Chaos Attraction

Final Filming Night

2021-05-17, 9:12 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Drive Thru Burning Man - 2021-05-22
Agoraphobia Bingo - 2021-05-21
Workplace Reimagined - 2021-05-20
Meg and Joseph, Part 2 - 2021-05-19
Crossword Puzzles - 2021-05-18

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

It was a pretty quiet day at work, except for the following news:

(a) One of our computer programs that has been broken in two ways* for MONTHS, I asked yet again if it's getting fixed. Answer: it's not getting fixed until they upgrade the program, which will be... ?????. So basically, broken indefinitely and possibly for years! I asked my boss if there was literally ANY way we could just tell people ahead of time that X and Y are broken, and of course got no response there.

* Note: this is for two minor things that don't affect the majority of users, but boy, do they complain if they can't change X and Y. Which they now can't. Sigh.

(b) In my old work group, the Shark Tank, you might remember from several years ago the guy employee who hates my guts and won't talk to me and calls himself a psychopath. But to his credit, at least didn't bully me, since that would force him to speak to me. Well, his boss announced "with mixed emotions" (I WILL BET THEY'RE MIXED EMOTIONS) that this guy got a new job and gave his two weeks notice. What's his new job, you ask? Being an advisor.... again, which was his previous job before this one. Which he hated too. I remember years ago hearing him gripe in the office about how much he hated that job, but he hated working here even more. Mr. Psychopath is not, shall we say, a People Person, and to be fair, he worked at the most difficult of the advising offices so I'm sure that was not a picnic.

Giant Org has a lot of professional advisors in this field, as a lot of offices have a lot of in-house ones. I can't help but notice that the one way that anyone manages to drastically change their career path in Giant Org if they aren't in management is to become a professional advisor. A fair number of my former coworkers have gotten out of being assistants by becoming professional advisors.* My old coworker Maria, and the last two of Giant Big Boss's assistants somehow suddenly became advisors after years of being executive assistants types. But for Mr. Psychopath to do the same....how are the mighty fallen. I have no idea if that's better or worse pay or a step down for him from being an analyst. I suspect and rather hope it is, hahahah, since being an analyst is a mysterious big deal thing here that nobody (including career advisors, I ain't kidding) actually knows how to achieve getting a job in. But anyway, Mr. Psychopath must have been fucking desperate to get out of here to go back to advising.

* No thank you. I want LESS people to deal with, not MORE.

Anyway, I am pleased and doing the mental dance on his grave (metaphorically speaking). One down. One more to go.

After work I rehearsed "Big Bright Beautiful World" (again, my section of it is entirely singing about BBQ'ing a 7-year-old child....) and "I'm A Believer." At 5:30 there was another Stitches Online presentation of their upcoming classes for June, which they did invite me to even though I last did class in April and didn't do it in May (obviously I was quite busy this weekend and did not). So that's nice.

Quotes from the pre-show chat; "One thing I've been learning this whole pandemic is to mute myself." "Poodles are smarter than 80% of the population." And Teresa, the lady with the infamous son Ben? He hasn't had his birthday party yet, Ben's birthday is on Thursday. After the presentation was over, "I don't have a question, I have more of a comment?" Presenter guy: "Oh god." Teresa: "I don't know how I'm going to take 600 classes...." She also advocated for taking the "Wrapped in Scraps " class, held up her bowl and said, "I LOVE THIS DAMN BOWL MORE THAN WORDS CAN SAY." She asked Mavis the emailer to email her before everyone else and Mavis made a crack about emailing her while she's in the shower. (I guess this has actually happened!) Ben turned up on video. Teresa also mentioned finally doing the laundry folding and finding a shirt she'd forgotten she had and I was all, "That's your "As You Wish" shirt, I swear I saw that on you in April." Hah. I will remember if you had something distinctive on. Another lady said, "I'm a New Yorker, of course I'm going to say what I'm going to say." and claimed that if they found a secret message in the video they can somehow take all the classes. Beverly (the lady who watches all the CSI shows) needs a new laptop with a working camera, but she keeps spending all her money on classes. "What happens at Stitches stays at Stitches."

Classes being offered include: Using World Costume as a Source of Influence for Clothing Design. Hmm, maybe. Apocalyptic Making Skills: Solo Measurements, for how to measure yourself when forever home alone. Useful, but I'm also surprised there's a 2 hour class in that? Strip Quilt as you Go-go (your guess is as good as mine on that one....the teachers do some kind of Japanese quilt design, apparently.) Pick-up Lines (pretty sure this is talking about a craft technique....).

Final night of Shrek filming, and it went great! One take for everything I did, costume stayed on, I got all the dance moves right, HUZZAH! Now I am off from the show for a month--she said June 15. Jan was finishing rehearsing "Forever" over Zoom by the time I had my outfit on, and as far as I know she hit record on their last run through and walked off. Meanwhile I'm waiting around in the audience and decided to photobomb by walking through/behind the computer and waving to see if anyone notices me later. I'm not sure if Jan left the camera on, though, darn it. I did later come on the Zoom officially to show how silly the outfit is, it was appreciated. I guess we'll see if/when she posts the video if I managed to photobomb or not.

(Seriously, if I suck in this show, NO ONE WILL KNOW IT'S ME. I am unrecognizable in all 3 outfits--the third one basically being a Grim Reaper robe as a "happy villager.")

Fun facts I found out tonight:

The difference between Shrek and Shrek Jr: no parents shown, they have narrators instead, no dirty jokes. Jean and I and the other costume lady (Monica, does Shrek Jr.) were all "Yeah, why is there one of those for Rent?"

Steve used to be a techie (contract, I guess?) at Giant Org and he told me stories about how he never had any computer training but has been figuring it out for 40 years. He went into a building where they couldn't get the printer to work, the guy who programmed it quit and then died, and it involved Javascript. You know Javascript? "No, but give it to me." He got it to work. He also mentioned having a contract somewhere where the receptionist didn't like him and around the end of the contract, she asked him what he does and he said, "I didn't know we were married." "She got me fired." I don't think he cared, he said that department had awful people.

The next show they are doing is Camelot. Specifically, that was the show they were doing when the pandemic closed, and they got in one weekend before the shutdown. Everyone elected to wait until they could do it in person again, and they are going to do a couple of weeks of rehearsal starting in August and then have it run live for two weeks. I heard all this because they have to replace a few people and Jan was trying to recruit Carter into doing it--he's already in Into The Woods elsewhere, but he said they aren't rehearsing much yet, so he'll have to see on show juggling.

I ended up meeting Arianna in person briefly (she came in to film after me) and told her I liked her in Gypsy and she was all embarrassed at me seeing "a lot of me in Gypsy." Hah, that's how the show goes, I said!

Me and Chloe (Baby Bear) finished tonight, so we are actually the first ones done filming! GO ME! I figured I was going to be behind.

Anyway, I like working here. I think I shall try to work here again in the future. It's fun people. I dunno on being in Mary Poppins, but if nothing else is going on in Winters after Camelot I might try it.

I haven't watched videos of the songs I'm not in, but I decided to check that tonight and watched the (already up, previously) Forever video. The four knights in it are just literally standing around with their arms up, kinda swaying, and meanwhile Judah (Donkey) appears to be being chased around in his kitchen by the dog?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com