Chaos Attraction

The Lost City

2022-04-03, 2:00 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Half of the Show - 2022-04-08
The Temps Are Gone - 2022-04-07
Praise Satan - 2022-04-06
Peron's Latest Whore - 2022-04-05
Finish On Cake - 2022-04-04

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Oh goody, I wake up this morning to find out there was a shooting in downtown Sacramento, but one of my FB friends is okay and the other wasn't in the area! Oy vey. Last night during intermission Scott and I were talking about cities (mostly ones we'd been to on the East Coast, not a lot) and we'd both been to Boston and I said that Boston and Honolulu are the only two I haven't felt wigged out on the streets of, though SF scares me pretty frequently ("depends on the area," he said, and I agreed there) and Sacramento mostly doesn't wig me out. And then this happens. It wasn't QUITE the area I used to hang out in all the time--I used to hang out around 20th when I was at the Comedy Spot and this is around 10th by the Golden 1--but still, close enough to make you think "Well, I've gone out there once in awhile."

A few weeks ago I signed up to decorate a tile at DMTC (they have handmade tiles on the walls). Today I went to go check the info and it was gone off the website, which seemed a little weird. Then I drove over there and the place was UTTERLY NO PEOPLE there, so um....I guess it got canceled? So weird. So I didn't totally waste the gas, I got groceries on the way back and also hit a thrift store, where I bought a plain purple shirt for no good reason.

I ended up bumming it on my patio/taking a walk/reading/knitting for most of the day, but I did take advantage of having a day off to go see "The Lost City" movie. Not too many people in there, but at least they were masked. This is definitely reminding me of "Romancing the Stone/Jewel of the Nile" with a romance novelist/archaeologist/language expert (something like that...) named Loretta getting kidnapped by an obsessed rich dude who wants to find a lost treasure that the author mentions in her latest book. Her cover model Alan is secretly in love with her, but he's kind of a non-intellectual himbo (but a sweet and earnest one) and Loretta still mourns her dead archaeologist husband, so she doesn't particularly give a crap about him. However, he insists on coming to her rescue--and to his credit, he does find a guy (Brad Pitt, not in this much but certainly memorable when he is) to help rescue her. After he's...no longer in the picture SOMEHOW, I'll leave it at that, Alan and Loretta are forced to make their way through the jungle and/or look for the treasure. It works. It's pretty fun, would recommend. I'm not particularly into Channing Tatum, but boy, does he make that character someone you root for even if he's kind of a bohunk. Well, I dunno on stupid, just kinda naive/not educated. But he tries! He's sweet and he tries!

Evita rehearsal: boring boring boring. We did "Santa Evita" (I stand around and oogle over my child getting touched by Eva Peron!). We did "The Chorus Girl Hasn't Learned" in which we stand around with drinks and cigs again. Eva pours a drink on one girl's head and steals the cig of another.

We did the last three numbers, in which Arielle, Rhiannon and I am supposed to put clothes on Evita and presumably do something with her dead body. Super exciting and very difficult to playact right now without clothes or a bed. Oh yeah, and once again (I feel like they've made this discovery multiple times by now?), somehow multiple people have different sets of music from each other (specifically, the musical director has different from the rest, the score and book are different) and nobody knows why since it's all the same company.

Scott mostly avoided me and sat far away during break. 'Nuff said to that. Did talk to him a bit after the show about rehearsing and whether or not he's going to do set construction (depends on work). Did get one hug.

Quotes:

"We want no evidence of us singing." -Scott

"That still sounded good." -Jonathan in shock

We either love Eva or hate her in every scene. "I do both," Sage says.

"Did you just pour champagne on her head?' -Steve

"I think if we just all sing loudly and wrongly..." -Rhiannon

Scott is trying to nitpick notes. Isaiah's advice: "Do what's easiest, that's what I did!"

Arie's out again tonight. "Arie is out gambling." -Jan.

At one point, Jan is going on about how right now she'd rather see us be enthusiastic than get the notes right. So the inevitable happens with that. Me. "You wanted enthusiasm over right..." Also me: "Let's just make a noise and go."

Sage: "Steve, can you play one of the kids?"

Scott: "I have nothing to do with this."

Steve: "We lost our son and don't know where he is. I tried calling for him in Yiddish."

Steve: "Humans..." Rhiannon: "I think I'm exempt."

Jan: "Let's do this happy ending."

Rhiannon on Che: "He's yelling in our faces and we don't even care."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com