Chaos Attraction

The Cast Is Getting Covid

2022-05-17, 4:00 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Everyone's Still Sick - 2022-05-22
Clue - 2022-05-21
Can't Get Tested - 2022-05-20
Evita Is Canceled - 2022-05-19
Evita Zoom Meeting - 2022-05-18

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Late at night Blonde Sierra asked if anyone's cat ever ate tea leaves before. I had not experienced such, but a quick Google search indicated that might be bad, so she took the cat to the vet and the cat threw up and expenses were paid, but I guess the cat is okay in the end. As for everyone else...not so much.

The cast started coming down with Covid today. Brunette Sierra said she had symptoms yesterday, went to the doctor, tested negative, went to rehearsal where most people were not wearing masks, and then today...feels terrible, tested positive. We were all told to go get tested immediately.

Jan got it (unknown on symptoms). Blonde Sierra got it, no symptoms so far. So far that's three confirmed. Scott said he tested negative on the rapid test today and is waiting on a PCR, but he has a bit of a cough and was right in Brunette Sierra's face singing last night, so....yeah, probably not gonna stay negative there. On the negative side so far: Arthur, Lindsay and family, Arielle, Stacy, me. One of the Sierras said Isaiah is fine. Everyone else so far, I don't know. Might not matter if people start testing positive tomorrow. I started keeping a damn chart of this. I don't know what's going on with Music Man/non-Evita people--I guess rehearsals are on hold until results are in there. I keep reloading the page like, every 15 minutes all day.

I have no symptoms and feel fine, but obviously have been freaking out since and it's a good thing it was an at home work day because my brain wasn't too into work. I ended up having my therapist talk me through how to do the rapid test at home and it came out negative during the session. So, so far, so good. Yup, shoving the nasal swab around your nose for 15 seconds is...still unpleasant even if you are doing it yourself, I was crying. But hey, at least my nose didn't bleed on it, for once.

I'm having groceries delivered today, told Ashley and Rae I am not doing karaoke this week, told Jackie I got exposed (she seemed more interested in cake reviews!), told Mom I got exposed and I don't think she fucking cared*, she was more concerned about buying extra theater tickets without checking with someone first and then the person said she wasn't going to theaters any more, so good job there.

I note my therapist was all, "she is not winning Mom of the Year Award with her behavior right now." So it's nice to have it confirmed elsewhere that yes, my mom is being kinda shitty outta nowhere. In other news, she thinks Scott will never love me like I want/isn't capable of it. SIGH.

Technically speaking I don't have to quarantine as long as I don't test positive, whether or not that is a good idea, though.... I have a ticket to see Tootsie tomorrow and am not sure what I am going to do about that. Maybe rapid test before I leave and go with an N95 if it comes out negative. I told my boss I'd have to go get tested Friday (day 5 post exposure) at the very least if I don't have symptoms. Not sure if I will test Thursday or not or bother if I don't feel bad. I did ask other people on Slack what happens if/when I have to go to Giant Org at the end of the week and I have to answer "yes, I've been exposed" on the survey and some people said you could still come in, they just tell you to wear a mask, which obviously I'm gonna do anyway.

I am about 80% sure the rest of Evita is going to get canceled under the circumstances. Definitely if a lead gets it. Scott thinks if one of the guys (i.e. him) gets it, that means it gets canceled because there's barely enough guys as is, and not sure what they'd do about the dance numbers. Since Jan choreographed it and none of the other choreographers I know around here have been around for this, who knows on reconfiguring it. No official cancellation so far, but the way things are going these days and everyone was exposed a lot...and they said in Camelot they would have canceled if 2 people got it and we are certainly there. No word yet, though. I don't know how long they are going to wait it out to pull the plug.

Well, as Evita herself would say in the show, we had a good run, I'm sure they enjoyed us.

I still think it was fucking stupid to go without masks. I guess nobody cares even if they get covid. I knew it was a bad idea and I went along with it anyway.

I just checked my email and Mark (from TnT) said that they were getting Covid in his show, him included, and they had some cancellations for awhile but will probably be back on for the last weekend we're seeing it. I was about to write back about Evita, but Blonde Sierra's on this group list and uh, I dunno, should I announce for her that she got it? Fuck if I know. Okay, I ended up writing back saying most of what I was going to anyway about people coming down with it and I dunno if this weekend is going to run, just said I tested negative but I'll let other people speak for themselves on that topic.

I also got an email from another theater-ish company in Sacramento saying they are postponing their Hamilton sing-along fundraiser until mid-June because of all the cases here. So I guess that's how it's going in other areas....


As for actual work, it was more mail drama, more people yelling about wanting platinum rush. One guy paid for mailing and then it got lost for a year at the financial office so we never got it (the guy there felt super bad and said he doesn't even remember this) and he wants MY office to pay for him to get a platinum rush freebie, to which I was thinking LOLOLOLNOOOOOOOPE and officially said "I can put you in contact with my supervisor on that one if you want to argue that." I'm pretty sure she's going to be all "if another office lost it, that's not on us" and most people who demand their Important Document immediately end up paying out the nose for it as is. I can give him that $5 "I already paid" discount if he likes...which will be a huge dent in something that'll probably be at least $150-ish. Stupid job.

Well, the new groceries are good, anyway. Made pasta tonight. I also had Another Stupid Jennifer Moment when I started washing dishes and somehow one of the plugs for the sink (which I have never used and is apparently quite suction cup-y made its way in and stopped the sink from totally draining. I tried to pull it out, tried to unearth it with my least favorite knife, and then started looking on the Internet, which suggested a plunger. That fixed it immediately. Stupid Jennifer Problem solved!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com