Chaos Attraction

Angry, Raucous and Shamelessly Gorgeous

2021-04-08, 8:21 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Group Numbers Online - 2021-04-13
Earned Respect - 2021-04-12
Run and Scream - 2021-04-11
There Needs To Be A Play About This - 2021-04-10
The Psychic - 2021-04-09

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

I actually slept last night! Huzzah!

Today I put off THE EMAILS for as long as I could reasonably get away with doing. My boss wanted a bunch of statistics for a surprise midmorning meeting anyway, so I enjoyed having that excuse. I rewrote some procedures after my coworkers were all "Huh, we have no instructions for these?" And finally, I got to the emails I've been ignoring all week asking for feedback for the revised website.

I'll put it this way: there is a famous online comic about the difference between what information websites have on them vs. what information people actually WANT TO FIND ON THEM, and the Giant Org absolutely is one of those problem websites. I hate their redesign very much and of course, now ALL the websites have to have the same style, which I call Very Large Pretty Pictures. As in, they have HUUUUUUUGE PRETTY PICTURES all over the effing place and make it very difficult to find any useful information. I hate that my office website has to now follow the same style because all of Giant Org does. But seriously, the development version of our webpage? EVEN WORSE. It kinda gives me a bit of glare headache and everything on it is huuuuuuuuuuuge. Like I have giant monitors at work and if I make the entire browser take up the entire page, I still can't view all the info on one screen. I would not want to use it on a laptop and I shudder to think what it does on a phone (though I refuse to check, my business is complicated enough that I would not look for crap for it on a phone). Like seriously, I think it's fairly unusable like that. And the webmaster forwarded one email of complaints to everyone and it looked like at least one other person complained about it, so...what the hell, so did I. And I sent in various cut off screenshots to boot.

Also a mystery: why is the HUUUUUUUUUGE PRETTY PICTURE that takes up the entire webpage screen...of some other building that does not house our office? This seems extremely confusing to the noobs. Our building is actually more photogenic, so why not use that?

I presume it might tick him off that I said this stuff, but at the very least, the sizing is bad. I'm not even sure if he can fix that or if he's just supposed to collect complaints and send them to be ignored by whoever. Probably the latter. Anyway, I was originally not going to bother sending a critique at all, but writing one was still a lot more entertaining than THE EMAILS.

Oh yeah, and if you recall my mentioning a website that had nothing on it but "contact Jen's office if you have questions?" They slightly changed that to "contact Jen's office if you have questions regarding the subjects their office actually works on." I did discover that for some crackassed reason, they seem to have two versions of their event website. Literally it's something like "event.giantorg.com" and then "giantorg.com/event." The hell, and why? And those are not just two URL's to the same thing, but two different pages. One of which actually has a very helpful "We're still determining whether or not we can hold events this year, but we might, stay tuned" sort of message on it. GREAT! That's really cool! I totes approve of that! But why didn't you also put it on the other webpage, which is still the world's shortest FAQ of "contact Jen's office?" HMMMMMMMMM.

Mom called to say that her friend Pat--the one with Lili the corgi that moved to San Diego--well, her husband Tony just randomly died quietly today at home. That's out of nowhere. She said she's still in shock.

On a happier note, I got a thank-you card from Sarah Brown about Baby Yoda, that was delightful :) I also wrote Cameron a letter about getting into Shrek.

After work I watched "Angry, Raucous, and Shamelessly Gorgeous." Phylicia Rashad appears to be having fun as a diva-y actress known for performing naked monologues. She's been working in Europe for a long time but just got booked for a festival gig in Atlanta...outdoors, where it's raining. Oops. I'm very amused at the remark about how "if you're out of toilet paper, that's the only thing people will remember." The producer refers to her guy as "my almost-fiance." HMMMM. "I really like him. He's so...not an asshole." OH HEY, YOU HAD THIS ACTRESS FLY OVER HERE AND NOBODY TOLD HER SHE WASN'T PERFORMING? THE FUCK? Unfortunately, she's taken up alcoholism and isn't getting gigs any more, so....OUCH. So who's performing it? Uh....a newbie who spends a lot of time being naked.... a pole was involved.... Hey, why don't we introduce her to Anna? "I don't think that's a good idea." I guess the title is the name of the festival, as Pete (the stripper) liked it because it sounds like her life. Hah. She believes in everything because if one thing can be real, why can't all of them? Alas, Pete is not knowledgeable about the works of August Wilson, but she memorizes easily. And then..."I think you missed the point." UH-OH. This Pete girl is cracking me up and then I wait for explosions. "The pole?" HEHEHEHEHEHEH. "You're not risking anything" by being naked all the time, Anna says. She does not approve and she calls the police to complain about the show. They won't do anything until something actually happens. Anna will keep you posted. "I can't believe she called the police on her own work." I'm amused that after their conversation, Pete put on a ballgown and did some August Wilson on the roof of the Margaret Mitchell house. Good job, girl. "I just wanted Miss Anna to know I could take a risk." I will note that the producer believes in ghosts and she thinks August Wilson is unhappy and haunting the production because it's raining buckets for the outdoor festival. I cracked up when Anna made a crack that she felt like she was IN one of his plays after Pete did that. "I don't want to be a cranky old lady who sends the police to arrest an angel." (I do wish they could have SHOWN the roof scene, though. Maybe they can't do that with the monologue from someone else's work?)

My schedule just freed up--Steve canceled rehearsal because he's still editing this weekend's show. Ah well! We'll find out how Zoom group singing goes in 2 weeks, I guess! I went outside to walk around and exercise after that. I think I am gonna have to hit the FedEx this weekend to print out the script for rehearsal notes, though. Can't make them on a PDF in Dropbox. I tried to figure out which pages I need vs. pages of stuff I'm not in (all the Fiona/Shrek/Donkey scenes at least, not sure if I crop up in the rest as an extra/guard/whatever in everything) and that started to break my brain, so I might just give up and print 119 pages individually for pay, uck. We'll see.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com