Chaos Attraction

I Stabbed A Bitch

2022-04-26, 3:00 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Tits and Tricks - 2022-05-01
I Can't Believe He's Doing A Floss In 2022 - 2022-04-30
Standing O? - 2022-04-29
Los Trabajawhores - 2022-04-28
The Pope's A Whore Too - 2022-04-27

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

I called in sick from work today. I have not been able to get back to sleep, I am not in the horrendous fog I was in yesterday, but I'm tired and screw it, I wanted to be in bed for a few hours. My therapist appears to have missed our appointment--I didn't think we were off for today but for all I know some emergency may have come up.

I was looking forward to therapy, but then my therapist didn't call and oops, she forgot to say that SHE was taking a mental health day too. Sigh. Not that I can judge, obviously.

I ended up sneaking out to go to the movies, specifically the Nick Cage movie that neither I nor the guy at the movie theater can remember the name of. I really liked it. The bromance between Cage and the supposed drug cartel guy is absolutely adorable and I loved and rooted for it like no other, and I enjoy crazy meta things. At one point Javi reveals he has a statue replica of Nick and Nick is all "that's hideous, I'll give you $20k for it," LOL.

Unfortunately, I started checking email off the phone while I was waiting around during the opening and they are now spraying for roaches on Friday. I HAVE NO WAY TO GET EVERYTHING THEY WANT MOVED AND CLEANED by then. I can't take Thursday off from work--have to be in office, stupid meeting, Covid testing--and obviously I'm gonna be at the theater every night until like 11:30. I attempted to move food into my bedroom (argggggggggh) but ain't no way EVERY single cabinet and closet will be emptied and cleaned. No way. I don't know what the fuck I am going to do other than cry and scream.


Oh lordy, Evita rehearsal Tuesday:

Actually started the show around 8 (earlier than I was betting), finished around 11:10.

On the one hand: leaving early means that the 12 person trainwreck of clothing changes is less bad. On the other hand, they are insisting on changing gloves "because Jean really wants them." SIGH. grumble The men were assigned dressers backstage for their one quick change, not really something we can do here. Kimmie and Jean were all "what was going on last time?" "We had more men that could help the women dress."

Being a dresser continues to be awkward and suck. We pretty much determined that the last dress we have to change her into just doesn't work--it's tight, it's supposed to be pulled on over the head and we can't do that with the wig on, she can't really step into it easily. Finally it was all "GET HER ANOTHER DRESS" time to solve this issue. And oh lord, this dress! Jean was all "it's gonna be the monkey dress," which I guess Lindsay knew about. I saw it after the show and it...literally has monkey fur on the arms. WHAT THE HECK IS THAT. Apparently something actually done in the 40's, Lindsay said. Well, hopefully it's big enough to not cause all the problems we've been having.

Now, as a "dresser," I don't do that much--Arielle handles robes, Rhiannon handles dresses and I've been handling the bling/shoes. There's an awful long strand of pearls I've been trying to deal with. Jean doesn't think that goes with the monkey dress, so no necklace. To which I am all (a) great! and (b) Does that mean I'm out of a dresser job now after the scene with the shoes? Because I'm fine with that, we really don't need three people manhandling Eva around, just the two really. I guess we'll see at the next rehearsal on that one.

Quote stuff:

Isaiah came to visit the ladies' dressing room (only a few of us were in, all dressed, so what the heck), knocking, "It's a boy!" He said he misses the big dressing room and there's seven different personalities in the men's. I said try 13 (14 if Evie's in) in here!

Sage found a bunch of rocks in their backpack that they got for the fish tank. Me: "Well, I guess that explains why your backpack was heavy."

Evie: "I'm going to ask if I can do a TikTok." Again, she's 8. Evie has something called "Duck Bucks" at school. "What's the conversion of duck bucks to dollars?" Sage asked. Apparently it's around 40 cents. Evie is still roaming about. I wonder what's going to happen come tomorrow when she's supposed to stay in the dressing room....or the actual show.

Brunette Sierra said that "New Argentina is in my happy mix," i.e. her range of singing.

Rhiannon asked why the musicians don't get paid here and Felicia asked why they don't have stagehands here. I asked Jan on this stuff and she said "we can't afford them" or get volunteers. She said the rent is so high here that all the money goes to that and they live off Social Security. I told Rhiannon this later and she said, "I get it, but I used to work at theaters who figured out somehow how to pay." Heck if I know on that one.

During "Rainbow Tour," Steve has taken it upon himself (then again, probably that's also his "admiral" character) to call Lindsay insulting names while they are meeting. "I called her a bitch, whore, slut, slattern..."

At the end of the night, Isaiah wanted to stagger off, and people yelled "Go to your bedroom!" He promptly collapsed on the bed on the stage.

Rhiannon recommended some high heel insoles at Fleet Feet (local store) so I am going to look for those. As Brunette Sierra and I were saying, about three hours into wearing the heels here, it hurts. (Timed it, even. Yeah, around the 3 hour mark.)

At one point I was actually near Scott (then of course got moved) when he was supposed to be loading out the podium and he was bored and pretending to stab a knife between each finger. Me: "We need to get you a new hobby."

We were told that we're still supposed to have masks on backstage (spelled out specifically as the dressing room), and when asked about this, Jan was all "don't ask me, I just work here" and essentially said this was the decision of the covid committee. Don't know what to say there.

Oh, and TONIGHT'S MAJOR DRAMA: Kimmie went out to smoke at intermission and some rando guy came out of nowhere (riding a bike?) up to her and said, "I stabbed a bitch 37 times, if you wanna call the cops." Cops were indeed called and we were told to use the buddy system while leaving the building. OY FUCKING VEY.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com