Chaos Attraction

Recording Snark

2021-05-12, 8:58 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Final Filming Night - 2021-05-17
More Shrek Dancing Stuff - 2021-05-16
Freak Flag Fly - 2021-05-15
Mask Drama - 2021-05-14
Meg and Joseph - 2021-05-13

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

My boss had to go to some Giant Org meeting all day yesterday. Apparently one of our sibling Giant Orgs is adamant that everyone comes back to work in person on July 1 like nothing has changed, period, the end. Apparently my boss started messaging TemporaryBigBoss about this, along the lines of a polite "What the heck....?" SiblingBigBoss over there is apparently of the ilk who is very opinionated and unlikely to listen to anyone else's opinions. Sounds like I would not want to be working at that one anyway. So apparently all the Giant Orgs are "doing something different," as ever. I'm not sure why we supposedly have a system and sibling organizations when we don't have all that much that's done similarly. Pretty much like the United States vs. the states, I guess.

I ended up saying in the meeting that I've been assuming that our team will have to go back in person and the rest of the office won't have to at all, which is...ahem, not a bad guess. (Lioness was all "good for you for speaking up" and I was immediately all "I wish I hadn't.") She admitted that our team is the most likely to have to go back in person--like it's not an option not to because SERVICE (groan) even though I don't do actual public service in the first place (groan)--but they may rotate us in and out, and there's about three other people who may have to go in person sometimes for things, so.

I almost had to do service stuff today, but I did not. Huzzah. Other than that, happily work is staying quiet and stuff is slowly getting done and no major drama. YAAAAAAAAAAAAAY.

I spent a lot of time listening to the NEW--USE THESE! recordings for Shrek. I wasn't that impressed by the new recordings, to be honest. I am just trying to find some that are useable for me to work with, and ah....not so much. The new alto recordings are kind of choked and quiet for some reason? Like sometimes I'm listening to all of this fucking piano and going "This sounds...really off. I'm not even a musician and this sounds REALLY OFF."

You know what? I don't love me some piano accompaniment. Why am I just sometimes unable to recognize a song I've heard a billion times here? KARAOKE TRACKS, PLEASE AND THANK YOU.

I think our song leader for the altos is getting bored of these. I'll note that during "I'm A Believer" she's starting to snark it up. "We're going to get ready to go into I'm A Believer soon...Shrek will be starting off...this is Shrek's solo..." (then she kinda mumbles it for awhile) "this is Shrek singing....then I saw her face...." "Yaaaay. Go Shrek." Then when she gets to Fiona's: "Don't laugh, don't laugh, you're onstage, it's Fiona's turn!" "You go, Fiona! Rock out! Yay! Woo!" I don't think the directors have listened to these, call it a hunch. I don't know Arianna well, but man, if I could get her alone privately I'd be all "so....were you kinda bored here? Heh heh heh."

Anyway, after work I walked around for an hour in the park and finished reading "The First Ten Years" (I'm watching a thing by the authors after work tomorrow, so better finish it), and then went home and rehearsed some more. I made recordings of the recordings with me singing along to them on my old phone and then am playing them and mouthing along and trying to do the dance stuff on my patio. I feel quite tired now.

In other minor news: Kelly got a hilarious wig for the play (to play Carol, a minor character/my future love interest after I break up with my girlfriend in the show) and is all "What the heck? Is this what I ordered off Amazon?" about it. She has also picked out a cloche hat pattern she wants me to make for when she plays Alice Paul, so we picked out yarn and I ordered it this morning. It's going to be brown with blue trim...not my fave color, but whatever. It'll be a quick make, I think. I feel better that she and Shanna will both get things now. That's exciting.

I got emailed today about a drive-through Burning Man event in Rancho Cordova, which I signed up for next weekend. It's per car. I invited Redhead Sarah...no response, of course. I mentioned it to my coworkers (or at least Dianna, Hope's out for a few but forwarded the email too) since that topic came up yesterday. I am vaguely debating if I'll bother to try to invite anyone else beyond that or not. I can always go alone and planned on it anyway. I somehow don't think my older friends in the clear would be into it, though, and I dunno if anyone else is in the clear AND not flaky OR if I should fucking bother...I don't know any more. Might as well plan to go it alone.

I also heard from Cameron via email! Apologized for taking so long to respond, things have been bananas, and yes, she wants to go to Renaissance Faires again...and brought up bringing Robert and Scott since they haven't gone....sigh. You know what? If this actually happens, I vote SHE does the inviting and people wrangling on it. They'd probably just ignore me anyway and I have no hopes of anything there any more. But seriously, Cameron gets BONUS POINTS FROM ME this week for surfacing. She may get a bonus letter from me after Shrek filming is done.

On a related note, it's been two months since I last talked to Scott (on his birthday), the longest I've ever gone. BONUS POINTS TO ME for no longer trying any more. I'm not feeling the feelings I used to any more--not sure if that's genuine, numbness, annoyance at myself, clue bat hitting, whatever--but I still think about this daily anyway. Ugh. I hope that fucking ends sometime and that I stop caring altogether.

Note from November 2021: yeah, it didn't really.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com