Chaos Attraction

Workplace Reimagined

2021-05-20, 9:29 p.m.

This morning's meetings were all about "coming back to work in person, or not? Who knows?" My office meeting, led by Temporary Big Boss, just said we are still working remotely for the time being, there is some kind of vague plan that was "accepted but not approved" (WHATEVER THAT MEANS) and maybe our clientele has adapted to having services remotely instead of in person? Well, one hopes, though I've had three people ask to drop by the office within the last week and I am all NOPE, NO PLANS TO REOPEN.

Meanwhile, during that meeting the upstairs neighbors were running around screaming, slamming doors, and I heard something sorta-but-not-quite like a bang at one point? Nothing's gone on since then, but.... who knows.

After that there was a Giant Org "Workplace Reimagined" presentation. Notable moments from this: * They seem to think whether or not people have to come back should be decided above our office's head...why?...but that isn't approved...what the hell does that mean? * "Be creative over the summer!" * Our clientele prefer to Zoom rather than have to drive here and meet in person--well, I agree there.

Then they went into home office stuff--about the same as it's been all year, basically. There was some literal math about how many seats to provide/rotate when people come in partially. Onsite: no more 6 feet apart, EVERYONE BACK TO NORMAL, but they'll have to set up meeting rooms with more cameras, set schedules, shared workstations. You have to have everything planned by September 1 and complete a "remote-ability assessment." Whatever that is, it's not online yet.

The chat questions were hopping, but I notice that my question was the only one not answered in ANY way, grumble.

"We do not see the need to monitor vaccinated persons." Unvaccinated people still have to use masks and get tested twice a week. However...if you don't get vaccinated, "you will be required to comply with policy." *It sounds like they MIGHT relax testing requirements if you're vaccinated--I asked about that and that's what they refused to answer, grumble. Though I told Yemi this later and she said they'd probably relax it on June 15 with everything else.
During Yarn Club, I showed off the new hat I finished, Dawn showed off my hats that I dropped off yesterday, and Other Jennifer showed off her new baby chicks.

After work I got gas and then walked around the neighborhood and read and all that stuff. On the way home I found a box of books by the trash and was going through them and then realized these were my neighbor Cathy's books (a few were labeled)--the neighbor that died recently. Wow.

Talked to Jackie when I got home, as she wants to come up here for Thai food dinner Sunday night if she can get away.

Oh, and I heard from Robert, asking if I am going to karaoke. He might go. (One hopes.) He says he's all clear vax-wise but might not sing. Also said he still doesn't have my Christmas gift yet....uh, I do not know what to say to this? Like, I'm fine with skipping 2020 really.... oh, who knows.

Kelly also wants to move suffragist play rehearsal to 2-5 rather than 11-2 Saturday, which I think kinda shoots out trying to hang out with Redhead Sarah that day. Oh well, odds are high she'd flake anyway, I suppose.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com