Chaos Attraction

Shrek Rehearsal

2021-04-05, 8:16 p.m.

Nothing to say about work today, it was all right, fairly quiet. Mostly I just set up comms and had meetings.

I finally got around to eating yesterday's brownies. Why is it that even when I follow the instructions and use a reasonable brand they still came out...ehhhh? They're better with ice cream, at least.

First night of Shrek rehearsal! There are 20 in the cast. Fun facts: Robert seems to know a lot of celebrities, Adam is a pro actor in LA who nearly died of Covid or at least notoriously posted his last words on Facebook about it (oy), Aubree's fun fact was "I like bread" (oh, honey) and her dad Carter's was "I love the smell of burned electrical equipment, because that's my job." Mary is the oldest and is in everything. Steve (co-theater-runner) is frantically editing things and thus not in rehearsal with us at the moment.

We just read through the script. I have one extra "part" as the greeter upon coming into Duloc. (Still more to do than Coney Island!) Mostly we just read the lines, but sometimes Jan (director) wanted people to read the song lyrics, so that was a bit confusing. But hey, it worked, whatever. I kind of feel bad for the kid/teen Fionas since they are literally in ONE PART OF A SONG AND THAT IS IT, but...short bedtime, I guess. Well, I think the teen one got other parts, the other one just went to bed!

Anyway, I was unthrilled to hear that they ONLY DO EVERYTHING ON FACEBOOK (they said this was in the contract you sign at the audition, but I don't think so?), so you MUST BE ON FACEBOOK AT LEAST TWICE A DAY grumblegrumblegrumble. Ugh, I have to reactivate my old hidden-from-my-former-bully account now. Waaaaaaaaah.

They did at least put a schedule up this week--I rehearse again Wednesday/Thursday. Though since they were gonna rehearse Fiona tomorrow and she was all "I said I can't do Tuesdays," um....well, maybe they redo that, I dunno. They rehearse Sundays through Thursdays, 7-10 p.m., which is A-OK by me, whew. Don't think that interferes with too much for me.

I am surprised to hear that they are NOT filming people in their theater, but "we're sending green screens home with you." I was all "Hey, just so you know, this is my kitchen, this is how much room I got," and Jan was all, that's fine, there's not THAT much moving in the dance numbers. Apparently they are filming the musical numbers/editing them and they are pre-done and then the actual acting is done live, which explains a lot. Andy, as Farquaad, sounds like he will have an interesting time of it. Like "possibly wearing green socks?" or "they shrink him?" or something like that.

Anyway....here we go! Should be interesting to see how the hell they are rehearsing group singing numbers in groups over Zoom. Like, the mind boggles.....


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com