Chaos Attraction

Weird Discussions Today

2021-05-06, 8:45 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Abuse in the Building? - 2021-05-11
Rushing Things - 2021-05-10
Times Have Changed - 2021-05-09
One Take Steve - 2021-05-08
The British Royal Family - 2021-05-07

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Nothing to say about work today (other than "still waiting on the one person and still got nowhere with that" thing). Huzzah.

Hope took the day off yesterday for her and her boyfriend's mid-between-birthdays wine tasting. They had a driver, they did a lot of drinking, it was Cinco de Mayo.... Her boyfriend had today off, but she did not....Me: "I think we now we all realize the perils of the Midweek Drinking Day (and night)." I don't think she was like, massively hung over, but he did snore all night so she was zonked. (Later I was all "I feel zonked too and I've been sober for 24 hours.")

Yarn Club was interesting today. (I gave Kelly random details in case she wonders what a knitting group talks about, albeit this was pretty weird even by normal standards...well, because of me.) I was talking about rehearsal and said something about how they were going to take two weeks off to do Shrek Jr. and Yemi was all, "I thought Shrek was the kids' version of Shrek." Good point. I assume it's just like, kids doing the same plot since Shrek isn't dirty or anything, but I have seen ads of late for "Rent Jr." To which I was all, really? Yemi was all, "they're covering the AIDS crisis?" I was all "they're covering cheating, drugs and sex?" Yemi was all "Aren't kids doing those things?" and "Why is there a kids' version of Rent when we have Annie?"

We also discussed the strange biology of "how do the dragon and the donkey have kids?" and then I started going on about the InCryptid series and sexual dimorphism and how dragons make babies there and Yemi was all, "On that note, it's time for me to leave...." Dawn on the dronkeys: "Love will find a way."

Later, Dawn mentioned that there is a map with Bigfoot sightings on it at the library. Wish I'd seen THAT.

In other fun news, Kelly dreamed that the suffragist play was turned into a musical, so we started making up snippets songs and recording them and sending them around. (Finally, that musical improv class comes in handy!) This is pretty funny when you end up with songs about "flaming granny girdle" (as Kelly put it, "inappropriately sung in a funeral home"), various songs about trying to get Alice to behave herself just enough not to be thrown in jail, and my personal favorite, writing a song for Sam, the lonely Doctor Who fan who just wants someone to talk to about the show and isn't it a shame something like the Internet doesn't exist yet in 1970? Seriously, this would work as a musical.

We also talked a little bit about the knitting murder play, which led to the quote, "Like they all bust out in song bc of some trauma with the yarn," and I was all "Lemme tell you about using a swift and ball winder to ruin expensive yarn" about it. And then we moved onto brainstorming a Women's Dirty Play Festival (but not too dirty, nasty, raunchy, pr0ny, etc).

Seriously, I would much rather spend my time thinking about stuff like this than work.

The yarn store sent out the newsletter today, going on about Scott's mom and dad's birthdays and how they actually shut down the store on Mother's Day for family breakfast "and just hanging out with whoever shows up," whatever that means. I would assume relatives. I felt a little bummed reading all of that somehow. But oh well. Why bother with someone--or any of them--who can't or don't want to with you. Focus on who actually cares and wants to do things with you (the Shiny Unicorns that are Kelly/Shanna, thank you), not on who can't, don't, or won't care and won't last.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com