Chaos Attraction

That Callback Guy

2022-04-15, 2:38 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Why Bother - 2022-04-21
Come Get Your Screw, Baby - 2022-04-20
Hiring Is Still In Progress - 2022-04-18
Badonkadonking - 2022-04-17
The Cockroach of Community Theater - 2022-04-16

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Work: in office again. I note that at this point we have three "docking station" offices. I have been using my old office the last few weeks, but got told yesterday I can't use it because a docking station is being installed in there. So I went into (for purposes of this story) Office B, and my laptop just refused to fucking boot up for over a half hour. Screen would not turn on for more than a few seconds, I had to hit reboot a ton of times, and when I plugged it into the setup, the screen went out again...I got fed up and moved back into Office C, where the docking station didn't even look fully set up.
At this point my old boss Monica (from years ago) walks by, I'm obviously in distress, she rounds up the other office techies to figure this crap out, we figure out Office C is missing a cord, almost end up stealing one from another office...finally my laptop stays on with the screen, Penguin Girl figures out the monitors, this is over an hour.

Unfortunately Penguin Girl reported this whole thing to my boss, who then wanted a private conference about how it shouldn't take that long to get set up in the morning (well, duh, but the laptop being weird at least is not my fault) and possibly she thought I was an idiot for not noticing that the monitors in B had been turned off (I was all, I didn't even get that far in that office, also why would they be turned off?), then she was all, if you keep having problems you're going to have to come into the office every day. GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR.

On a better note, my departing coworker came in for awhile and brought concha bread, which I hadn't had before and was a delight, I ate 4 and took 2 more home. I'm told they don't have any good stuff here, just in LA, sigh. I had a long talk with her that was fun. She was all "good luck, with everyone leaving" (tell me about it). I hope the military doesn't crush her. Hopefully she'll be all right.

On the funny side, she is going into the military to work on her law career and we talked about A Few Good Men, which she has not seen. I mentioned the Kevin Bacon thing and she wants to contact that dad, and said all she really knows about it is Tom Cruise and "YOU CAN'T HANDLE THE TRUTH!" and I said the other memorable line in that for me is the "dime bag worth of oregano," and she said one of her roommates actually DID that.

Workload: spent hours fixing something for another office, that and emails were most of the day. Oh yeah, and eating concha bread.

I found another heart on campus today--okay, several, chalking and sculptures--but I found a shiny glitter heart BEHIND A BENCH. That's weird.

DMTC has relaxed their protocols--don't care on vax cards, masks are optional in the audience. SIGH.


Rocky Horror was a delight. I met up with Tomas and (Brunette) Sierra at Woodstocks (I note I later ran into Rae/Ashley/Bea there, Rae was in a straight up bonnet she got at Sutter's Fort and I said I have to show her my bonnet later) and we had a great time talking theater dish. I heard some scandals, some dramas, learned which theaters to avoid, ahem (apparently the one in Fairfield has bullies and they have not been nice to Katrina about performing there? Oy).

We got there early and Sierra, as the "virgin" had to pop a balloon while faking an orgasm. Not too bad, I'd say. She lived, anyway!

Clocky and Andy (who is apparently a HUGE FAN, Tomas told him this was going on a half hour before show time and he made it over there and even across the aisle from us) came in to the show later. Clocky was in the way back, in a bowler hat, with ONE eye made up but not the other. I gather he brought over people but I didn't meet them.

Andy was HUGELY memorable as he is That Callback Guy and he had some fucking fabulous ones. I even started making up my own toward the end, which Sierra liked.

James made a super sexy Rocky, I gotta say. With the makeup on, really looked like Tim Curry. Also James had on huge heels that he ran up and down the stairs in multiple times. (Afterwards he said they were falling apart and had to be taped on in the first place!) The shadowcast did a great job and I laughed my head off at all of it. I haven't been to a shadowcast in years and years--the last two Rockys I've seen were stage versions--and I was all "DAMN this movie's even weirder than I remember now."

It was a blast. Too bad the next one is during Evita. (Also too bad Scott didn't respond, but...who knows, maybe he didn't want to go if I was for all I know.)


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com