Chaos Attraction

I GOT IN A SHOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2019-04-02, 9:59 p.m.

Today’s work drama:

* There was some kind of cross-county car chase that ended by a van plowing into a bus today. The bus passengers are fine, the bus is not, the town is amused.

* Someone came into our office and when asked to describe the person who helped him, made a “va-va-va-voom” shapely woman figure. I can only presume that Jessica Rabbit now works in our office. We still don’t know who he actually thinks he talked to, other than we are pretty sure it wasn’t GQ.

* I mentioned New Girl’s hamster? Well, good thing I haven’t done any hamster names, because he might be dead. Apparently he hasn’t moved in days. BUT apparently hamsters can and will go into hibernation mode if they are too cold, and then they look dead, and then get buried and...

Yeah, suddenly I am having all kinds of thoughts about when my hamster died (or is it “died?”) in college. I feel like even more of an asshole about that one now!

Anyway, her friend is watching the hamster today and putting all kinds of heat on around it and playing it music in hopes it revives. If not, New Girl is definitely gonna replacement goldfish this before her kid notices.


I GOT IN THE SHOWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I can’t wait on suspense for that, I gotta say it, I screamed it in the car on the way home, I texted that to everyone who cares in my phone.

I GOT IN THE SHOWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So yeah, for the callback, everyone who got called back is definitely in, so now she’s thinking on who gets what parts.

First off, we had to go stand in the middle of a circle and do some kind of showoff pose while announcing our name and then being applauded. I freaking loved that. Next, we had to do tongue twisters in different voices.

Then we had more singing--I attempted to do “Right Here Waiting” with someone playing the piano, but I have never sung with someone playing before and he and I were not on the same rhythm as the song playing in my head. Oh well. Lord knows I am an average singer at best, but I went for Lincoln’s “if you can’t sing, sing louder” directive from musical improv. Then Linda (the director! I have a director!) wanted me and Michelle and Cameron to sing “Oh Bla Di” again and be hammy. Fine by me. The dudes also were very hammy doing this.

Then after the singing, she had people do improv of various characters in the show. She had me doing the mother of the bride. I don’t know on that casting (or at least I don’t look like anybody’s mother), but I certainly know how to do enthusiastic dominating mother. She asked toward the end if anyone wanted to do some other parts that she hadn’t tried out and I volunteered to do Sister Albert Maria. So she had me do a scene with Tina in which I was secretly envious of her wedding. I think I was okay, at least, who knows.

She said that everyone was cast in the show, we could take the playbooks, she’d let us know what part we are playing later. So we shall see there.

Notable fact: there are two dudes named Scott in the show. The younger Scott is apparently “the heir to the yarn fortune” of the yarn and fabric stores down the street. So far I am very amused by his acting. The older Scott is what we call A Character. As in, both times I have seen him so far, likes to brag that he did a lot of drugs in the seventies. I somehow get the feeling we shall hear about this a lot. Therefore, I shall dub him That 70’s Scott to distinguish. I am also amused by his acting in a very different fashion.

Other fun folks were Jean, who seems to be as gung ho as I am, Cameron, who is also a yarnie, and Michelle, who was pretty dang hilarious tonight as Maddie the stripper. More people to come later, I think.

Anyway... I GOT IN A SHOWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(Does this count as the blessing thing from Monday?)


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com