Chaos Attraction

Drive Thru Burning Man

2021-05-22, 9:38 p.m.

Another Saturday morning in which I don't feel like doing jack shit again. Ate another ramen omelet for brunch. I caught up on Legends of Tomorrow and then switched to Eurovision, which is online for free today. This made sense as a life choice since I had just finished the "Zari Does Future American Idol" episode of LoT, so that fit in. It's about what I expected, except less insane. Not that I watched that Will Ferrell movie, but I had the impression that Eurovision is supposed to be complete whackadoodle and so far it seems normal for performance? Like I just saw a lady dancing with imaginary people in suits and that's as weird as it's gotten?

Though the Great Britain guy was just a normal ah, person of size with a beard in a giant coat and he was rocking it singing, so now I am all, hey, I have hope! Actually, to be fair, they do have people of size as well as sexy waif girls, so that's nice. Though apparently he got ZERO points, which makes sad. Maybe not on the hope thing.

Oh good, here's a weird band with little aliens floating around in the sky. They appear to be a family. with their heads on their sweaters. Thank you, this is what I was going for. (Iceland.) Heck, there's a nerd girl with her glasses on! This REALLY gives me hope! And they just busted out a unicorn. They haves ome kind of circular piano that three of them fit into? NICE. And then they POSE. I like it.

Also distinctive: "I Don't Feel Hate" by a German(?) guy with a dancing middle finger/peace sign going on. And a glittery silver ukulele. "I don't feel hate, that's the point of the song." "I wish you a joyful life." Well, he's fun.

Suffragist play rehearsal: mostly just did the two big scenes in Acts 1 and 2 since we were missing a few people. Claire was in and seemed to be doing well post-Covid. Matt was there for his first time and did a great job.

Kelly sent over a ton of backgrounds, which I spent time setting up, and then we didn't even really use them anyway. Claire has a Mac that wasn't doing them properly, so that had some fun effects there.

Setting up the backgrounds is tricksy. There are a lot. Claire's cat Elvis is being a total douchebag abusive because he has eye boogers. Carlos is all "I have to cry?" Claire has psycho eyes when she turns the background on. "I'm ;part of the couch now." Matt tries to fix Claire's computer. "Am I driving?" Me: "You tell us, Matt." "There's a certain amount of confidence to be flirting with a woman right after you just got out of jail and smell like hell." -me "So we're not doing a live birth on stage?" Claire "I have a very specific birth plan." Claire "That's awful but hilarious at the same time." -Matt "Read slowly. really cry. get hysterical mid-sentence.' -Claire on giving her time to do makeup 'The blue oyster cult was neither blue, oyster, nor a cult. Discuss." -Matt "What really goes on at Junipers, discuss." -Marge On Memorial Day weekend: "Don't do anything I would do and if you do, don't get caught." -Matt

Matt is in a show tonight of Faustus. Per updating for modern times, "Faustus is a right wing Internet troll." Unfortunately, because they used....the name of a certain crackpot group using an anonymous name and a letter in the Internet-- they nuked the show's Facebook page and everyone involved's Facebook profiles. Someone involved knew someone high enough up at Facebook to get most of that restored, but the histories are lost. Also, they filmed the first half and then overnight, someone lodged a (bogus) copyright strike against them, so now that's gone. "Do people just kind of wait around and start shit like that?" -Shanna "Yes." -Matt. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EJeNAPUgVJw

Back to Eurovision to see that Italy won. Shirtless people. I don't think their version of metal was to my taste, but whatever.

The Spring Spark Drive-Thru Burning Man event was great. Dawn and Jenny (our other invitee from Dawn's work) also dressed in hippie wear. Dawn did sew all of the stuffed stuff and sea creatures to a blanket and the Christmas tree apron to a towel, and contributed chains of yarn for the windows. Jenny contributed a tie-dyed mask for the front end of the car and a Wonder Woman piece of fabric to hang off the back. We did deck out the car with these items and her side-window chains once we arrived there. People LOVED that we'd decorated the car, smiled, took pictures, etc. I think we were the only ones in our cohort at the time who decorated the car, so that stood out. "Best car so far!" Other comments were about our "junk in the trunk" and one guy trying, "Not crafty enough!" Uh-huh, sir. Some ladies passed us all stickers and one lady passed out resin hearts and another gave us awesome vaccination pins with hearts and a rainbow on them. Yesssssss.

As for the displays, they had lit-up art cars around and/or on fire, beautiful paintings, some dancers/fire poi people, and of course, great outfits. A good time was had by all! I'll leave you with Jenny's quote: "This is the exact kind of weird I'm up for."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com