Chaos Attraction

Meg and Joseph, Part 2

2021-05-19, 9:22 p.m.

Nothing much to say about work, other than things are moving along.

Meanwhile, Kelly, who has been watching a lot of paranormal investigation shows lately, heard her dog barking at nothing in the basement and went down there to do some paranormal investigating herself. She sent the recording of it, which was pretty hilarious because she was saying stuff along the lines of "if anyone is visiting, I'm totally fine with that, I just want you here in a way that doesn't scare my dog." She also explained the concept of a cell phone because she figured most of her dead relatives that might be visiting died before cell phones were invented and asked if they could talk directly into the phone. I do concur that after she asked if whoever was there could see her other dog, there is definitely a quiet male "no" sound if you listen to it on headphones. So, HMMMMMMMMMM. Mostly it is just whooshing noises, though.

Reggie came by for a bit--must have the day off work, he was cheerful and had beer and looked very relaxed.

I went out for a walk after work and then watched another book presentation with Joseph Fink and Meg Bashwiner, this time with Mara Wilson.

"I stabbed this into myself." -Joseph on someone showing him a DIY Night Vale tattoo a few months into NV fame.
They checked at the end of the writing process to make sure they weren't doing the same stuff, but pretty much didn't read until the end.
Meg says she misses the van. Mara is all, I know it was a love-hate relationship.
It was Meg's idea to have squirrels on the cover. "Can we go with something weirder, punker," and I sent him this picture of taxidermied squirrels...." "Joseph is readying one for camera right now." Mara also brings up the time when Meg first said "I love you" to Joseph after she got startled by a squirrel. Mara looks kinda horrified at the squirrels in the canoe when he pulls it out. "Meg added a baby squirrel in the boat." Joseph notes that "squirrels in a canoe is a really common taxidermy subject" and ordered that for Meg for her birthday. "They're so big!" was her response. "We had those squirrels at my boarding school, I know those squirrels so well," Mara responds.
Then they read from the book. Mara's cat (offscreen) knocked her mike over as Joseph reads about the time he got rabies. ("I knew I didn't have rabies, I was not completely divorced from reality....") Mara: "I once convinced myself I had scurvy." Meg: "Both of you are survivors of rabies, so there's nothing you can't handle."
Meg reads about when she was staying in a nice place with a donor in SF while the rest of the Neo-Futurist troupe was in a commune in the Haight. "The people in the commune were dealing with scabies outbreaks and people trying to read their tarot cards." They note that Mara is mentioned in this section as an unnamed guest star.
Joseph: "What she said about me onstage over the course of six years...." Meg: "I got permission for all of it." Mara is all yeah, you said you had sex with your boyfriend two days ago and it was unremarkable. Joseph: "They can't all be winners." Mara: "Sometimes you're very tired." Mara was all, "that's very refreshing, but I hope Joseph wasn't embarrassed." Joseph: "Not very."
"Joseph reads my stuff way more than I read his." -Meg, saying that Joseph's writing partner Jeffrey usually is his buddy for that. "I feel like I got in on this one a little sooner."
Joseph found lost puzzle pieces in the couch. "That's from Desert Cacti, I know it!" says Meg.
Will there be another book in ten years? Perhaps. They'd write a sequel in real time, Meg says. "I don't know if I want my child to read this," says Joseph.
Someone asked how they celebrated after the book was done. Meg: "It was 2020, we were home, fearing for our lives." The tour was going to start March 10.... "Every day is a celebration when you're married to Joseph Fink, you know." "I've been to temple with Joseph Fink. Can you imagine how wild that is?" says Mara. "You can be synagogue wife, it's ok," says Meg. "His grandma would be so pleased."
Meg notes Symphony's visit from last week.
You can ignore a critique, but you can't argue with it, says Joseph.
Joseph feels guilty for not having done a new "Our Plague Year" for two months. "You've released nine books in six years, I think you're okay," says Meg.
"Thank you for thinking of me as cool," says Meg after Mara says that she and Joseph aren't cool (more or less).
Mara pulls out her cat Basil, who wants to be a star.
"Congratulations on the book. Also on the baby, but mostly about the book." -Mara
Life with me: "Sorry for my absence, I was helping a friend yarn bomb her car." This is what I said to the group text after I got back from going to Dawn's house with various silly hats and stuff she can use to basically yarn bomb her car on Saturday. I got the bright idea to bring all of my squiggly sea creature things if she wants to use those, a few toys, and she wanted my Christmas tree apron, so we spent some time putting all the batteries back in and whatnot. Ron came out to say hello and tickled me--first time that's happened in over a year too! After that, we hung out outside and crocheted until it got too dark and cold.

Dawn told me about ah, this business https://moosetirds.com/ that she saw on a TV show (it has ITS OWN TV SHOW ABOUT MAKING STUFF OUT OF MOOSE TURDS). "The wife didn't want her to use her retirement money to start this business" (ya think?1) and yet somehow they found an investor for this..????

Once I got home, I returned to the group text discussion of the dirty (whatever) play festival. Among other things, I said I've lost a lot of costume parts, including "I lost my pig wig on Sunday doing a back shimmy." Kelly was all, "I have to use that in The Knitting Circle."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com