Chaos Attraction

Finish On Cake

2022-04-04, 2:06 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Bad Teaching - 2022-04-09
Half of the Show - 2022-04-08
The Temps Are Gone - 2022-04-07
Praise Satan - 2022-04-06
Peron's Latest Whore - 2022-04-05

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

We continue to drop like flies, as one of the temps got a permanent job elsewhere and is already gone. Though good for her, she seemed nice for the few conversations I had with her. We're down to...two managers, three career staff, one temp and one contract worker whose job ends next week when she goes on to another job. In Hell Week, Part 2. We're supposed to have three managers and six career, for the record. HAHAHAHAHAHAH. There are so many emails and I can't get to much of it and I am just ignoring the hard stuff entirely.

I'm getting complaints about "but why isn't MINNNNNNNNNNE done?" and the answer is, I can't find YOUR thing in an avalanche. And I have giant lists of things that have to get keyed that aren't even BUT THE EMAILS. Mostly I spent the day working on 5 different lists and keying a bunch of stuff that I apparently did wrong and mistook for something else. I can't ever get through a day without a fuckup.

Tailwind rehearsal got canceled for tonight, so I fucked off on the patio with reading and knitting. Had a conversation with Jackie about feeling unmotivated at work (how likely is she to get permahired with no budget, in her case), and I'm just focusing on the stuff I know how to do and can get done in five minutes, not the "hm, do I remember anything about how this is processed again?" I think I'm the only one with time to just work on paperwork all day since everyone else is on the phones all day. Joy.

,hr>

Evita rehearsal: BORING BORING BORING REHEARSED THE BEGINNING AND END OF ACT ONE BORING BORING BORING. Also, now Scott and I are positioned on opposite sides of the damn coffin and I don't even get close to him to hug him any more AND I'M ANNOYED AT THAT. and then the ladies got told to leave early so they could rehearse the men again and UGGGGGGGHHH THIS SHOW. It's like everything she does is to keep him as far away from me as fucking possible. (Which I would have been into at the start of Producers..oh, irony.)

Slightly more entertaining bit tonight: talking Gail Carriger books with Blonde Sierra and Rhiannon before the show.

Quotes:

"Hi, this is the dead center! Blocking the star!" or "how Scott gets moved to the other side of the coffin." SIGH.

"I KNOW WHAT NECKING IS!" -Jan, yelling it
"I've done my fair share." -Scott (thanks for sharing, sir)

"We don't do much." -Steve
"Story of the show." -me

"When I was in it in 2005 they made us keep our arms up all through Don't Cry For Me, Argentina." -Jan
"I felt really bad for you there." -Steve

Sage, Alisa and I snarked that Arie is back tonight "with milk and cigarettes."

"I'm a very violent child." -Jillian. Me: "I'm having flashbacks to babysitting."

"Am I a royal beefeater or punching bag?" -Arie on whether or not he's allowed to react to Che grabbing him. He's not. Me: "You get to beat him up later."

"Can someone go to the bathroom for me, please?" -Steve

"Che should target the children." -Sage

Jillian and Sage made up some conspiracy theory and now can't remember what it is. Me: "We need a new conspiracy theory to entertain us."

"Use the blue tape, the green gives me PTSD." -Steve

Steve and Jan told the story of some woman who just played Dead Eva in a coffin in Candide. Apparently this lady would walk up to Live Eva and say, "I'm going to be the dead you." The response: "That's really nice."

Arie wants to bend down for a long time at the coffin because he doesn't want to stand around for a long time. I pointed out he was blocking other people from also paying their respects if he did it on stage right. Him: "That's their problem." Sage suggested we all go to the OTHER side and do it instead. That worked.

Jillian and Evie were playing around in the coffinspace during break. "I was just being beaten by a child. And then thrown into a coffin. That's my life." -Jillian

I said to Jillian and Sage offstage, "Can you imagine what this would be like if this was taking place now?" "Che would be tweeting..." and then we were off to the races imagining his angry rage tweets about indoctrinating children.

Me to Rhiannon and Arielle during "A New Argentina." "We should get jobs in the administration! I've always wanted to be a dresser!"

"We're not in the bedroom?" -Jillian
"Technically we're not that kinky."-Steve
"We're in everybody's bedroom." -Jan

Steve notes that his line in A New Argentina, well..."as long as I finish on cake."

Jan broke out a scrapbook of shows so we could see what the "sets" of Evita are. Basically some furniture and a platform as far as I can tell. Costumes are either "worker" or "aristocrat." I want to ask for my black glittery Producers dress back since it would clearly fit in there.

I do enjoy the kids in this show. Sage, Jillian and Evie are all hilarious. Sage is snarky, which is absolutely what I want in a fake kid.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com