Chaos Attraction

Bacon Number Three

2022-04-14, 2:37 p.m.

I got my car washed last night. Time for it to rain! Okay, not really: it sprinkled but that was about it. Had to walk to work in it though :P

Work today: more lists, more mail, more cleaning up stuff my coworkers apparently neglected to do before their departures. I think my boss wasn't super thrilled to find more half-finished stuff like I did yesterday. I met two coworkers IRL for the first time, both times at the bathroom.

I got to see a faked Important Document today, which made me laugh at the misspellings. The temp who found it and showed it to me spotted them first, and we laughed. My boss showed me the email she sent reporting it to authorities, with commentaries on the spelling.

We had yet another goodbye party, during which I found out that my coworker's husband (who I also know, so let's call him one degree of separation)'s dad is some kind of military lawyer and Kevin Bacon's character in A Few Good Men was based on him and hung out with him. This makes my official Bacon (degrees of separation) Number to be three. I told this to Yemi later, making her Bacon Number four.

The aforementioned leaving coworker is going into the Air Force to become a paralegal (don't ask me to explain that one), which concerns me because she's an adorable, cheerful person and I really hate the idea of her being screamed at and smushed by the military. Not that I'll be around to see it, mind you. I hope she's not smushed. She did say she tends to smile during serious moments and was told NOT to do that. Our new coworker who was in the military was all "don't let it faze you" and Lioness was on the Zoom and said "don't get offended when they insult your mother and dog." I note that when Lioness was asked how the new job was going, she looked tired and said she was learning a lot of new things every day.

The coworker (has a distinctive name but I don't think I ever nicknamed her here and it's kinda late to start now) has to drive back here tomorrow from LA to turn in her computer, she said she'd bring some kind of fancy bread to those of us in the office. So that will be nice. She said she really loved this job and considered it a positive experience. I...just don't understand that. Like admittedly she's kind of a human bouncy boppy toy that just keeps bouncing back up again and being yelled at her probably doesn't faze her like it does me, but...how come it's so good for her and so bad for me? God, I suck.

On my way to Covid testing and back today, I saw the following: (a) chalked hearts on the sidewalk (b) a license plate saying I Heart ATown (Auburn, apparently) (c) I found a button with a heart on it. (d) I found a bow with a heart bead sewn onto it.

So THAT continues.


After work: Happily, Tomas and Brunette Sierra sent out an invite to get together for dinner and then go to see Rocky Horror tomorrow, so I get to go to that! Yay! I was hoping some Urinetown folks would want to. I wanted to go but not alone. (I tried sending Scott a "look, they brought back Rocky" message last night and of course got no response...not that I was going to ask him, of course.) Now I gotta figure out what to wear to work and then to Rocky with no change of outfit time. Hmmmm.

10 minute play rehearsal. Dress rehearsal today. I note that Ana (in the sci-fi one) has on a white brassy wig and a shiny silver top. I'm amazed I recognized her from across the room, glasses off, wearing a wig, from behind. Bridget tried out the new wig. Cameron was all "why bother, I'm not getting photographed because Scott's not here" and I said "eh, whatever you're normally wearing is fine for your shows."

Linda got exposed to Covid on Tuesday. But per the new county court order TODAY, nobody quarantines! Ever! facepalm. I think everyone who had a mask on them broke it out after that announcement, so Cameron and I were no longer alone. Janene was all "just when you thought it was safe to take your mask off," and I was all "yeah, this is exactly why I'm not." I had it off to do the play and eat a chicharrone (Nancy brought some) and that was about it.

Cameron does not like having her picture taken either and apparently let out an audible groan at work (her boss thought someone died) when she came across it in the paper last week. She said "it's like when you look at the moon, it looks fine, but when you take a picture of it..." and I was all ME TOO! to this.

I made some snark to her about how I don't get how her character walks in engaged and within ten minutes is making out with a dude three times. Her: "I have been working on her. I don't know."

Bridget and Janene and I rehearsed before the rehearsal and decided to throw in some more glances and another fart machine moment. We managed to get through lines pretty well, huzzah.

Rodney had some ah...different...introductions for his plays tonight: Before Dark Matter: "This is the first one because you'll forget by the end how much it's gonna suck." Before Hamlet: "If you're still here, great! This one is a little bit better because it has a damsel in distress."

Linda suggested we all dance during the bows at the end. Cameron: "I haven't tangoed in years. Court order."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com