Chaos Attraction

Mawwidge

2021-04-26, 8:14 p.m.

It's just another day. Nothing much to say. Did have lunch with Eva today, that was fun. Mostly I just noticed how many times during the day I hate myself and/or my job or both and how guilty and bad I feel all the time, even for stuff that is technically not my fault, like WHY THE HELL HAVEN'T THE IN-OFFICE STAFF DONE ANY MAILING OF ANYTHING URGENT TODAY!!!!!!!! But I get blamed for it anyway, donchaknow.

In other news, Kelly got high and watched American Idol and started fixating on Ryan's package and now we have an idea for a "Silly Dirty Things" 10 minute play festival.

In less fun news, they recently sorta-opened up the library again to appointments and somebody has already come down with Covid, so the entire library is shut down again indefinitely. Oy vey.

Shrek rehearsal: more dancing, more singing, more confusion! "I'm A Believer" and the Wedding Processional, which I don't think too many people had a clue on. More dancing, which was only somewhat confusing--mostly because "Oh, it's gonna go A LOT FASTER THAN THIS." Jesus, really?! The original doesn't go that fast! Then there was the "Wedding Processional," which Steve flat out said he couldn't teach. Oy vey. Rehearsal ended about 8:30 and I tried to listen to'/match the various piano recordings. God, I hope it works.

I will note that I don't go down the usual "I hate myself" spiral during all of this shit, somehow. Mostly well, (a) I think a lot of people also have no idea (b) including the directors to some degree, (c) they don't seem to SUPER care in execution even though they talk about it semi-nitpickingly and they seem to think I'm fine so far when I solo.... though seriously, recording in two weeks? I don't think so!

Quotes from Steve and others (all quotes from Steve unless spelled out otherwise):

"You know, if we sound like Porky Pig, it would work for this show." -Dannette
* Poor Shrek, it's not easy being green."
"You can go clean up your swamp." "It's pretty messy. Mud everywhere." -Adam.
Carter as the priest is encouraged to say "mawwidge" by Steve, "but I'm not the director."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com