Chaos Attraction

First Day of Freedom

2021-04-14, 8:31 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
The Other Side - 2021-04-19
Freak Flag - 2021-04-18
Breaking Bad - 2021-04-17
Office Shenanigans - 2021-04-16
Battle of Farquaad - 2021-04-15

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Work drama: we now have to watch a video for next week, in which we meet with a counseling office on dealing with distressed people. This unfortunately became relevant to the job immediately today.

Adventure Girl's report on the wedding: she mentioned the dress ripping, but also she mentioned catching the bouquet. "She hit me right in the face with the bouquet too. I forgot that she's a college athlete and has plenty of coordination." Right after that she said to her boyfriend, "Where's my ring?" Also, "it's been five years, there's plenty of pressure." I feel sorry for her. Five years, they're living together for years, he seems to have some kind of out of town job.... dude, what's the holdup? What else do you need to know? Ugh, just...men....I haven't heard anything bad about her boyfriend other than the stalling on marriage, mind you, but....

Hope reports that some girl has emailed her seven times within the last 24 hours asking if she is done with her work. The girl does not believe Hope no matter what she says and even said something along the lines of "use these specific words to make me believe you." I'm sure it doesn't help that our effed up processing system means that you are done in all but the barest technicality for two months and then it takes another two months for your Important Document confirming such after that, but this girl sounds waaaaaaaaay beyond that. I started looking up this girl and found out she has been stalking another office continuing to not believe them either, and one of them hit her limit and referred the girl to counseling. I was all, "I think you need to report this girl to counseling too." (Specifically, the above mentioned office.) After the girl started calling both offices--indeed, she has been reported.

YouTube just dug up this video for me out of nowhere. Sigh. It figures. Algorithms creep me out, man.

I heard from Jess today--she and Mike got J&J shots before they were shut down, but they're not concerned. I said that I'm not that concerned over the super rare blood clot thing, but I do think AstraZenica has been kinda confused and weird so I feel kinda side-eye-y about them. I will quote Jess on this: "They seem to have a very laissez-faire attitude. Like, “Meh. It’s a vaccine. What do you want from us? A good one?” Heh heh heh. I feel like that's the slogan for the AstraZenica Game of Thrones house, right there.

I told her the news, including no more crush no more, but I said uh, I found out from another source he's not into me. She thought he ah, passed on the news through someone else he was no longer interested and thought that was shitty, though she also said "he's probably relieved you're not texting at this point." Sad but true there, I'm sure. I liked this quote: "And I am very sorry that you’re hurting over a loss instead of being able to celebrate a positive connection." ME FUCKING TOO. I felt obligated to explain that uh, technically I haven't talked to him or anyone else at all about it, I paid a psychic. NO response from her on that one, which may be all for the best since I admit this is quite crackpot and she has gone atheist.


Today is my all clear day. Per the starting of the "Get Over The Agoraphobia" plan, I took my first walk outside in my neighborhood in over a year--it was almost 13 months, even, since my last day of doing it was March 17, 2020. I double masked, of course, and managed to not steam up my glasses, so yay there. I put on actual rainbow clothes and my new "Not today, virus, I'm vaccinated" button that I've been saving for this special occasion.

Honestly, the neighborhood hasn't changed much in a year except for the businesses. It's really weird to NOT BE OUT DOING THIS FOR OVER A YEAR but it's almost like nothing changed in the world. The library's closed, the preschool has a lot of signs about mask wearing on the door, the church says it's shut down except for online events, though I will note that children were obviously decorating the walkways with chalk for Easter, so I dunno how many people came over for that. Surgical masks are randomly on lawns here and there. One house in the neighborhood is getting a new front on. The neighborhood hoarder house is still just as hoard-y as it ever was. I walked by Florie's house and the kids were clearly chalking a welcome message for the grandparents, who I assume they just reunited with. They also have a sign out declaring it "Free Speech Street."

Other than that stuff, nothing much has changed outside, except seeing people outside (mostly) wearing masks, and I still felt just as obligated to cross the streets to avoid them. Which is to say I still went OMG PEOPLE FEAR! upon seeing other humans, mind you. I do notice that you don't see too much stuff on the streets any more (other than masks) that have been dropped, or whatever.

I saw a ton of hearts and a few rings. Kids are chalking the streets with them. Heart stickers on cars and signs. I saw one car with a bunch of broken heart stickers on it and I was all, "I am this car." I suppose that's more passive signs than active signs (license plates, someone singing to me, a book dropping on someone's head), though, but still, sigh. Maybe my actual love is around here somewhere, but didn't see him today. I wouldn't be able to recognize me these days anyway. I walked for over 10,000 steps today--again, something else I haven't done over a year. I wasn't feeling it until I got into the 9000 range, at least.

After I got home, the karaoke group text was activated--karaoke is opening again at the bar on April 27, who's interested? I didn't know what to say. Then Redhead Sarah chimed in saying she'd go ('and by interested, I mean you're making my dreams come true") but her kid custody schedule changed so she has the kids now--but hell with it, she'll drag the kids and her new giant nanny emotional support dog Blueberry along too!

(She got a dog and I didn't even know?! Very cute dog. You-know-who would really like it, but...)

Technically speaking I do not know if I could go or not, what with Shrek rehearsal technically being 7-10 those nights--though so far it's been very intermittent, obviously. Plus uh, SHOULD I EVEN BE DOING THAT THESE DAYS EVEN IF FULLY IN THE CLEAR? I did ask Sarah and she said they've been using outdoor space at the bar. I guess one way or the other I at least have an excuse to not go. I'M SO CONFLICTED Y'ALL HAVE NO IDEA. (Though hey, at this point I wouldn't have to worry about you-know-who being there. Possibly ever again, really. And if it's outside, then less bad?) Nobody else responded to the group text, so who knows there. Sarah and I may be the only ones vaccinated in the bunch for all I know.

Anyway, I asked if she wants to get together this weekend--I offered Saturday afternoon/night whenever I get done with play stuff and she gets done getting another tattoo--so we'll see. Shooting for the night time, I guess. Her, me, and the doggie. God, I hope it happens because I HAVE STUFF TO SAY. I'm not sure if this will happen or not, but we'll see.

I did look at the bar's webpages and it sounds like they've been outside the whole time. Thank goodness. Well, that makes me feel less bad on ah, going, should I go.

I bought myself more vaccination buttons on Etsy: a Baby Yoda and a corgi butt one for myself and a Disneyland one for Mom (per Jess's suggestion). I saw one that said "2021 Goals: Get vaccinated. Wear pants. Go outside," which I seriously considered had I not already paid for three other buttons.

My "Get Over The Agoraphobia" Goals: (a) Go walk around the neighborhood again. (b) Go eat outside at a restaurant. (c) See my mom and/or Roger again now that they are fully vaccinated. (d) Go see old friends that are fully vaccinated. (e) Go meet at least one new friend for the first time IRL once fully vaccinated. (f) Hamilton, in large indoor crowded theater circa September.

Possible other goals: karaoke?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com