Chaos Attraction

Masks Are The New Bra

2021-04-03, 8:12 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Angry, Raucous and Shamelessly Gorgeous - 2021-04-08
Here For The Insurance - 2021-04-07
The Monitor - 2021-04-06
Shrek Rehearsal - 2021-04-05
Pandemic Easter Number Two - 2021-04-04

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

I am in a lazy mood. I haven't done much today. Didn't work out. Just watched videos and went outside to knit for awhile. I finished Jabby the Friendly Syringe. I photographed the Easter eggs.

Dawn came over for about a half hour to give me a mask-themed fancy card ("Masks are the new bra: They aren't comfortable, you only wear them in public, people will notice when you DON'T wear one, and you can now get them in every color pattern and style." She was all "I had to get that when I found it.) and some fancy scissors and we hung out by her car for a bit. Her first shot is Monday. She is staying up until the wee hours of the night and sleeping all day and doing whatever the hell she wants in retirement. I'm happy for her.

Kelly tried to watch "Sensitive Guys," hated it (said it reminded her too much of her job) and quit watching it. Ah well.

Tonight I had storytelling events. First one was Capital Storytelling:

Abby: "I am not the sort of person who talks about her car lease on the first date." And "I'm kind of dating the Grim Reaper, we're not exclusive...." which is to say that she's obsessed with death due to her OCD. "One day I would like to sign a fucking car lease with someone!"

John: "This wasn't the parenting experience I had signed up for." Baby in the NICU. But they grow up, become teenagers, and get bratty on a road trip, y'know?

Liz: "Maybe I'm not smart enough to finish college" after someone told her she wasn't smart enough. She did manage to get into a UC, got some kind of top student award, went on to her master's....and then she runs into the guy who said it at Baja Fresh. Of course he doesn't remember her or saying that. She still has that "I'm not smart enough" voice in her head any more, it's just not THAT GUY's voice.

Carolyn: got told she was a genius, got all kinds of stress illness, had to learn to eat right from a book to stop shitting herself all the time. "What came out of me smelled like perm solution." (In all honesty, I hit the grossout point here, but I had to quote that line.) This made me feel extremely guilty about the cream cheese and potato chips I have sitting next to me. Then it went into dark territory. "She died because of my recommendation of the book. She needed to take that really gradually."

Jane: "There's gonna be people there smoking pot. What do we do about Mother?" Mom later: "We went to a marijuana party! It was absolutely nothing like you'd think!" Everyone was just acting like a normal person while smoking! "I just hope my old age is half as interesting as the old age of my mother."

Then later I did the Foothill Storytelling Guild event, which Mark invited me to. We had some discussion over whether or not you have to also tell folk tales in addition to real life ones (one lady, Beverly, was told this) and I was all, "man, I've been to enough storytelling festivals the last few weeks and I am feeling so sick of folk tales.... I'll tell a history story if I ever go there."

Beverly: involves an igloo and a rocket and NASA.... and outdoor restrooms.... for 48 hours.... "From the rocket to the igloo, they used extension cords!" And watch out for squirrels! She talked about teachers applying for the space program...and well, Challenger, you know. She was comforting Christa McAuliffe's mother, Grace.

John: all the family gathering when mom is dying. Dying parent stories are not my favorite, we'll leave it at that.

Then I went, did my bad Gumbo audition story, it was liked :)

Don: did a story based off the prompt, "once all the villagers decided to pray for rain, but only one person came with an umbrella, that was faith." Made it more real life and about wooing.

Andy: his summer of adventures with the boys circa 1973, drinking Southern Comfort and crashing the car in New Jersey, with no money. They had to get a factory job out there. The nice guy who got them the job got in trouble after they fucked off a bit and wrote on one of the parts, but he ended up okay. "Then he invited us to go to the original Playboy Club...."

Chery: "The rabbits, they're eating our corn!" (Reminds me of the movie "Seems Like Old Times.") "These were the only birds in the world that laid SQUARE EGGS." "Twenty square eggs hit the dirt." These birds scared off the jackrabbits. But then you can't get rid of the birds....

Mark: talked about Miss Lillian Carter and her first interview as the mother of a president, having no idea what she's getting into... OR DOES SHE?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com