Chaos Attraction

Lost and Found Cat

2021-05-01, 8:32 p.m.

Stupid things I did last night:
(a) bought WAYYYYYYYY TOO MUCH frozen food online without even thinking about it. I had to cook 5 boxes/bags of food right away (well, a few of them were half eaten, but still) because I could not fit them in the fridge. Man, I feel dumb.
(b) I actually got almost every darned thing I ordered, which explains why it's thrown off to some degree as well.
(c) I put in for 4 hour delivery between 8-12--I wanted more like 10-12 but that's not an option--and the guy was super on it and early so I had the stuff by nine.
So here I am cooking up a ton of stuff while I'm still tired and not hungry at all, is what I am saying here.

I got my next "Dear Jack, Dear Louise" batch of letters--three! Two telegrams and a letter. Louise writes a letter: she's not offended at swear words, dancers cuss a lot, and "I grew up in Brooklyn, and telling people the a-word is the nicest thing we said about anybody." OH MY. She's got an audition! What songs to do? The audition's in two days, wish you were here. The show, btw, is "Hellz A Poppin'" and she includes a flier. First telegram: Jack to Louise, sending one because his advice would arrive too late. He has several suggestions and then says he'll stop giving advice because it's costing him a fortune, give' em hell, if he can actually use that word in a telegram! Second telegram: Louise to Jack, "I GOT THE PART I GOT THE PART I GOT THE PART THREE EXCLAIMATION POINTS." Adorable.

Today I watched another version of Much Ado About Nothing by our local Shakespeare company. Notable things about it: international/cross-country casting, everyone's talking over iPhones/video, and for whatever reason, Hero is now a guy and Claudia is now a girl soldier. Honestly, that last bit is a bit...weird.... the guy playing Hero is cute, though. I note that Pedro, who used to be in this town back in the day, is now (a) in Vegas, and (b) playing Benedick, so good for him. A very flirty one, I see. Philomena, still a local here, is in this one too as Borachio. Good to see she's still around.

I'll also note that there's adapted text so it's a bit more modernized, so there's lines like, "Not cute little Claudia!" "You know those guys who come and perfume your house?" THIS IS A THING?! "I smell an excellent outlet for my displeasure!" I laughed at the Zoom screen that said "Please wait, the meeting host will let you in soon: Leonato's Zoom Masquerade Ball." I'll note that they have face filters for masquerade costumes. "I don't care what happens as long as it's bad." "The girl's a peach! She's GOLD DUST." "Dammit, can't a person change his mind?" Ummmm....so Borachio is played by a woman, Hero is being played by a man, and suddenly the whole "Borachio seduced Margaret and, I dunno, yelled Hero's name a lot and wore his clothes" bit MAKES NO SENSE. Like...nobody noticed anything weird about that? Um....so the actors playing Hero and Claudia are also playing some of the Watch? I JUST GOT TOTALLY CONFUSED AT THIS. "Everyone can have a good shit." "WIT." "We must exgammination these men." I did enjoy Hero suddenly launching himself out of his chair and offscreen during the first wedding. Seriously, "Did you and Hero share a room last night?" just is WEIRD. Um, seriously, the gender switch of Hero and Claudia just doesn't work with this plot and things don't make sense. Wait, "BANISH" Claudia?! Why are we being so nice here? "Please wait, the meeting host will let you in soon: Zoom Jail." LOL. The guy who plays Hero is having A LOT MORE FUN playing Dogberry. Really, this is far more his role. The second wedding scene has Beatrice in a PIG FILTER. Hero, at least, is holding up some kind of gold actual mask.

I wanted to do something, but at the same time not do something. I WANTED TO HANG OUT WITH SOMEONE, but clearly that's not happening. What are the options? * Go to wine tasting, alone...except then be standing around weird and awkward and alone and having drunk enough alcohol to just not be able to leave. What's the point of that? * Go hike around outside again. * Go shopping or something. I'm not super in the mood to do that, but Mom's birthday/Mother's Day is coming up. I did order her a book this morning, so there's that, but still.... * Go get a Krispy Kreme. Well, maybe.

...Yeah, I did none of that. I tried to nap, and then I went outside to knit/read/watch My Man Godfrey again and started in on A Very Potter Musical. Reggie came by for a bit.

I watched this Pick A Card--The Right Career For You (#4) and unfortunately I think it nailed it--i.e. I don't want a real career, just to do what I want and be myself. I do not like the "leader" shit, though. I DON'T WANNA LEAD OR RUN OR BE IN CHARGE OF ANYTHING, THANKYOUVERYMUCH, HUMANS SUCK. "Your ideal career is no career. It's a career of being yourself." That isn't an option as far as I'm concerned, though. Nobody pays you to be you, they pay you to work for their business or that you run one, and running a business sounds even less fun than my job.

Though I may have had something to do with a lost cat turning up when I suggested reaching out to St. Francis about it online, which was really delightful. The cat turned up WITHIN A HALF HOUR OF MY MENTIONING THIS, it was caught under a fence. WHEW! So something got accomplished today!

I really should rehearse today--the videos are up--but my malaise has continued. Like "it's 8:30 and I kinda want to go to bed" level of malaise. I think I'm out for the night.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com