Chaos Attraction

Standing O?

2022-04-29, 3:12 p.m.

Ohhhhh my. If I had anyone who wanted to see this, I would have told them not to buy a ticket opening night, because of the whole lack-of-stage-manager thing. Seriously, I'm a little stumped as to why Steve, who's in the show for at least some of the numbers, is doing it at the same time instead of Jan, who as the director doesn't...y'know, do anything after opening the show. I didn't ask, but I wondered how well one could double dip that? I was right on the trainwrecking, but not for any guessable reasons.

"Requiem" was totally off musically somehow.

I was trying to wear my mask backstage (as "required") and then forgot to take it off on my second entrance. I don't think any castmates noticed because I was in the back or at least didn't call me out on it, but still, SIGH. I'm just not going to be able to wear it backstage and remember the off-and-on removal very well. Dammit.

Morgan said Hugo threw up before the show and I worried about that. (He's fine.)

Apparently right before "Goodnight and Thank You," Lindsay drank too much water and suddenly threw up. I didn't see it (thank goodness) since I was on the opposite side, but Steve literally interrupted the show saying that an actor wasn't feeling well. I'm told Lindsay was kind of annoyed at this, said she was fine, and then continued on. "At least I didn't throw up onstage!" she said later.

The giant revolving door had some issues, prompting Scott to say he was going to come in early tomorrow and add brakes to the thing.

"Peron's Latest Flame/Whore" was WAAAAAAAAAAAAAY TOOOOOOOOOOO FAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAST. Like the women were able to roll with it--we're doing this quick step anyway--but the men are doing slower marching/turns and that did not go so well. Poor Jared sounded like he was unable to keep up with the pace during his fake-reporter bit too. Later Jan was all, "We cut 2 minutes off the show," and was imitating the men trying to keep up during intermission.

Someone forgot a protest sign. Arielle hit a light with her sign.

And yet, we got a standing ovation (my first onstage) for that. GO FIGURE.

Still managing to hug Scott in the opening number...um, long hug, touching the back of his neck...ahem.

Quotes from backstage:

Sage on fainting on stage: "I did it every night because I was a dramatic child."
Sage has bought the Cat Tarot deck and done readings for cats. Rhiannon lets her cat pick her cards. THIS IS ADORABLE.

Arielle: "I was dancing in my kitchen until 12...I was having a rave."

Rhiannon: "I invested in these great alarm clocks, called cats..."

Brunette Sierra on her fiance: "I love the man, but he doesn't love musicals."

Rhiannon: "My whole station is a hot mess tonight."

Brunette Sierra likes to pace backstage at times, saying the scene shop is the "designated pacing zone."
Brunette Sierra: "You can pick me up by my ass."
Brunette Sierra: "If the biggest problem is we forgot a sign..."

Me to Steve on "Peron's Latest Flame:" "Like horses stampeding."

Lindsay on Frozen: "We can't get rid of Elsa no matter what we try." Brunette Sierra: "We changed musicals, we're now doing Frozen in the 40's."

Someone: "I forgot my gloves. I forgot my sign."

Morgan: "If my boobs look sweaty onstage, it's fine." Brunette Sierra: "Theater looks so glamorous. People keep injuring themselves onstage..."

Arielle: "Those eyes don't look like killer's eyes." Rhiannon: ""I could MAKE them look like killer's eyes..."


Afterwards was the cake-and-drinks in the theater, followed by going to Woodstocks until like 1 a.m.

Remarks at the afterparty We got to hear in great detail all the comments Evie is making about the show to her dad, specifically that her mom is kissing someone else. I wish I had been able to take notes on it, it was hilarious. Scott said she glares at him and him only during swear words being said.

It was determined that Arie looks "sus" in his actor photo. I think he's posing to look like he's in a mystery.

There was some discussion about how the crowds are remaining pretty small even without a mask mandate. Scott said he'd been trying to discuss this with Robert and I gather Robert was all "But what about the immunocompromised?" with regards to lifting the mask mandate. I said I'm not even trying to talk to Robert about going to shows any more. It was pointed out in general (and I had to agree given certain friends of mine) that people who were already afraid to go to shows aren't going to go to shows now if they weren't going before. I ended up in a SUPER AWKWARD moment when people were talking about who had Covid during The Producers--that'd be Jean (costumes) and E??n--and was all "fuck, I know one of you knows, I don't know if the other two know in this group, am I deadnaming or outing here?!?!" I finally went with "Eden" and got no commentary from anyone on the topic.

At Woodstock's afterwards, Scott was next to me most of the time and I mean like, we were touching up against each other under the table for hours, level of that. He moved over at one point after some people left and then I followed him over, sigh.

Conversation: Scott and Blonde Sierra were talking about not being into college parties or going to proms. He said he'd just hid out in a car with a girl once when a party was too crowded. Oh, and apparently the family has picked up ANOTHER cat.

Scott said he does want to audition for Beauty and the Beast, as Beast, but as usual blah blah not fit/attractive enough. Sierra and I disagreed on this. Then Scott was all "Jared should do it," and I asked Jared if he'd ever done the show before. He did...and got literally stabbed in the back once when subbing in as Beast when a prop went awry. Oy! As for Music Man, he hasn't seen it yet so hasn't decided yet. I'm hoping he doesn't.

I asked if Jan had texted Kimmie as to how the show went (it sounded like that was the plan) and she was all "nah, let's not tell her until she comes back."

Morgan, Hugo, me and Sierra talked about our green screen acting experiences--Sierra had the worst one (see the Titanic entry).

After leaving he followed me out to my car for a bit (awww!) and I said something about maybe going to Whole Earth for an hour or whatever on Sunday because of Evita starting at 12:30, and he said he missed Whole Earth and hasn't been in six years (presumably because of always having to work weekends). This actually turned into HIM mentioning possibly going with me since he doesn't have to work on Sunday while the play is going on, so he could come up earlier. Now, we'll see if that EVEN happens, mind you, as I would bet against it or him suddenly deciding he's too tired to go or whatever circa Saturday night/Sunday morning. I don't really trust it. But it's flattering that HE brought up the idea, you know?

Anyway, I got home at 1:30 and didn't sleep all night again. I was happy.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com