Chaos Attraction

Tie-Dye Makeover

2019-05-11, 10:22 p.m.

I went to Whole Earth all day long today! First I went to some meditation session that really turned out to be people playing instruments and singing mantras on repeat. Which was not what I was expecting there. It also said it was a half hour long, which...not that either. So I got up to see if I could find Vera, and I did and we hung out for the rest of the day.

Within an hour of shopping with me, I had introduced her to niobium jewelry and two tie-dye vendors (one of them being Harmony) and she had completely changed outfits into rainbow hoops and a rainbow tie-dye dress that looked lovely on her. She got a tank top, a skirt, and two rainbow tie-dye dresses by the end of the day and I am so proud. “You brought color into my life,” she said. So yes, after shopping with me, she had a total makeover in less than an hour. This was a delight. I also found her a place to find a hat and some feather earrings, so I am an excellent shopper.

As for me, I bought some mandala earrings and ah, another tie-dye dress. I wanted another tie-dye duster but even I thought at that point this was getting to be too much money. Wah, but there it is.

Vera and I had an excellent time shopping, saying hi to other CC folks (Ian popped up), going to a lecture on happiness, eating and drinking, lounging on the quad, watching a unicorn ride on by (yeah, that happened), watching the drum circle, etc. It was a very good time.

I would like to mention randomly that the happiness lecture was given by a guy calling himself “Jimmy Smiles,” and I wrote down this quote from him: “I go through the seven dwarfs every day.” That sounds quite fitting. He talked about having pets, doing volunteering, exercising...the usual sort of things, really.

There is a sign booth that I like every year, but they make these very heavy signs and I can’t nail those into an apartment wall, so I have never bought one. They have decided to quit doing this craft fair, which bums me out. My favorite sign says, “Ever notice how “what the hell” is always the right decision?” and I would have bought it this year if they had it, but they did not. Oh well.

Other signs:

“At the end of the day, Life should ask us, “Do we want to save the changes?”

“I do not have ducks. I do not have a row. I have squirrels and they’re at a rave.”

“If you don’t like my cooking, lower your standards.” (Also, “if you don’t like my cooking, have another glass of wine.”)

“The key to happiness is low expectations. Lower. Nope, even lower. There you go.”


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com