Chaos Attraction

Second Karaoke Birthday

2022-05-24, 4:12 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Evita Closing Night - 2022-05-28
Fairy Tales - 2022-05-28
Still Testing Positive - 2022-05-27
The Show Will Go On... - 2022-05-26
A Great Migration - 2022-05-25

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Work: pretty noneventful. Mostly trying to figure out what to do with mail and doing training. I think more or less my boss is in agreement with the email I wrote up about how to deal with it, she's getting a comm approved, etc.
I got my new covid tests in the mail, whee. I also decided to go see another show tomorrow in Sac again.

Blonde Sierra is doing really badly: said she's still ridiculously weak and her heart started racing from petting a cat :( I could cry. Fuuuuuuuuuuuck. She asked if anyone else is doing the same and Brunette Sierra said no, she was tired for four days but not like that. (Nobody else has said anything.) I'm scared. I kept thinking about that all night. Scott didn't say he was feeling the same (he, Brunette Sierra and I made sad faces), at least. I guess. I'm putting in prayers to Archangel Michael on this whole thing. I kept dwelling on it and then went home to check, but nothing new. I was a good girl and didn't text anyone. Sigh. I do want to pester people every night until they are better, but that's obnoxious.

My therapy appointment got canceled today, moved to tomorrow, and then my phone decided to shut itself off so I missed her saying "can we go back to the original appointment and cancel tomorrow?" until it was too late. GRRRRRRRRRRR.

I am out of anything to say about another goddamned school shooting. Nothing will ever change on that score and I am numb.


After work, I went to Ashley's second karaoke birthday party. (Masked except for food consumption, which I tried to do ASAP since they got rid of the outdoor dining option entirely, SIGH.) Rae was there in full on sea goddess wig and white lacy dress and looked LOVELY and was quite affectionate and dance-y. Between her dress, Ashley's white dress ("I think it adds character," she said, noting that white dresses get stained anyway, but that said the booze stains pretty much came out), and me wearing my pink Target dress with a lacy pink duster, it seemed like our outfits went together pretty well.

This one was at Pizza Factory, the new gig that I hadn't been to before. I'm happy to say that most of the old karaoke gang was here for her birthday, and Deb (Rae's mom) gave me a card and Avid Reader gift certificate and still wants to get together sometime. We'll see if that goes. I liked the new gig, it was friendly, even if it ends at 8;30. I did "Shut Up And Dance," "Sweet Dreams," "Uptown Funk" (Jim was all "you are doing that one"), "I'm Too Sexy."

Moments from the night:

(a) Deb said she's "the queen of inappropriate topics" (I was all I LIKE THIS), like bringing up vaginal discharge. (I note she's a gyno nurse.)

(b) Jim happily showed Ashley's shot video again. Ashley said was so drunk (4 drinks) she doesn't remember the night. I said "drink one drink every hour!"

(c) Jim busted out a cow hat and cow bell for "Love Shack."

(d) I found out Laura is engaged, for like a year, which surprised me. (If she can get engaged, and I can't? Why can't I ever....? Though I did used to suspect she was texting a dude, so that confirms it. I asked if he'd ever go to karaoke and she said her mom would have to be talked to to bring him, which...I dunno what's going on there.

I was a Good Girl and did not follow them to Miss Darla's so I can go to bed early and wake up at 2-3 a.m. again like I keep doing. I'm trying to fall asleep (hah) to YouTube videos since that kind of does it and all the calm sleepy meditative shit isn't doing shit.

I both had a good time and kept feeling guilty/worried about covid, as ever. Talked to Deb a bit about it (she's not sure if she should wait on the next booster until they reformulate, though Isaiah only having five days to test negative is cutting it close). I would like to talk to her more when all the music and crazy isn't going on. Maybe someday.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com