Chaos Attraction

Smart People?

2021-04-21, 8:52 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Yet Another Mixed Bag Day - 2021-04-27
Mawwidge - 2021-04-26
Today's Drama - 2021-04-25
Almost Like Normal Out There - 2021-04-24
Regiment #1 - 2021-04-22

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

You know it's a good day at work when you can't recall anything really bad to say about it! Probably the best part of the day was telling my boss I had a dream in which she was an action hero in a movie and she absolutely loved that. Huzzah.

After work, I walked around Northstar Park and the back end of the greenbelt again. I saw a few more weird things, including where someone has installed a blackboard to write daily sayings on (with bad puns). There is also a very lovely garden area that now has a sign talking about the gardener. So that's the changes today. Otherwise, people are out mostly in masks, doing outdoor things, and people are in groups...

Mostly I am figuring out the whole Birthday Thing. I found out there's an indie bookstore event thing (the more stores you go to, the more prizes you get, sort of thing, up to four) that I may try to make a run to. There's (new?) stores in El Dorado Hills and Folsom I hadn't even heard of. Mom sounds up for it.

Tonight I watched "Smart People," a play that takes place in early-mid 2008. We have Valerie the African-American actress, Jackson the African-American doctor, Ginny the Asian therapist, and Brian (White, literally) the professor. I'm not really sure what the plot is, but everybody mixes and mingles. Brian and Valerie date, Ginny and Brian date. Brian is trying to prove racism is biological and HOO BOY IS THAT EVER NOT GOING WELL, Ginny is trying to provide therapy for marginalized Asian-American women, Jackson kinda has 'tude going on every time he talks to someone, and Valerie's just trying to get parts and money and make her way through life.

"Fuck you! Was that disrespectful? If so, FUCK YOU!" "Tuna casserole has no class or (?) connotations." White guy and Asian girl introduce themselves: "Ginny. Half Chinese, half Japanese." "Brian WHITE." (Taking it literally.) "Are you Googling me in front of me?" "Brian White, race guy." "I get that a lot." "I'm a twoken." "Twoken?" "Token. Two-ken." Him: "I see your people everywhere. Asian people."

Actress meets doctor: "I've got a hole in my face! It's bleeding. It's a problem. My only way of getting out of debt hinges on my face not being jacked up!" "The cab driver said five stitches." "Oh. Well. The cab driver should know." She's in a Shakespeare show and he's all "our people" don't do Renaissance faires. "I promise to make them small and pretty. It'll be like you have a third eyebrow."

Brian the professor notes that in a class of 125 students, only three of them were of color. He let the three kids who "got it" out of class early... guess who they were...uh.....oh boy. I don't even know what to say to this. Later, Brian uses the actress in some study or other. "I want to prove that all white guys are racist." "Wowwww. It's kind of hot when a white guy says that." He notes that pretty much everyone else is only using white people in their studies. Jeebus.

"NO ONE doesn't remember ME," Valerie says, getting annoyed when she calls Jackson the doctor and he gives her some shit. "I'm beginning to regret giving you the number." "I'm beginning to regret calling it." Dude, don't act like that. "You did not trip and fall on top of a crack pipe!" Jackson is ticked at his sister. He very loudly threatens to kill the sister if she threatens his family...just as Ginny walks in. Awkward! "So what do you want?" "Bodies." "We're not a morgue."

The guys go play basketball. "You're not going to shower?" "I don't want to wash off my pheromones!" "I called a whole room full of undergrads racist. Then I called my dean racist." Then I basically called the entire institution racist....on NPR.... "I cut off a man's toe and then asked for my job back." "I don't tap ass! I make sweet love to a woman. Fuck you!"

Valerie and Brian boinked mid-first date. "I'm a fourth date girl." "So arbitrary!" "You LIKE that I'm black and articulate?!" "There were QUOTES around articulate."

"I'm just a white guy who wanted to know what it's like in my brain to be a white guy." "When I started to look into the heads of guys like me, even I was shocked." "That we see two different worlds blows my mind." "You clean houses because it's cute and it pisses off your mother!" Wow.

"Nurturing is for babies and plants." "That's hot." "I just gave you great sex and conversation! You're such a leech!" "Talk to me, don't just go home and order a new pairs of shoes!" "We're talking about my shopping habits because I won't stay here and spoon?" "A genius grant will not make your dick longer! I like your dick, it's long enough." "My mother said, she's a genius, but she can't find a man and give me grandchildren." "Who does a person have to fuck to get a genius grant around here?"

"And nobody's momma was on crack." "No crack in Ibsen."

"Your punishment was diabolical....I had the existential crisis you were hoping for."

By the end of it, all four are at dinner together, VERY AWKWARDLY. "That's Angry Girl?!" "Do I tell you about racist brains?" "She has a point." Brian has (of course) gotten fired.

I don't know what to say about this show. It has a lot of snappy lines, most people in it are kinda jerky, I was exhausted by the end.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com