Chaos Attraction

Clue

2022-05-21, 4:07 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
The Show Will Go On... - 2022-05-26
A Great Migration - 2022-05-25
Second Karaoke Birthday - 2022-05-24
Stop Being Annoying - 2022-05-23
Everyone's Still Sick - 2022-05-22

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Went to Farmers Market and got a bacon sandwich, a Fat Face strawberry lemonade popsicle, and some cookies from Ashley's booth, and briefly talked to Ashley while there. (Rae flaked on going.) Then I tooled around downtown, went to the bookstore but didn't buy anything, went to the SPCA store and bought an awesome shades of blue skirt for $4.50. I also attempted to go to Insomnia Cookies, a place that Grandboss ordered cookies for us from awhile back and I thought the cookie I had was amazing. (If I went out of my way to look for this...seriously.) First I went when they weren't open yet. Then I went after opening and they said they weren't done making cookies yet. SIGH.

Then I drove to Sacramento and went to go see Clue: The Musical. It was interesting. The director was talking about the show before we went in, and they gave you game pieces (I ended up with a Scarlet and a Plum) and a little scoresheet and golf pencil before you go in. I will attempt to explain how it works:

(a) Mr. Boddy--yes, that's the dead guy AND HE AIN'T REAL DEAD--narrates the show, smugly and cheerfully, both before and after his supposed murder. These people know they are in a board game, more or less. A detective (no name, but wearing all brown) comes in after the murder. The characters have great outfits, particularly, of course, Scarlet and Peacock (who's been married five times, Mr. Boddy is #6 apparently). Mrs. White is played by a guy for reasons I do not get (especially after seeing Tootsie last night, a show that points out that "hey, there's hardly any female parts as is and you stole one"), other than saying s/he's 6'3 that doesn't seem particularly relevant to the plot. That said, I really enjoyed the heck out of the actor, so. They all appeared to be having fun.

(b) They draw 3 cards at the start of the show, supposedly not peeking at them, to determine the murderer/weapon/location, and leave them in an envelope at the front of the stage for MOST of the show, though I noticed it disappeared for a bit in the middle and then came back. Obviously they can't see that, but presumably after the rest of the cards are moved backstage, they can figure out whodunnit. There are 216 possible combinations of this to be drawn.

(c) The rest of the play goes as usual--songs, why they want to kill him, how literally everybody has touched every single murder weapon in the house, dah dah dah--but Mr. Boddy does give you hints. In the first act they have scenes where it's like "Mrs. White in the kitchen with a knife, Professor Plum with the rope in the study" and after that, Mr. Boddy says that one of the clues is relevant or none of them are so you can at least cross some off the list. So basically you rule out half of the options in each category.

(d) Mr. Boddy will give three clues in act 2: Like "there's velvet curtains in the room," and "this weapon will give you a turn in the case," and "this suspect has awkward moves and busy eyes." That last one was frankly no help at all. I did not get it right--all I got right was the wrench. However, I am pretty sure they did just openly say it was the lounge in one part of the show, so I was pretty surprised when they said "ballroom" later. As for the suspect, I ended up guessing Mustard (he has a monocle and he and Mrs. Peacock were playing some kind of combination game of Risk and Twister), and NO, it was Mrs. White. HUH??

(e) Even weirder: they say "oh, she was an accomplice, the REAL killer is" (character who we're told is impersonating the original" and "the actual killer is...." Um....I'll politely not spoil, but it's literally not someone you would guess, and music (but not the conservatory) is a big hint. HUH?

So...interesting/fun for 90 minutes, there. I note that the theater checked vaccination at the door (then I was stuck behind old people who had no idea how to do this...sigh) and then was all, "If you want to wear masks, great! If you don't want to, wonderful! Just don't comment on anyone else's choices!"

After that it was 3:30 and I had a lot of paid parking garage time, so I hiked around town shopping, since I haven't shopped in midtown Sac since oh, prepandemic. I ended up getting one mauve lace duster in a favorite thrift store, the rest of the stores all had clothes that were were sized for girls with smaller boobs than me so that did not go well. Nobody with double D's lives in Sac, apparently.

Mom called when I was in one store, I ignored it, then called her back and it was the dreaded "I just want to talk" (sigh) and I was all "um, busy," and tried calling her back once I was in the car, but then she was busy. Whatever.

I felt survivor's guilt the whole day for having a good time while other people were sick. But hell, I might as well have a good time, right?

On a possibly related note: Sac was pretty empty and dead most of the time I was over there today and I rarely had issues crossing the street or anything. Then I drove back to my town and suddenly it was packed to the gills. Why? There's nothing going on here this weekend. But I did manage to park in a 20 minute spot and go to Insomnia Cookies again. I wanted a sugar, a snickerdoodle, and a birthday cake and they were out of 2 of the 3. I asked when a good time was to come in when they weren't likely to be out of stuff and she said Tuesdays. Tuesdays?! (On a related note, forgot to go over to (Formerly Redhead) Sarah's bakery today even though I had tie-dye. I should probably text to see if they HAVE cookies before I bother.) I did get 2 cookies of birthday cake variety and they were totally delicious, though.

Some fire was erupting again on my way home and I could see the smoke. Mom finally called back--apparently she's home alone and got bored, and apparently actually yelled at Roger because he never wants to get up until 2 p.m. Then she was all "my phone's about to die and I'm going to Roger's, gotta go," and that feels like an excuse, somehow? But later she texted that the fire was in Vacaville and what sounded like Scott's previously-burned-down-now-they're-rebuilding house area? I seriously can't recall what it's called over there since I haven't been and all the streets around there sound the same. I asked, he said it was about 5-6 miles away and that area's on fire like every year. Oookay then.

Otherwise said he was still sore throat/coughing but otherwise improving and the whole family will test again in another day or two. And that more people got it, including Isaiah and 3-4 people who were in Music Man alone, including the lead. Oy vey. I don't envy them figuring out rehearsal after all of that.


Saturday night was great. I kept my mask on for most of it, except for drinking one drink and singing by the door. I have missed being a barfly, apparently. Also they were showing dog agility competition and then the Olympic skating (months late?!) on the TV, which was entertaining even during dull songs.

I note that Rance is...having some kind of issues. I gather his divorce/child custody whatever is not going well, because his ex is apparently paying someone to stalk him to see if he's drinking and he's not allowed to drink 24 hours before seeing the kids. I gather he's fine with that last one, but I gather something happened where he stopped drinking at 3 and then a few hours later a kid got injured and he wasn't allowed to be there and the ex is somehow getting pictures of him drinking and...I don't even know what the fuck is with this, I got confused on the "how she's getting pics of him drinking" bit. Otherwise he seemed fine, and said that the bar would throw out anyone taking pictures of him.

Ashley got herself a white dress and she and Jim got some large birthday balloons and a box of birthday snacks and silly hats to share. People kept walking by and greeting her and it was all very cute. They gave her a "blow job" birthday shot at the bar. I note before this she was telling me she was considering doing a shot and I was all "I dunno, most of the time the shots are pretty hard to drink, that's why they're shots and I don't do 'em much," but I'm told the "blow job" is very chocolatey. BUT it was covered in too much whipped cream, which... Anyway, Ashley managed to grab it all in her mouth and shoot it down hands-free like a champ (mysteriously since this is not something she uh...normally does), BUT ended up with liquid all down the white dress :/ Jim was all "we'll get you another one" and the bar provided club soda.

I note that Jim filmed the shot incident, then kept saying, "I don't ever wanna see that picture again!" and then kept showing the video to whoever missed the experience, including sending it to Ashley's sister. OOPS. LOL. Ashley had to put on a heart monitor today and they figure she'll have some extremely interesting results from this ah, blow job :P

Ashley did "22" by Taylor Swift, as well one should, and she and her dad did "Love Shack." I did "Satisfied," "Total Eclipse of the Heart" and "Uptown Funk," which went over extremely well (Jim wants to do it another time). Another guy in the bar who was not me or Buzz actually did "My Shot" and "You'll Be Back," so good for him. One couple did Phantom of the Opera, of all things. And someone did "The Greatest Song In The World (A Tribute)," ha ha.

I did hear from both Ashley and Jim that Green River sucks these days. Ashley said there was a change in management/staff and the current bunch are much less pleasant to be around, and Jim said they'll never do outside again due to noise complaints and now he just plays the music quietly and even HE isn't having a good time over there now. I guess maybe there's no point to going back there on Mondays...they both say the pizza gig on Tuesdays is more fun now. I will probably go for Ashley's actual birthday on Tuesday.

I had a very good time but also felt guilty AF hanging out in a karaoke bar--survivor's guilt again. (I'm still fine.)


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com