Chaos Attraction

36 Hours Where Life Was Actually Interesting

2009-04-22, 1:25 p.m.

I don't update much here any more because life is pretty much "get up, go to work, meh, go do a bunch of things outside of work, stagger home late, don't sleep" these days. Exciting! See, there's a reason why I refuse to Twitter :P

But the last 36 or so actually were vaguely interesting for a change! So, here's a slice of life.

Tuesday, 11 a.m.: Have shrink appointment, which goes surprisingly well.

12 p.m.: I'm briefly home post-shrink appointment and make a run to the apartment management to (a) sign lease, and (b) beg them to fix various broken things in my bathroom. While there, I discover that they do Renaissance costuming and their apartment is as covered in crafts as mine is. Huzzah! Love the new management!

5 p.m.: Am supposed to have driving lesson, but once again Elsa is caught in traffic. I am less upset about this because IT'S FREE CONE DAY and now I have time to go get one. This year I got a lemonade sorbet and it was marvelous.

5:15 p.m.: Go out and buy a book.

5:30 p.m.: Go out to the little garden next to the bookstore. My old roommate is there watching her kids play in the fountain. At one point one of them runs out of the garden and the other one has gone in the other direction. I keep an eye on the bigger one until she returns with the little one. An odd moment because the kid doesn't know me that well (he's seen me around on Free Cone Day and the like before, but I wouldn't expect him to remember me, obviously, he's still not quite school age) and I don't want to make him think I'm stealing him or something, I just wanted to make sure he didn't disappear by the time she got back.

6:20: Elsa comes into town, we get drinks and adjourn to the garden again for yakking about the weekend (it's a little late to start the driving). I tell her that I've got an appointment for the permit test come Tuesday...god help me. She is very helpful at clarifying the questions that still confuse me and that I miss on the practice exams every time.

7:30-9:30: EC classes time. One of them is in herbs, and 45 minutes of the class ends up being dedicated to various kinds of apples. Yes, this surprised me too. It's more of an intuitive class, where you're supposed to smell/taste things and say what you think they'd be used for, rather than "You use it for this, that, and the other thing." We also do chamomile and lavender, and I am all, "Y'know, somehow I don't think of these scents as actually relaxing. I don't get it." I am amused that another guy in the class says that lavender makes him feel like he got punched in the face, because I say the same thing.

7:30 a.m. today: I get Bible stalked at the bus stop. It's about as odd as it sounds.

Noon: Work meditation class turns into a Tai Chi class. I feel cheated, dangit!

1 p.m.: Get work phone call from Mom begging me to call her again. I am all "I seriously DO NOT HAVE TIME TO CALL YOU TONIGHT" (or tomorrow night either really) and she begs for a call anyway. I am all, "Is this an emergency?" Um, no, it's not. My younger cousins are throwing a bachelorette party for Alicia.

It's:
(a) not at a strip club (not that I'd expect it in this family)
(b) or in a bar (also not that likely)
(c) it's at their MOM'S HOUSE
(d) at 11 a.m., not p.m., on a Saturday.

Okay, so one of the sisters is 17, but still, I don't think you could even call this a bachelorette party. How bizarre.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com