Chaos Attraction

It's Not A Cat Toy!

2022-04-13, 2:35 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Hiring Is Still In Progress - 2022-04-18
Badonkadonking - 2022-04-17
The Cockroach of Community Theater - 2022-04-16
That Callback Guy - 2022-04-15
Bacon Number Three - 2022-04-14

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Today's work drama: I typed a Y instead of a N (god knows why) and had three people contacting me ASAP in a panic to fix it within 5 minutes, and then I fixed it and it still didn't save, and .... arghhhhhh. Other than that: more emails, and attempting to fix the goddamned Special Crap for HOURS because my teammates apparently didn't finish a good chunk of them before their departures. Someone asked on the chat today when we are getting a new specials coordinator and I wanted to post the shrug emoji, the question mark emoji, and the crying emoji in response. I really hate when I clear out all the easy crap and then there's literally nothing left but the special crap that I have maybe 10% of a clue about.

On a not-my-drama-I-just-got-cc'd-on-it issue, my boss said "can someone explain to (redacted) how (complicated billing crap) works?" and dude got ALL SNITTY and brought up his PhD and said he felt like his intelligence was being insulted, and ... yeah, he misspelled "bureaucracy." And I wanted to laugh my head off. Someone else on the email chain apologized for it, I sent her a sympathy email, and she said the guy continued to rip her a new one even after her apology. The joys of working here.

My old coworker Luis who was applying at the police department...well, I received another evaluation form from a different police department. I guess the first one didn't take him. Darn it.

An online friend of mine is having some upsetting stuff going on with someone lately and it's very concerning. The person is having a lot of emotional issues, picking fights, demanding more attention and online friend frankly, sounds like she's at her limit on what she can give. It felt very abuse-ish and well...oh yeah, reminds me of my life because online friend is having fights go on, my parents had fights go on....it's no way to live.

On the other hand, I am watching The Kominsky Method per Steve's recommendation and it is a delight. Kind of the men's/actor's version of Grace and Frankie (still need to finish that). I'm trying to remind myself that I'm not suicidal after 5 p.m. (well, 6) and there's other things in the world besides sucking at my job (and sucking at acting).


10 minute play rehearsal: this went pretty smoothly, all things considered. The band is crammed in on one side of the stage and play in between numbers. I'm amused that most of the numbers actually kinda fit with the shows. "Fly Me To The Moon" after the play in outer space, Pink Panther for the beginning of Hamlet, then followed by "Going To The Chapel" (I was NOT thrilled at that song choice). Before Janene's monologue was "Yesterday", followed by "Strangers In The Night." For those wondering, the song for Tailwind was "Don't Know Much About" (I forget the official title of it, but you know what song this is), with the horns getting particularly farty at the start.

Nancy brought Bridget a gray haired wig, which Janene was all, "You look good. Don't wear it in public..." and Nancy was all "I don't want her to be a crazy lady. I have you guys." Nancy also made up a Galveston High sign and a Principal sign for the door.

The directors get to do some introduction before the shows. Rodney got colorful about his: For Dark Matter: "This best part is that one has alcohol." For Hamlet: Something about great actors, followed by "unfortunately I had to go with these guys..."

Rodney was directing Scott during the rehearsal, which got a bit hilarious when at one point he did the Urinetown "Whaaaaaaaaaat?" and I was all "only you and me are gonna get that one."

Later Rodney thought Scott forgot his lines and Scott was trying to do dramatic pauses. When Rodney cued a bit too fast, Scott was all "I'm acting! Why am I here? Come on!" That got a big laugh.

There's also now an hourglass on the desk, which Scott started spinning about. Rodney: "IT'S NOT A CAT TOY!"

We did the revised Tailwind per Janene's idea of having us switch seating. This mostly worked great except I felt I was too sideways to the audience. Janene said she felt same and would cheat her chair out and suggested I do the same. At one point we felt like we got off a bit, but I guess we were fine. The fart app did go off on me unexpectedly at one point, but it worked with the scene and I love it when something accidental happens but it works with a scene.

As for the other shows: Dark Matter was very interesting/creepy--there's some loud machine-y noise going off during most of it, and then when it turns off, it's ominous. Yes, they do drink a lot and have pet names and it gets progressively creepier! Janene did the "Slow Dating" monologue and gave me her script for prompting, she did not need it. Wow. Jorge Does Chanukah was very touching.

I did attempt to talk Scott into going to set building--said they were too short staffed last weekend to go but he might this weekend. I said we need him since I'm useless and we hardly had anyone. I'm jealous that he gets to do the dance number, meanwhile he's all "and my knees." Well, good luck with that one. Otherwise, he sat with Cameron all night, followed her to her car...as usual, acts like they're a couple. Gaaaaaaaaaaaawd I hate that. And of course the three dramatic kisses in the damn 10 minute play, grumble grumble. I screamed in the car on the way home again. He will always like her first, he will always like her better, if he likes anyone at all.

WHERE IS THE GUY FOR ME ALREADY?!?!?! WHERE IS THAT ONE?!?!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com