Chaos Attraction

Interesting Information

2002-04-22, 7:34 p.m.

It's been lovely having Dave around again. Also er, pretty surprising!

Interesting stuff I found out:

He wants to get married on St. Patrick's Day (which is exactly a year and a day from the handfasting). I appreciate the sentiment- and believe me, I'm not terribly thrilled at the idea of a really delayed wedding- but I suspect we're just not going to be able to get it done then. Especially since I think that day's going to be on a Monday. (I told him this and well, he saw the problem. Who the heck gets married on a weekday?) And if my mom decides she wants us to have an actual wedding ceremony/reception/whatall, it'll certainly take longer than that. Plus my lease won't be up for months then anyway. Sigh. (I really hated signing that thing for a whole nother year this year.) I wonder if we could do it in September? People were nagging him at work the other day about which one of us was going to move where, too. We don't know already!

Apparently Hill and Dave were having some kind of interesting conversation when she went to pick him up about kids. Specifically, what happens to guys who date his daughters. He wants to be the traditional kind of father, the one who gets a gun and a rocking chair and sits out on the front porch cleaning the gun when the guy comes to pick the girl up. Oh lord. Another one of those "I know how teenage boys are sleazy because I was one" folks- although it's certainly true! (I've heard at least three different stories about him having near-death experiences during the teen years. One involving a car landing in a tree and the rest involving hospitalization. Damn.) And as well as sending them to self-defense class (I sure second that), he wants to teach them how to shoot, and get them carrying permits at 16. Oh lord. I know he likes guns, it's a family thing, etc., but they still make me uncomfortable. I'm all "Do I have to learn too? My aim stinks."

And there was a very slight cooking lesson going on last night, as he was shocked I didn't know how to make bacon. (So sue me, Mom usually just pops it in the microwave.) Fortunately this didn't exactly go on long- I mainly just hung around while he did it.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com