Chaos Attraction

One Take Steve

2021-05-08, 8:52 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Meg and Joseph - 2021-05-13
Recording Snark - 2021-05-12
Abuse in the Building? - 2021-05-11
Rushing Things - 2021-05-10
Times Have Changed - 2021-05-09

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Welp, it's definitely been an odd day.

Round 1: rehearsal with Kelly and Shanna at 9: we went over the script a bit, added a few lines upon suggestion, like writing in one of Shanna's cats since she has been known to jump up on screen (and did so today), adding references to flashing coconuts, what have you. Then we discussed costumes and background pictures.

A few quotes I wrote down: Shanna on her character: "I'm super loving but I can destabilize like that. But hey, Tash!" (that'd be the cat) Shanna, same: "Alice is a little late for the party, all the time." Shanna: "It's the same emotional attachment of talking to you or to broccoli." -on uh, showing interest in acting. "I can't see because of the (cat) butt." -Kelly

Round 2: drove to Walnut Creek for lunch. This did not go well for several reasons: (a) many, many slowdowns (b) at one point there was a fire in the hills (c) I missed the exit, got circled around a bit, came in from a different direction, and made a huuuuuuge mistake on a heinously large and confusing intersection, trying to turn left when literally everyone else also decided to cross the street and turn right at oncc. (d) That, of course, is when everyone starts calling my phone. Uck!

Anyway, the Yacht Club has a sorta-indoor building with large windows and lots of space, so I did not "break bad" eating there. I got clam chowder (excellent) and a fried chicken sandwich (uh....let's just say there were some recurring surprise problems with that....oh well). Jackie brought Mom an inflatable bear and jelly beans and a necklace and cake, so that went well. I think it might have helped Jackie to commiserate with someone who's also done home health care, with more than one person, because her situation is a real lulu right now.

Round 3: drove to Krispy Kremes for free donuts. This went well. I also briefly went in Half Priced Books right by the first Krispy Kreme, but I was good and did not buy anything.

I finally got home (traffic was crawling) by 4:45, so I'm glad I scheduled filming late. I walked around the neighborhood for awhile to do 10k steps, then went home and rehearsed.

Round 4: filming Shrek, guards singing scenes. This was definitely weird.... (a) I didn't notice that I somehow grabbed socks where one was black and one was NAVY. God, I hope Jean doesn't notice that. (Also, I hate navy because it is so damn easy for me to do that.)

(b) I apparently made a thumping noise when I came out while Arthur was finishing and realized I hadn't put my dance shoes on and briefly vacated the stage area. They were all "we can edit that out."

(c) While I was out walking, I had been listening to a podcast about Disney Descendants, which made references to "Kenny One Take Ortega," who apparently wasn't checking for bra straps, looks like he did maybe three takes at most while filming during the afternoon because the sun didn't change all that much, etc. I am not a film nerd s it's not like I noticed that when I saw the first movie, mind you.

But hoo boy, was this One Take Steve. I had Jan walking me through where exactly I was supposed to be going on stage, but they seemed more concerned with making sure I didn't walk too far back/forward/whatever than the rest of it. I got to redo one take over and there was one I bobbled that I really wanted to redo, but they did not let me! Steve was all, "Eh, they're not supposed to be good guards anyway." Even a bit worse than that...I was listening to recordings during this, which I am guessing were made today(?) and uh, some people definitely got lyrics out of order. I guess they...didn't care about that? The heck? I also had it sprung on me that "oh, yeah, you need to do the minuet from the entire right side and you're partnered with someone else entirely." Me: "Um...I thought you said I was doing it with Carter from the left?" Jan: "Uh, I had to change some things." Also, originally Jan said "the arm up is the one that's in the back" and today Steve was all "everyone's right arm, all the time" and OYYYYYY, and suddenly I had to move from

Round 5: When I got home, I watched the pilot of "Girls5Eva," with the tragic name/song of "we're gonna be famous 5 evah." Suffice it to say they were not, as their second album involved a song about planes and came out on September 10. Now one of them's dead, another one's no longer thin, and is a lesbian with gray hair. The other three remain thin and hot and are played by Sara Barielles as the sane one, Busy Phillips (seriously rocking this) as the bimbo one, and Renee Elise Goldsberry as the only one who still has a career except it turns out she doesn't. ("I shoot geese at the aiport. I get paid by the goose.") Not that I know anything about Paula Pell, but I am seriously all "All these ladies are supposed to be the same age? I don't think so?" (Note: today Jan was all "I thought you were 35.") Anyway, after some rapper samples their song, they briefly get a reunion gig on Fallon.

"I'm 40 and now I don't CARE!"

I'm not sure what to make of this one, honestly.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com