Chaos Attraction

24 On The 24th

2002-04-24, 5:50 p.m.

I'm so loving the new 3WA portal. For those of you who don't much want to sign up for the mailing list, you'll now be able to check there to see if I've updated this site or the weblog (which I did update today at work again).

It so doesn't seem like my birthday today. Got out of bed, alone, stumbled around in the dark, went to work, sat around and typed and filed, the usual.

Man, there is no point to having a birthday on a weekday, you know? Then I came home and am currently waiting around for the parents to arrive (ETA currently 8 p.m., it's 6:15ish now) for dinner. I've already been eating since I got home in preparation for their being really late.

Despite the general dullness of the day so far, this is a birthday I've been looking forward to for a long time. And dare I say it, for a very silly reason. You see, back in the teen years I occasionally read books from this one series, The Girls of Canby Hall. Basically, it was akin to Sweet Valley High, only back east at a snooty all-girls boarding school. The part of the series I read featured the adventures of a cowgirl, a dancer and a preppie girl living together. Anyway, the book from that series that always stuck in my head was the "Happy Birthday, Jane!" one. Jane's birthday was September 16, and she was going to be turning 16 on the 16th. Someone in the book said that this was your "magic" birthday and that all wishes you made on that day would come true. Her birthday didn't go as smoothly as planned, and she made some rude I-wish comment about something happening to the boat rental guy's nose, then realizes after the day is over what she'd done, and oh no! She can't wish for it to not have happened now because it's Too Late! (And no, I have no idea whatever happened to the guy's nose.) How old fable-sounding is that?

It's really stupid, I know. But the "magic birthday" concept stuck in my head, and from then on I looked forward to my own magic birthday, which was of course years away from then. I felt sorry for people who were born on the 1st or something like that and weren't old enough to make wishes on theirs.

Okay, I know it's dumb to believe in, but why not give it a shot? It's the magic day, after all...

I've only made two wishes so far for today: that (a) my right eye would stop feeling sore when I touched it (this has been going on for two weeks and I'm starting to wonder if I have eye cancer or something), and (b) that Dave would call me before my parents came to pick me up, since I didn't get to talk to him late last night about how I'd be out late tonight. Dave did call me for a short time today from work about insurance papers, so that counts. The eye, alas, remains the same. Oh well, the magical PTB have about five hours left to go, right? Right?

At any rate, I figured I'd share with y'all my wishes for the future today, while I'm on a wishing kick and all.

* I wish that things would improve for the better with my parents.

* I wish that my parents will take the news of my engagement well whenever they hear about it.

* I wish to be happy for most of my life. (Gotta be realistic there.)

* I wish to not die of any degenerative and/or mind-eroding disorders.

* I wish that the issue of me and Dave having kids or not and when this may or may not occur will be resolved for the best and happily.

* I wish that Dave's health and mine will be good. And that he won't die before 60.

* I wish that I can become a famous newspaper columnist.

* I wish Dave and I can resolve where to live, 'cause right now I'm confused.

* I wish I can get a more permanent job at UCD within the next 2-3 months.

* I wish for magic.

My three-card tarot reading today: Emperor (power, authority, need to develop leadership- Dad), Wheel of Fortune (lucky period in your life), King of Cups (man of devotion, introspection, kindness- Dave). Looks good to me!

Update, 11 p.m.: Dinner with the parents went pretty damn well. My favorite part of the meal was when Mom told the waiter it was my birthday and he guessed I was 18 or 19. That is the first time EVER that someone has guessed that my age was over 12. I'm not kidding- last year the bitch that delivered my flowers said I looked 10. I was like "I love this guy, can we adopt him?"

Presentwise, I got matching necklaces and earrings, Bridget Jones's Diary the movie (you know that'd be my thing), and several sets of clothes that will be great for work this season. Woo hoo!

As for tonight's conversation with Dave, sounds like we'll be heading back to play vampire games again on Friday- this time they'll be playing downtown, so that should be interesting. I'm supposed to play the ghoul character again because they need her to do some computer (my Jornada) hacking. Hm. We had our usual schmoopy conversation, of course. Interestingly, he said he could tell I was thinking about him today (of course, when don't I). Oh, and wishwise? My eye seems to be clearing up!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com