, so go Josh. I giggled watching him. Hugo seems most Shrek-ish, followed by Adam (kinda opera-singer-ish, can sing with Scottish accent). Carter somewhere in the middle type-wise...I can't even figure out his singing, something is weird here. Wouldn't cast him. Okay, Carter's better on the second go-round. They can't hear Hugo and are waving and yelling at the camera trying to get his attention. Hugo doesn't notice until he's done. He also has good booming voice. Either him or Josh for this one. (Josh needs to be a prince in Into The Woods. I would bet money he's done it. I can picture him doing "Agony!" very well.)

Fionas: hard to pick from this group, they're all pretty good. Andi: good singer. Does great facial disgust, anger. much belt. AWESOME sudden ogre voice Morgan: acts it out, belter voice. (also couple with Hugo, so.... Hannah: looks like snow white. good on singing, acts it out well too. throws papers all over the floor, love it. Elysse: much nerdier than I expect to be with josh. good on singing, acts it out. Arianna: good voice, a little less personality but does some.

Dragons: Morgan: good at both parts, I'd say. Arianna: Booming voice, Better for this than Fiona. Eren (Oscar): Booming voice! Acts it out. Dannette: oh, good singer for a nerd girl. Hannah: good but prefer her Fiona than dragon (just all right for a hot girl, doing that?) Beth Ellen: Does well on fierce voice and acting it out. Like her fiery velvet top. Rachel: has some kind of red tinsel curtain behind her. pretty booming voice too. good finish. There will be a "superimposed dragon," if they were doing it IRL they'd have people with sticks...."I was one week from doing it, I would have done it in Camelot," says Steve. "I will have Farquaad on fire." -Steve

Farquaad: Hugo: not bad but I prefer his Shrek Andy: Does cheerful evil well. Acts it out. I'd give it to Andy. Robert: um...this isn't good.... he's just normal.... Not very good and keeps having trouble. Jan was a soldier in Shrek once upon a time, loves his song in act 2

I will note that a lot of people with A-names are auditioning as Fionas. One kinda wonders.

Pinocchios/Gingy: "I can't imitate him." -Jan. Morgan: REALLY DOES THIS VOICE WELL. She's good at all of it but I feel like overall she's the best Pinocchio. Bridget: I'm not sure what ot make of her. Not quite as high pitched, does act it out a bit. Lauren: definitely does high pitch well. Acts out the nose. Bad sound going on. Keeps stopping and redoing. Jadine: I'm not sure what's going on with her voice. Acts out face well. Robert: "you're going to have to use that voice the ENTIRE show." he doesn't know what voice to use yet. "you still interested in the part?" OH GOOD LORD THIS GUY IS KIND OF A MESS. OKAY, ACTUALLY HE JUST DID A DEAD ON PINOCCHIO LIKE IN THE MOVIE HOLY SHIT THIS DUDE JUST IMPROVED A LOT.

She said that during Sound of Music "best laid plans" took longer than she thought and people were waiting in the waiting room for a long time.

They mostly adjourned until 9:30. Ooookay then. One guy came in late (wasn't answering his phone an then got totally lost and then other people were chiming to help him, even the competition. That's nice.

Donkey is already cast. (Poor Oscar.)

....Yeah, in the end I ended up reading two lines, period. Ah well. If I don't make it in, I don't make it in. Can't say what with all the characters that there's many lines to read aloud :P I have no idea how they'd pick who does what parts on the fairytale creatures, though. Could end up with literally anything. I tried to do funny voices as the elf and Humpty Dumpty, that's all I got :P


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com